Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-04-2012, 21:09   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Boat: Island Packet
Posts: 7
Raymarine ST60

I just picked up a St60 tridata to go along with the ST60 speed,depth instruments I already have and hooked it up per directions and I'm not getting any info on it

I know that the individual instruments are the masters and the Tridata is the repeater, and still no readings I checked all the regular stuff wire connections ect... (i connected it with a seatalk connector is there something I'm missing??)

any help will be appreciated.. Thank you
__________________

__________________
FeelinLucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2012, 21:15   #2
Registered User
 
Pete the Cat's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maine and California
Boat: Tartan 37 "Velera"
Posts: 338
Re: Raymarine ST60

I do not think that the ST60 Tri- Data is "just a repeater". It stands on its own. I would think it should work, but one question---where did you get it used? They are quite easy to blow (as one who has done it) with a crossed wire.
__________________

__________________
Ray Durkee
S/V Velera
Tartan 37
Castine, Maine
Pete the Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2012, 21:32   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Boat: Island Packet
Posts: 7
Re: Raymarine ST60

Sailor's Exchange, FL... it does power up, just no data displayed, vs/ depth info is displayed on the regular unit? Q? is the sea talk cable all I need?
__________________
FeelinLucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2012, 13:50   #4
Registered User

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Colorado; Sailing Sea of Cortez
Boat: Tartan 33R
Posts: 174
Re: Raymarine ST60

The tridata can act either as a stand alone or as a repeater. If your main speed and depth instruments are working and you hook the tridata up using a sea talk cable, it should work. If not, send it back to S.E.
__________________
Capn Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2012, 13:59   #5
Moderator
 
noelex 77's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Living on dirt waiting for our new yacht to be built.
Boat: Half built Bestevaer.
Posts: 10,618
Re: Raymarine ST60

The data cables only have very low voltages and currents and are easily corrupted by even a very small amount of corrosion. The power supply can often still function.
Try some alternative cables, cleaning the contacts, and connecting it a different way, say directly to the depth.
__________________
noelex 77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2012, 14:55   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: East Islip, NY
Boat: C&C 110
Posts: 136
Re: Raymarine ST60

Make sure your Tridata is set as the Repeater and not the Master.
Check the instrument status - either YES (master)) or NO (repeater) in the Intermediate Calibration.
__________________
replusted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2012, 18:46   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Boat: Island Packet
Posts: 7
Re: Raymarine ST60

Capt Dan is right...Thank you for all of the advice. I think it's a matter of a bad instrument, it's going back...
__________________
FeelinLucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2012, 21:20   #8
Registered User

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Colorado; Sailing Sea of Cortez
Boat: Tartan 33R
Posts: 174
Re: Raymarine ST60

Make sure you do as Replusted suggests. He is correct in that you have to select master or repeater.
__________________

__________________
Capn Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:45.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.