Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-07-2013, 07:58   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Raymarine SPX-5 with P70 with Garmin 3210 Chartplotter

How do I use the SPX-5 to follow a route created with 3210 chartplotter? Is the P70 controller able to do this?
__________________

__________________
Poundsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 09:16   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: virginia
Boat: islandpacket
Posts: 1,833
I would just keep single. Wse the cjart plottre ant set the direction manualy with the auto pilot. You need to sit there anyway and watch wats going on. You cant go below to nap and you dont want your boat to just change directions in front of another boat that wont be show up on the chartplotter. You wont have to hold the wheel for hours. But you need to be watching all the time anyway
__________________

__________________
That derelict boat was another dream for somebody else, don't let it be your nightmare and a waste of your life.
Badsanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 19:03   #3
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poundsey View Post
How do I use the SPX-5 to follow a route created with 3210 chartplotter? Is the P70 controller able to do this?
Yes it is , select the route using the NaV button, this publishes the route onto the 0183 interface , press nav on the Raymarine to follow that published course. The pilot will require manual intervention because it changes course

Dave
__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2013, 20:17   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,699
Re: Raymarine SPX-5 with P70 with Garmin 3210 Chartplotter

is the plotter and autopilot connected? if so yes. they can be connected either via nmea 183 or nmea 2000/seatalk ng (same thing, different plug)
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chartplotter, garmin, raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:48.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.