Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-01-2018, 08:38   #31
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,122
Re: Raymarine SeatalkNG cable question

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenbo View Post
To be clear, are you recommending that the Raymarine converter will work properly if it is connected to the n2k backbone via the Raymarine ng-n2k adapter drop cable to one of the yellow connections? Then the blue connections would have what? Caps, terminations?
Yes it works fine. But to one of the whites. There is only one yellow. That is the seatalk input. Leave the blues empty. I don't think they make caps for those.

It becomes a single device drop. Which follows n2k standards. As long as you don't fill the other white port. (Adding more stng things would still work,but go against standards)
__________________

smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2018, 09:04   #32
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29 49.16 N 82 25.82 W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 13,352
Re: Raymarine SeatalkNG cable question

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenbo View Post
Thanks for clarifying, that was my interpretation of RM's instructions as well.
Ditto.
__________________

__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2018, 13:14   #33
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: East Coast USA
Boat: Catalina 400
Posts: 249
Re: Raymarine SeatalkNG cable question

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
Yes it works fine. But to one of the whites. There is only one yellow. That is the seatalk input. Leave the blues empty. I don't think they make caps for those.

It becomes a single device drop. Which follows n2k standards. As long as you don't fill the other white port. (Adding more stng things would still work,but go against standards)
Yeah I crossed my colors, thanks. That's good to know that the st to ng converter can be used as a single device drop. Really makes the connections easy if you don't have access to the end of your backbone.
kenbo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2018, 18:39   #34
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29 49.16 N 82 25.82 W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 13,352
Re: Raymarine SeatalkNG cable question

OK. Did the initial install today. Connected the Seatalk - SeatalkNG converter to one end of my NMEA2000 backbone per instructions. Powered up and the Simrad AP controller immediately found it and set that as the default source for boat speed and depth.

Yeah.

Final step, I have to bring out the Garmin plotter (keep that at home in case it decides to grow legs and walk away) and plug that in.
__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 10:17   #35
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: datcha turkey
Boat: Corbin Ketch 39ft
Posts: 165
Re: Raymarine SeatalkNG cable question

I am not at all familiar with nmea 2000. I have 15 year old raymarine and 0183 system and have liked being able to send data back and forth from open cpn using nmea 0183 bus. My rn320 gps is now unusable and i would like to replace it. I have looked at the sea talk to 2000 cable and wonder if I can just use this and a raymarine plotter to do the same interfacing as the old gps or am I going to need a ton of other equipment.
__________________
Joe Bayne
Jubilee
Mediteranean
Jubilee39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 10:26   #36
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: East Coast USA
Boat: Catalina 400
Posts: 249
Re: Raymarine SeatalkNG cable question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jubilee39 View Post
I am not at all familiar with nmea 2000. I have 15 year old raymarine and 0183 system and have liked being able to send data back and forth from open cpn using nmea 0183 bus. My rn320 gps is now unusable and i would like to replace it. I have looked at the sea talk to 2000 cable and wonder if I can just use this and a raymarine plotter to do the same interfacing as the old gps or am I going to need a ton of other equipment.
I'm sure others will reply but I had your identical problem. I purchased a new GPS antenna/sender from Digital Yacht that bare wire ends. I simple connected these wires to the data input wires on the back of the RM chart plotter. The chart plotter is able to accept nmea 0183 directly and convert the output to the appropriate seatalk the rest of your system is currently using.
kenbo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 13:15   #37
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,122
Re: Raymarine SeatalkNG cable question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jubilee39 View Post
I am not at all familiar with nmea 2000. I have 15 year old raymarine and 0183 system and have liked being able to send data back and forth from open cpn using nmea 0183 bus. My rn320 gps is now unusable and i would like to replace it. I have looked at the sea talk to 2000 cable and wonder if I can just use this and a raymarine plotter to do the same interfacing as the old gps or am I going to need a ton of other equipment.
I'm not sure what you question is. your old chart plotter has died and you want to replace it with a new one, but still be able to send data to open cn?
some plotter still have nmea 183 output. or converters are available.

or you want to buy nothing / very little to keep open cn going?
you could just buy a nmea 183 gps antenna and plug into open cn PC. and have no ray screen.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 12:13   #38
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: datcha turkey
Boat: Corbin Ketch 39ft
Posts: 165
Re: Raymarine SeatalkNG cable question

I am running open cpn on a windows pc. It is networked through nmea 0183 and seatalk convertor. I have been spoiled with the ease of transfering waypoints to the rn320 which will then send the appropiate sentences to the cockpit and I can see range and bearing to waypoint. I also get wind information at the chart table on the rn320. I have used this setup across the pacific and asia . The plotters I have found seem to need to transfer waypoints via a sd card like the old sneaker net instead of through nmea cableing. Just looking for help to find a gps display at the chart table to get back what I had.
__________________

__________________
Joe Bayne
Jubilee
Mediteranean
Jubilee39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
marine, raymarine, seatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Two Raymarine ST70 Multi Function Instrument Displays -(Seatalk or SeaTalkNG) jefndeb General Classifieds (no boats) 5 18-07-2017 07:39
For Sale: Raymarine Seatalk1 to Seatalkng Converter Yeti Classifieds Archive 3 13-02-2015 23:38
Connecting seatalkng ben373 OpenCPN 17 24-01-2015 04:02
Raymarine SmartPilot X5 and SeatalkNG tv195 Marine Electronics 6 26-03-2014 17:25
SeaTalkng and NEMA2000 Data Meriachee Marine Electronics 1 27-07-2012 08:59



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:31.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.