Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-06-2015, 06:01   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cruising the Caribbean
Boat: Island Packet 40
Posts: 44
Raymarine radome failure

Hi, I have a question that hopefully someone can answer for me as Raymarine appears to not want to tell me. First, the situation. In the middle of the night of course with multiple targets while approaching St Maarten the radar data dissappears. Since then the MFD never acknowledges the radome as being present. ie cannot even see it as being it in standby. To troubleshoot I meter back from the connector right at the radome to the connector right at the display...it looks good. Raymarine technical support indicates it probably is the Interface Card. Before ordering the rather expensive card I wanted to troubleshoot a little further so I brought the radome down off the mast. With the top cover removed I can see where the cable splits off, power and data. I made up a connector to supply power directly to the PS card. The PS seems to be OK as the internal fan comes on and the logic gets warm. The interface card has a standard RJ45 connector, the same one used on our comm ports on a PC. So I ran a standard patch cable from the IF card to the port on the MFD....no success there. Now Raymarine install instructions say you need to use their waterproof coupler between the cable from the mast and the display. So next I did just that, ran a patch cable from the radome to the coupler and then a patch cable to the display. Still no go. One more thing, there are two ports on the MFD that can support radar and I have tried both.
So finally I get to my question. Does anyone know if this "bench" test is valid and I should just go ahead and order the interface card. Thanks

Jim
__________________
lovinlifebda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 06:06   #2
Eternal Member
 
monte's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Australia
Boat: Lagoon 400
Posts: 3,650
Images: 1
Re: Raymarine radome failure

We had a similar issue with our last plotter/radar. The plotter was removed and sent back to Raymarine. They magically fixed it but wouldn't tell us how or why but still didn't mind us paying for removal and postage both ways. Good luck with Raymarine customer service!
__________________
monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
marine, raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Raymarine RD 218 Radome + cable Bill W Classifieds Archive 2 03-11-2013 11:00
For Sale: Raymarine RD424 Analog Radome Scanner Beausoleil Classifieds Archive 2 31-05-2013 17:33
For Sale: Raymarine 48-Mile Radome Rob53 Classifieds Archive 0 16-10-2011 10:34
Raymarine sl70rc Display Compatible with rd218 Radome? waschnurr Marine Electronics 1 28-07-2009 08:06



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:53.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.