Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-05-2018, 05:12   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 26
Raymarine Radar

I have a 18" 2kw Raymarine Radar Scanner. While checking the interconnect cable inside the dome, I noticed the portion of the cable where the shielding is exposed is not in the right place, e.g. clamped as the cable enters the connection box. In fact the shielding is exposed but inside the box. Does this affect the performance of the radar? Can this damage the display unit over time? I've had 2 displays fail with a Scanner Not Responding message?
cyphert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 07:37   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: S.F. Bay Area
Boat: Grand Banks 32
Posts: 14
Re: Raymarine Radar

Go to the raymarine forum at (I think..) forum/raymarine.com. It takes a little of time to figure out how it works, but it is moderated by real Raymarine techs who actually answer your questions. I have almost always received an answer within one working day. As I recall, you don't get an email notification, so you have to go back to the site to look. When your question is posted, then the answer will be there too.
Good luck!
Oldersalt
1990 Grand Banks 32 Pacific Star

"Everything on your boat is broken. You just don't know it yet."
oldersalt1944 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 07:47   #3
cruiser

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lake Ontario
Boat: Douglas 32 Mk II
Posts: 2,722
Re: Raymarine Radar

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyphert View Post
I have a 18" 2kw Raymarine Radar Scanner. While checking the interconnect cable inside the dome, I noticed the portion of the cable where the shielding is exposed is not in the right place, e.g. clamped as the cable enters the connection box. In fact the shielding is exposed but inside the box. Does this affect the performance of the radar? Can this damage the display unit over time? I've had 2 displays fail with a Scanner Not Responding message?
For high frequency signals, the shield should be connected to ground at one end only (electronics). One the opposite end, it should be open, terminating as near the connection point as practical without risk of shorting the terminals.

(Raymarine Certified Installer)
ramblinrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
marine, radar, raymarine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radar or no radar?? beetlejuice30 Marine Electronics 54 28-10-2013 12:43
Looking / Q's about 03S9144 Radar Wire for Model 1622 Radar Unit dougsimpson1988 Marine Electronics 0 20-01-2013 17:09
For Sale: JRC 24-mile RADAR - Display + Dome - JRC RADAR 2000 synchronicity98 Classifieds Archive 5 12-09-2012 06:15
Radar System vs Radar Detector johnar Marine Electronics 14 16-12-2009 16:51
Radar Reflector throwing off Radar? alexleclainche Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 2 21-04-2008 19:21



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:36.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.