Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-11-2008, 06:31   #1
Moderator
 
noelex 77's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Living on dirt waiting for our new yacht to be built.
Boat: Half built Bestevaer.
Posts: 10,618
Raymarine quirks

I have a couple of minor issues with my Raymarine chartplotter / Radar. I have both an RL80c (chart table) and an RL70c ((helm) and they both behave identically. The problems are:
1. I get a change in position of the chart when the scale is changed generally but not always at about 3nm. The GPS lat and long doesn't change, but the vessels position on the chart will change by 200m or so. For example the bay I am in at the moment the 3nm scale shows me in the NW sector of the bay, but the 1.5 nm scale shows me in the centre of the bay.
2. The Radar loves to offset the central possition. Instead of the centre of the radar corresponding to the centre of the screen it will offset the picture so more radar picture is shown in the heading direction. I can cancell this, but it will revert back to an ofset position again without any input. I dont seem to be able to disable this with any of the menu options.
__________________

__________________
noelex 77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2008, 08:38   #2
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Any time you use the zoom function on your chartplotter the position on the chart can change. Your GPS position will not but your place on the chart can change. I would call Raymarine tech service and have them walk you through the radar issue in case it needs to be sent back for service or is just a setting issue. Raymarine functions are not user friendly and there are several unknown functions that Raymarine prefers to keep secret. One of your radar units is the master and the other is only a repeater. Be sure you make any adjustments on the master.
__________________

__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2008, 09:53   #3
Moderator
 
noelex 77's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Living on dirt waiting for our new yacht to be built.
Boat: Half built Bestevaer.
Posts: 10,618
Dear Chuck
Thanks for your comments and congratulations on the new Marine Trader, it looks fantastic.
Do I understand correctly that from your comment "Any time you use the zoom function on your chartplotter the position on the chart can change" that you think the chart plotter is behaving correctly?
Thanks John
__________________
noelex 77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2008, 10:53   #4
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Quote:
Originally Posted by noelex 77 View Post
Dear Chuck
Thanks for your comments and congratulations on the new Marine Trader, it looks fantastic.
Do I understand correctly that from your comment "Any time you use the zoom function on your chartplotter the position on the chart can change" that you think the chart plotter is behaving correctly?
Thanks John
Without being on the boat and seeing what is going on that is a real possibility.
__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2008, 11:58   #5
Moderator
 
noelex 77's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Living on dirt waiting for our new yacht to be built.
Boat: Half built Bestevaer.
Posts: 10,618
Dear Chuck
Thanks for the follow up. My previous yacht had only a Gps and paper charts. I have sailed on several other yachts with chart plotters and never noticed this behavior, but most of the sailing was offshore where it would not be apparent. Sound like I am too anal retentive and noticing normal function of a chart plotter.
Cheers John
__________________
noelex 77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2008, 22:20   #6
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Cruz
Boat: Boatless Again
Posts: 4,310
When you switch scales, the chartplotter may switch between the electronic charts for your area. If you notice other things changing when your boat jumpsaround, like the number of depth printouts in your bay and the amount of detail, you have probably changed charts and may see a slight difference in where your boat is located on the chart. If its more than a slight difference (like more than 100 meters or 0.05 nm), then you don't have good charts. I would expect more jumping around in Indonesia than in a well charted area of the Med.
__________________
donradcliffe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 15:03   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Chart Plotters

I was thinking of just using a satellite phone and paper charts, guides etc.
Now I'm thinking of hooking my gps up to my computer as well, and hoping to find some software that works. Anyone know what type of software and how to receive weather alerts?
Thanks,
Stephanie
__________________
Stephanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 18:33   #8
Registered User
 
richardhula's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Boat: S M Hudson 60' narrowboat
Posts: 347
Send a message via Skype™ to richardhula
Hi Stephanie
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephanie View Post
Now I'm thinking of hooking my gps up to my computer as well, and hoping to find some software that works.
Definately the way to go. If you want the best of both worlds see if you can lay your hands on a Yeoman chartplotter. It consists of a thin board to which you attach your paper chart. A mouse like device fed by your GPS is slid over the chart & guided to your position on it by small LED lights. Unfortunately I don't think they are made anymore.

If you just want to get the feel of using a PC based chartplotter try the free SeaClear application. You can download it here: SeaClear GPS Navigation Software

If you want to go further & pay there are hundreds of PC based chartplotters around. I have been using SeaPro 3000 for over 10 years now. Far from the cheapest but packed with features. Demo version available here: Downloads Euronav Navigation Systems

Quote:
Anyone know what type of software and how to receive weather alerts?
You need to be more specific for an answer to that. Weather Alerts are broadcast on VHF/HF/Navtex/Commercial radio/Internet/Subscription services via radio email or satellite etc. and depending which part of the world you are interested in. If you are sailing in US waters a modern VHF radio with weather channels should work for you. In the Caribbean I regularly check Tropical Weather Information during the hurricane season.

Regards
__________________
Richard

If in doubt RTFM
richardhula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 20:24   #9
Senior Cruiser
 
bstreep's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX/Port Aransas, TX
Boat: 1990 Macintosh 47, "Merlin"
Posts: 2,274
I have a pair of RL80Cs. Frankly, they are quirky. When they change charts (move from one to another), which we do ALL the time, it can take up to 10 minutes for it to "find" the new charts. Speed sometimes "goes to sleep". Not sure why, but it does. We prefer NOT to use the overlay. In your case, if you can, I'd look at swapping your units. The big display at the helm is MUCH more useful. One of our displays has a bad LCD. Raymarine wanted $1000 to fix it. I put it below, and repeat the radar to the unit topside.

Frankly, when we go cruising in a few years, we'll replace it. Just not worth fooling with as weekend sailors, at this time.
__________________
Bill Streep
San Antonio/Port Aransas, TX
bstreep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 08:09   #10
Registered User
 
RBEmerson's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SE PA
Boat: Baba 35 - One With The Wind
Posts: 392
bstreep, two thoughts: 10 minutes to find a chart is not a good thing. Have you talked with Raymarine about this? Exactly what chart chips are you using?

On replacing the screen, $1K is more than enough to buy a full replacement unit on eBay or Craigslist. FWIW, current for the CRC and LCD displays is equivalent and CRT R80+'s go for less than the color LCD version (be sure, of course, it's a "Plus" model). Maybe a CRT version of an R80+ below will do the job?

I have a CRT R70+ on OWTW and it works like a charm. Actually, mine is an R70 upgraded to an R70+ - it even has the original trackball instead of the rocker pad.

A friend has an E80 at the helm and, IMHO, it's big on "eye candy" but, once all the combined displays are turned on, doesn't show an effective "big picture" view of the area around the boat. The R70+ and a laptop running Coastal Explorer are far more effective.
__________________
S/V One With The Wind
'85 Baba 35
"You and I may agree, but we could both be wrong."
RBEmerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 08:23   #11
Senior Cruiser
 
bstreep's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX/Port Aransas, TX
Boat: 1990 Macintosh 47, "Merlin"
Posts: 2,274
Actually, mine are CRC Plus units. LCD and HSB2. The chart chips are NTs? One chip has the whole Texas coast on it.

My failed unit is repeating just fine - it was interesting to get it to reset factory settings, though. Had to do it using the 2 units side-by-side to get the sequence right! I also have a laptop running Offshore Navigator. When it's time to "go", I'll upgrade to the then state-of-the-art.
__________________
Bill Streep
San Antonio/Port Aransas, TX
bstreep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 19:22   #12
Registered User
 
RBEmerson's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SE PA
Boat: Baba 35 - One With The Wind
Posts: 392
Have you tried the chips in another R80/70? Something doesn't sound quite right. I worked on an RL70 not too long ago and it didn't struggle with charts the way it sounds as though your gear does.

As to upgrading before going... maybe not? A) Just 'cause it's newer doesn't mean it's better and B) why add more chores (e.g., sorting out wonky nav systems all over again) while busy with getting ready to go. It's taken me a few years to work out a data scheme for OWTW and works like a charm. Changing GPS sources is literally no more than flipping the "GPS Source" switch from "RN300" to "GPS76". Drive the autopilot directly from the GPS instead of via the laptop? Flip the "PC/GPS" switch to GPS. All of the SeaTalk gear talks to itself and it's repeated to the NMEA side (mainly the laptop, VHF, radar, and EPIRB). Re-inventing all of that all over would not be fun.

YMMV
__________________
S/V One With The Wind
'85 Baba 35
"You and I may agree, but we could both be wrong."
RBEmerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2012, 23:06   #13
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hood River, OR
Boat: Farrier, F-44SC, performance cruising cat
Posts: 148
Re: Raymarine quirks

sorry to jump in with a tangent post but a search lead me to the subject of GPS and an RL70 radar unit.

can someone out there tell me if it is possible for me to wire an Raytheon GPS receiver to this RL70 radar?

I know that NMEA and sea talk GPS receivers are available but I happen to have a raytheon GPS receiver that has been cut and it has the red yel reen bro wires. I guess my direct question is : Is it possible to wire this type of GPS receiver to the RL70 given that it seems only to have possible HSB and sea talk inputs?
__________________
vientoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2012, 03:08   #14
LJH
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Nova Scotia
Boat: Wauquiez Centurion 42
Posts: 274
Re: Raymarine quirks

Not sure, but the Raymarine GPS may be similar. If you don't have the manual for your GPS checkout the Raystar 125 manual http://www.raymarine.eu/WorkArea/Dow...t.aspx?id=1501
__________________
LJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2012, 03:39   #15
Moderator
 
noelex 77's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Living on dirt waiting for our new yacht to be built.
Boat: Half built Bestevaer.
Posts: 10,618
Re: Raymarine quirks

Quote:
Originally Posted by vientoman View Post
sorry to jump in with a tangent post but a search lead me to the subject of GPS and an RL70 radar unit.

can someone out there tell me if it is possible for me to wire an Raytheon GPS receiver to this RL70 radar?

I know that NMEA and sea talk GPS receivers are available but I happen to have a raytheon GPS receiver that has been cut and it has the red yel reen bro wires. I guess my direct question is : Is it possible to wire this type of GPS receiver to the RL70 given that it seems only to have possible HSB and sea talk inputs?
The RL70 will accept both seatalk and NMEA. The Raytheon will be one or the other so there should be no problem connecting it.
However GPS units of this age get much less reliable especially if the internal battery has not been changed.
__________________

__________________
noelex 77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raymarine Takeover? GordMay Marine Electronics 3 02-04-2008 09:24
raymarine c80 Jacana Marine Electronics 9 24-09-2007 17:09
Raymarine C80 Jacana Marine Electronics 1 31-07-2007 16:46
Raymarine ST-60 Pamina Marine Electronics 5 28-08-2006 14:47
Raymarine SL72RC na232 Marine Electronics 0 07-02-2004 01:57



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:28.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.