Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2018, 19:51   #1
Registered User
 
BigAl.NZ's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Auckland, NZ
Boat: Hood 38 - Wauquiez
Posts: 279
Raymarine p70s and i70s + wind

Hi,

I have a raymarine P70s (autopilot control head) and a i70s display.

I can't for the life of me work out why the wind indicator on them is (mostly) very different.

I have confirmed they are both set to apparent wind. They both use the same wind transducer which is via a ITC5.

I have also calibrated the paddle wheel at slack water (as apparently that is a factor in the calculations performed by the system).

The system is running lighthouse 3.6 or so - haven't got exact version on me now - but very recent. Even if the system was calibrated wrongly I would expect both would still display the same direction.

Here is a picture from earlier today.

What am I missing?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wind1.jpg
Views:	202
Size:	197.8 KB
ID:	180438   Click image for larger version

Name:	wind2.jpg
Views:	165
Size:	169.5 KB
ID:	180439  

__________________

BigAl.NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 21:36   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Kemah, TX
Boat: 1979 Cape Dory 30 Cutter
Posts: 138
Re: Raymarine p70s and i70s + wind

1. Make sure the wind transducer is calibrated. It is pointless to work on this with an uncalibrated transducer.
2. Make sure they are both using the same source. Don't assume they are. The p70 can use the i70 or the ITC5. Try both in the p70; maybe one will work better than the other.
3. Make sure heading sensor is calibrated.
__________________

J.Kitchens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 22:04   #3
Registered User
 
BigAl.NZ's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Auckland, NZ
Boat: Hood 38 - Wauquiez
Posts: 279
Re: Raymarine p70s and i70s + wind

Quote:
Originally Posted by J.Kitchens View Post
1. Make sure the wind transducer is calibrated. It is pointless to work on this with an uncalibrated transducer.
2. Make sure they are both using the same source. Don't assume they are. The p70 can use the i70 or the ITC5. Try both in the p70; maybe one will work better than the other.
3. Make sure heading sensor is calibrated.
Thanks. 1 & 3 have both been done but will retry.

Will also try 2 and report back.
BigAl.NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 00:11   #4
Registered User
 
BigAl.NZ's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Auckland, NZ
Boat: Hood 38 - Wauquiez
Posts: 279
Re: Raymarine p70s and i70s + wind

I should add that the wind indicator on the i70s seems to follow the windex. Its the p70s I don't trust.
BigAl.NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 09:27   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cruising, now in USVIs
Boat: Taswell 43
Posts: 499
Re: Raymarine p70s and i70s + wind

We, too, are using a P70S, and get some very strange wind and autopilot indications. After more than a couple exchanges with Raymarine tech personnel, they have concluded the problem is the compass sensor and its calibration. We have not had a chance to re-calibrate the heading sensor yet, but they seems convinced that if there is no metal/influence on the compass sensor a recalibration will fix everything.FWIW.
sailcrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2018, 00:14   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,511
Re: Raymarine p70s and i70s + wind

apparent wind has nothing to do with the heading sensor or paddle wheel. they don't need to exist or be calibrated to work.

for true wind they would need to be calibrated. but if they were not, you should still get the same number on both screens. it's just both would be wrong..

are you sure the left one is AWA? it does not say.
the 2nd photo has no wind on pilot screen.

does the wind speed and boat speed match on both screens?

you should be able to bring up like a 6 window data box on the pilot screen to show AWA, AWS, STW, detph. and see if they all match with other screen
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2018, 00:18   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,511
Re: Raymarine p70s and i70s + wind

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailcrazy View Post
We, too, are using a P70S, and get some very strange wind and autopilot indications. After more than a couple exchanges with Raymarine tech personnel, they have concluded the problem is the compass sensor and its calibration. We have not had a chance to re-calibrate the heading sensor yet, but they seems convinced that if there is no metal/influence on the compass sensor a recalibration will fix everything.FWIW.
should be easy to tell if your heading is correct or not...
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2018, 00:28   #8
Registered User
 
BigAl.NZ's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Auckland, NZ
Boat: Hood 38 - Wauquiez
Posts: 279
Re: Raymarine p70s and i70s + wind

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
apparent wind has nothing to do with the heading sensor or paddle wheel. they don't need to exist or be calibrated to work.

for true wind they would need to be calibrated. but if they were not, you should still get the same number on both screens. it's just both would be wrong..

are you sure the left one is AWA? it does not say.
the 2nd photo has no wind on pilot screen.

does the wind speed and boat speed match on both screens?

you should be able to bring up like a 6 window data box on the pilot screen to show AWA, AWS, STW, detph. and see if they all match with other screen
Thanks - good suggestions. I will try this when next on the boat.

I rang RM today who confirmed that the iTC5 stores the calibration data for the wind sensor, so no calibration is required per display.

The RM tech was helpful and did suggest that I make sure the data source was set to Auto for both displays.

Will report back.
BigAl.NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2018, 21:51   #9
Registered User
 
BigAl.NZ's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Auckland, NZ
Boat: Hood 38 - Wauquiez
Posts: 279
Re: Raymarine p70s and i70s + wind

An update on this issue. Raymarine tech support tell me that the p70s always shows True wind.

The option to select True or Apparent in Wind vane mode is to do with the Autopilot in Wind Vane mode but doesn't change the wind icon to True/Apparent.

The full answer is detailed here : [TG11] p70s & i70s - wind

I will test this out when next on board.

FYI

AG
BigAl.NZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2018, 01:30   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK/France
Boat: Gib'Sea 402
Posts: 342
Re: Raymarine p70s and i70s + wind

Thanks for that!

I have a similar discrepancy with SOG between the i70 and P70 that I haven't yet tied down
__________________

hoolie is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
marine, raymarine, wind

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raymarine i70s Cable Ferrites (Chokes) BigAl.NZ Marine Electronics 1 13-10-2018 23:47
OpenCPN Manual on Ground Wind, True Wind, Apparent Wind Dockhead OpenCPN 11 15-08-2018 20:15
[SOLD] 3 wind generators and pole for sale or trade for raymarine wind transducer. amytom General Classifieds (no boats) 4 01-08-2018 14:44
Want To Buy: Raymarine ST60 Wind & Close Hauled Wind instrument jphillips48 Classifieds Archive 4 20-09-2013 03:07



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:38.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.