Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-10-2019, 16:16   #1
Registered User
 
danstanford's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Boat: J/88
Posts: 123
Raymarine MN100-2 with no plotter

Just bought this boat already put away for the winter and am trying to understand the instrument package. I see a masthead wind unit and a speed log plus 4 MN 100-2 displays. There is no plotter which I am used to in all my previous boats.
The displays seem to be wireless and the manuals show what they can display but I am wondering about adding a plotter and what that would entail? Does it make sense that if I added a Raymarine plotter that I could connect it to the instruments?
This boat does no have a binnacle as it is a tiller boat so I would still have to figure out where to mount a plotter, but I think I would be more comfortable with one.
Can I add one to the existing set of instruments?
Thanks,
Dan
__________________

__________________
Never attribute to malice what can be explained away by stupidity.
danstanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2019, 03:24   #2
Registered User
 
danstanford's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Boat: J/88
Posts: 123
Re: Raymarine MN100-2 with no plotter

Further research says these are Tack-tick instruments badged Raymarine after the company was bought by Raymarine. Really surprised how little information is available on them.
Dan
__________________

__________________
Never attribute to malice what can be explained away by stupidity.
danstanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2019, 19:53   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,676
Re: Raymarine MN100-2 with no plotter

I have never seen them before. I'm guessing there is a base station of some sort? and I image that there is seatalk ng or nmea 2000 at the station?. if so you can connect to a plotter. you're going to have to figure out what you have. but I imaige there must be a way to share data out.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2019, 04:21   #4
Registered User
 
danstanford's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Boat: J/88
Posts: 123
Re: Raymarine MN100-2 with no plotter

Smac, I have since learned that they are Tack-Tick instruments which Raymarine bought out and re-badged. I have also learned that by using NMEA I should be able to connect them to a plotter but have got no farther than that.
If anyone has positive or negative experience with the NMEA to plotter experience I would love to hear it. There is a pilot on the boat but I am not so concerned with connecting it to the plotter as I am having the other data on the plotter to use when plotting courses. I am not sure if my experience will be different given that there is no binnacle so the plotter will be somewhere not in such direct eyeline as I am used to.
On an arm in the companionway is one option that I would like input on as well. She does have a big cockpit so my old eyes would be a long way from that location...
Dan
__________________
Never attribute to malice what can be explained away by stupidity.
danstanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
marine, raymarine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted For Free: Wanted: Dead Raymarine MN100 batteries haiqu Classifieds Archive 2 08-10-2015 23:43
Tack tick mn100 Tomtom39 Marine Electronics 0 22-03-2011 15:40
Strange behaviour on Raymarine Track mode with ECS chart plotter zlimmie Navigation 3 10-07-2008 13:56
Raymarine E80 plotter is rebooting Cat Ted Marine Electronics 6 10-03-2008 06:01
Raymarine 425 Chart plotter problems. sailvi767 Marine Electronics 0 11-10-2007 05:52

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:47.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.