Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-07-2011, 22:48   #31
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3,016
Images: 4
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhumbunctious View Post
I gave up trying to get NMEA data into my S1, not wanting to switch out all my other gear for Raymarine specific variants. I just rely on the fluxgate compass. Pity.
NMEA is a very broad spec, unfortunately in many cases. You may need to resort to some NMEA interface box that can translate sentences to what the Raymarine wants. A careful inspection of the two device manuals might give some clues as to why one sends certain information that is then ignored by the other. It's complicated and frustrating.
__________________

__________________
daddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2011, 23:44   #32
Registered User
 
rhumbunctious's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 68
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

Quote:
Originally Posted by bazzer View Post
Did you ever think of using a raymarine gps and one of their chart plotters the S1 was designed to work with?
Yes, hence my stating that I did not want to switch out all my *existing* gear.

The point of *standards* like NMEA is so that one doesn't have to stick to a single brand. Whether NMEA is too poorly specified and/or whether Raymarine deliberately introduced incompatability into their implementation of it, either way, it's a fail in my book.
__________________

__________________
If a man speaks at sea where there is no woman to hear, is he still wrong?
-
Cruising the Baltic in 'Merihiisi', a 1979 Westerly Berwick Ketch
rhumbunctious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2011, 07:51   #33
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 584
You state that you have tried several GPS'S, but none of them Raymarine and now you diss RM because you can't make it work with Garmin. Surely it's like trying to fit a GM part on a Ford. RM chartplotters offer a lot of features one of which is compatibility with their AP'a
__________________
bazzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2011, 07:59   #34
Registered User
 
rhumbunctious's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 68
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

Quote:
Originally Posted by bazzer View Post
You state that you have tried several GPS'S, but none of them Raymarine and now you diss RM because you can't make it work with Garmin. Surely it's like trying to fit a GM part on a Ford. RM chartplotters offer a lot of features one of which is compatibility with their AP'a
I'm wondering whether you understand the point of a standard. The whole point of NMEA is to allow devices from *different* manufacturers to interoperate. I have no problems interfacing all my other NMEA gear with each other. I've only ever had problems with Raymarine. If Raymarine isn't going to actually honor the standard, but only play lip service yet distort their implementation to be non-compatible in reality, then that will make me avoid Raymarine products, because it says something about the company.

Not everyone has the cash to always replace every piece of their equipment with the same brand in order to have it all interoperate (hence the purpose of standards). If/when my autopilot fails permanently, I will probably go with something other than Raymarine, and expect to then finally get some interoperability with my other existing gear.
__________________
If a man speaks at sea where there is no woman to hear, is he still wrong?
-
Cruising the Baltic in 'Merihiisi', a 1979 Westerly Berwick Ketch
rhumbunctious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2011, 07:59   #35
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

Some posters in this thread show that they need to read NMEA 0183 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Standards are designed to make things compatible.

ciao!
Nick.
__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2011, 12:58   #36
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhumbunctious

I'm wondering whether you understand the point of a standard. The whole point of NMEA is to allow devices from *different* manufacturers to interoperate. I have no problems interfacing all my other NMEA gear with each other. I've only ever had problems with Raymarine. If Raymarine isn't going to actually honor the standard, but only play lip service yet distort their implementation to be non-compatible in reality, then that will make me avoid Raymarine products, because it says something about the company.

Not everyone has the cash to always replace every piece of their equipment with the same brand in order to have it all interoperate (hence the purpose of standards). If/when my autopilot fails permanently, I will probably go with something other than Raymarine, and expect to then finally get some interoperability with my other existing gear.
I really don't wish to stand into a argument with you, but how can you purchase a RM AP and not check if it's compatible with Garmin? I haven't read all the Raymarine documentation, but I believe the interface between AP/chart plotter/GPS is intended to be Raytalk and not NEMA. NEMA 0183 is only used, as I read it, to set up the AP and Controller.
Seems you are dissing RM without reason, it's not their fault you can't afford one of their chart plotters
Anyway, this Bazzer out...
__________________
bazzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2011, 13:24   #37
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

Quote:
Originally Posted by bazzer View Post
I really don't wish to stand into a argument with you, but how can you purchase a RM AP and not check if it's compatible with Garmin? I haven't read all the Raymarine documentation, but I believe the interface between AP/chart plotter/GPS is intended to be Raytalk and not NEMA. NEMA 0183 is only used, as I read it, to set up the AP and Controller.
Seems you are dissing RM without reason, it's not their fault you can't afford one of their chart plotters
Anyway, this Bazzer out...
Raytalk? don't you mean Seatalk?
NEMA? don't you mean NMEA?


Nick.
__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2011, 13:30   #38
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by s/v Jedi

Raytalk? don't you mean Seatalk?
NEMA? don't you mean NMEA?


Nick.
Yep, trying to type and sail at the same time!!
__________________
bazzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 23:34   #39
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Wickford, RI
Boat: Jeanneau 39i
Posts: 1
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

I want to try this low cost rate gyro! My non-G pilot won't drive with the spinnaker up, where as my last boat ages ago with gyro Raymarine pilot would. But I too am a bit confused which gyro to buy or voltage regulator. Can someone please send a link where and which components you have purchased.
__________________
rdyas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 08:01   #40
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Lake Superior
Boat: Oday 30
Posts: 4
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

Earlier, I wrote about removing the rate of turn engine from a RM Gyroplus II, and adding it to an S1 Autopilot to bring it up to S1G specs. One of these ROT engines is currently listed on Ebay, and you may at least find the picture interesting: Raymarine GYRO UPGRADE S1, S2, S3 Smartpilots & 150/400 (item number 110726466119)

(I can vouch for the seller, who is also a member of this forum, but I have no involvement in the listing.)
__________________
RecoveringRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 00:21   #41
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 297
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

Maybe off topic, I have Simrad IS15 equipment installed. Would this whole idea also work in combination with my TP32?? Any thoughts would be great.
__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 02:35   #42
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Morbihan Brittany France
Boat: Hallberg Rassy 37
Posts: 64
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

What you should check is not the display but the calculator attached to your pilot.
Check documentation Autopilots | SIMRAD YACHTING if you have an entry point for a rate gyro, then no reason why the same technique could not be applied.
__________________
fulup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 02:57   #43
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 297
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

Quote:
Originally Posted by fulup View Post
What you should check is not the display but the calculator attached to your pilot.
Check documentation Autopilots | SIMRAD YACHTING if you have an entry point for a rate gyro, then no reason why the same technique could not be applied.
Ok, will check the link. I don't have a display or AP instrument to control the tiller pilot. Or don't I understand what you mean by display?
__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2012, 14:27   #44
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

I have had the non-G S1 autopilot for 6 years and never found it to be reliable or even useful in cross waves/wind. After making the above gyro board and installing it I am now more than pleased with the S1! If you do the same, don't forget to go to Dealer calibration and Autolearn. The S1 will then make a few turns and "learn" the optimum settings. This makes a world of difference!
__________________
Segran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2012, 18:09   #45
Registered User
 
Viking Sailor's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Francisco Bay
Boat: Fantasia 35 - s/v Feeling Good
Posts: 1,074
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

Segran,

Welcome to CF and thank you for the very useful post.

__________________

__________________
Viking Sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gyro, raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raymarine C-Series Upgrade to v5.04 richardhula Marine Electronics 15 13-10-2010 09:51
Raymarine Rudder Reference Sensor - Voltage ? frejo Marine Electronics 2 02-10-2010 15:16
Raymarine ST60 and Raymarine C80 Pete7 Marine Electronics 8 26-10-2009 23:20
rotation sensor dpollitt Marine Electronics 2 23-03-2009 09:26



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:56.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.