Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-05-2011, 11:50   #16
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

Well, responding to my own thread. The home brewed gyro works like a charm. After powering up the Autolearn function became available and I went through sea calibration process as needed for 1G version. Upon calibration zigzaging was done I went to catch some swells on open water to see what happens. I did surprisingly well, steering looks more like invisible helmsman caching up as boat rolls over the waves. Response Level menu added some extra sensitivity options, it used to be 1 to 4 now it increased all the way to level 9. Anything after level 4 is pretty much useless unless you have a rocket boat doing 60 knots in a gale force conditions.
The things I didnít like. It seems like autopilot became more responsive. At cruising speed it does excellent job BUT if the wind drops you slow down to 1 to 2 knots and yawl stability decreases it starts doing unnecessary small adjustments trying keep you on precise course. All that equals to eating battery banks. Also with a sudden gust the boat gets overpowered and start turning in to the wind autopilot would correct that almost instantly creating hill that a little beyond my comfort level.
This is how final setup looks like on the pictures. Wires from the module connected to RATE GYRO taps the following way: +12V=RED TAP, Ground=GRAY TAP, Rate=YELLOW TAP. Note that gyro module has to be positioned upside down in order to provide correct output. I made a small bracket out of 90 degrees plastic angle. It attached with 3M double sticking tape to the circuit board on one side and the gyro module on the other. In order to work correctly the whole computer has to be installed vertically within 10 degrees limit.
There a little 3pin socket on the circuit board specially designed for factory upgrade gyro. I never bothered with it but I suspect it might supply +5.5V skipping the need for soldering voltage regulator.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_8112.jpg
Views:	470
Size:	413.4 KB
ID:	27508   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_8113.jpg
Views:	441
Size:	404.3 KB
ID:	27509  

__________________

__________________
125Miles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2011, 13:33   #17
Registered User
 
cwyckham's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Boat: Niagara 35
Posts: 1,870
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

This is very cool. If I ever get my S1 to actually work, I'll give it a go for sure. One question. The french website indicates that there is a 30 second "stabilization period" for the gyro. I assume this starts at power-up of the S1(G) unit? So can you power on, wait 30 seconds, and then push "auto" to engage the autopilot? Does this period half to be with the unit at rest? If so, the upgrade wouldn't be practical for some uses where you'd need to power the unit up at sea with it pitching all over the place.

Also, is your autopilot installed on centerline? I noticed the french installation had a remote gyro unit in order to put it on centerline. Not clear to me that that would be important. I don't believe the S1G units with onboard gyros have to be mounted on centerline? Or do they also have a separate gyro pack?
__________________

__________________
cwyckham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2011, 09:03   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

I was confused myself with 30 seconds “stabilization period” written on the website. According to data sheet for gyro chip turn-on time is only 50millisecconds. It worked right up as soon as I turned power on and pushed AUTO. As the installation goes I never found any strict requirements for thing to be on the center line just looked up at the manual for computers with built in gyro. Mine was installed a while ago and sits about 6 feet aft and 3 feet off the center on the 30 feet boat.
__________________
125Miles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2011, 00:26   #19
Registered User
 
cwyckham's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Boat: Niagara 35
Posts: 1,870
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

Thank you for your response. I checked the manual as well, and there seems to be no need for a centerline installation.

Just to make sure I understand... You buy the gyro and the regulator, wire them together in a pack that has three wires sticking out, attach the wires to the little gyro inputs, mount the gyro nearby upside down (love your location, by the way), and you're done. Why wouldn't anybody do this! I'm seriously psyched.

I have figured out the problems I had with the S1 and just need to implement the fix. Once it's working for a while and I can establish a bit of a baseline, I'll do this as well and report back.

Please let us know if anything goes a bit pear shaped or if you come up with any more improvements.

Many thanks to you for reporting here and also the creative French sailor who tried this first.

Chris
__________________
cwyckham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2011, 10:07   #20
DoÖ or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwyckham View Post
Just to make sure I understand... You buy the gyro and the regulator, wire them together in a pack that has three wires sticking out, attach the wires to the little gyro inputs, mount the gyro nearby upside down (love your location, by the way), and you're done. Why wouldn't anybody do this! I'm seriously psyched.
One reason somebody wouldn't want to do this is if that person has no experience soldering electronic components and finishing this module in a way that it can cope with the marine environment (corrosive, vibration etc.)

ciao!
Nick.
__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2011, 01:43   #21
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 42
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

hello 125 miles,

I want to try this by my self but I'm bit confused which gyro to buy. Can you please send a link where and which components you have purchased. Thanks!
__________________
amarf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2011, 14:32   #22
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

Can it be that the rate gyro is to sensible compared to the Raymarine original ? Could it help to add a filter on the output to remove small changes at low speed ?
__________________
arnev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2011, 14:40   #23
Vendor
 
witzgall's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eastern Shore, MD
Boat: Camper Nicholson 44 Ketch
Posts: 1,775
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

If a raymarine pilot received stabilized heading information from a networked heading sensor, over 0183 or seatalk, would it use that information instead of it's fluxgate compass?

Chris
__________________
witzgall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2011, 14:47   #24
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3,016
Images: 4
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

I recall it helps the response if the autopilot is receiving boat speed data on the SeaTalk/NMEA interface.

That said, I find I need to adjust the response quite frequently.
__________________
daddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2011, 22:54   #25
Registered User
 
Samantha ann's Avatar

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Charleston SC
Boat: 34 Irwin
Posts: 175
Sounds like a interesting idea. Where were the parts order from?

On a another note on my S1, I cannot get my gamin 498 to feed heading to auto helm. VHF receives everything. Any thoughts
__________________
Samantha ann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2011, 01:23   #26
Registered User
 
rhumbunctious's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 68
Re: Raymarine Gyro Sensor Upgrade for $25

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samantha ann View Post
Sounds like a interesting idea. Where were the parts order from?

On a another note on my S1, I cannot get my gamin 498 to feed heading to auto helm. VHF receives everything. Any thoughts
From my experience, Raymarine has the worst NMEA compatibility of all the brands out there (and I expect it's intentional).

I've tried 4 different GPSs with my S1 (2 Garmins, Standard Horizon, Lowrance) and it has never recognized any of them. Seems Raymarine's flavor of NMEA is essentially proprietary, and you'd probably have to resort to an NMEA to SeaTalk bridge, though even that may not resolve the sentence incompatabilities.

I gave up trying to get NMEA data into my S1, not wanting to switch out all my other gear for Raymarine specific variants. I just rely on the fluxgate compass. Pity.
__________________
If a man speaks at sea where there is no woman to hear, is he still wrong?
-
Cruising the Baltic in 'Merihiisi', a 1979 Westerly Berwick Ketch
rhumbunctious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2011, 19:59   #27
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhumbunctious

From my experience, Raymarine has the worst NMEA compatibility of all the brands out there (and I expect it's intentional).

I've tried 4 different GPSs with my S1 (2 Garmins, Standard Horizon, Lowrance) and it has never recognized any of them. Seems Raymarine's flavor of NMEA is essentially proprietary, and you'd probably have to resort to an NMEA to SeaTalk bridge, though even that may not resolve the sentence incompatabilities.

I gave up trying to get NMEA data into my S1, not wanting to switch out all my other gear for Raymarine specific variants. I just rely on the fluxgate compass. Pity.
Did you ever think of using a raymarine gps and one of their chart plotters the S1 was designed to work with?
__________________
bazzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2011, 21:00   #28
Registered User
 
Samantha ann's Avatar

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Charleston SC
Boat: 34 Irwin
Posts: 175
I had the GPS before the S1. The reason for the NEMA system is to be able to b
__________________
Samantha ann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2011, 21:01   #29
Registered User
 
Samantha ann's Avatar

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Charleston SC
Boat: 34 Irwin
Posts: 175
Sorry. NEMA is to bring different systems together.
__________________
Samantha ann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2011, 22:22   #30
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samantha ann
Sorry. NEMA is to bring different systems together.
On my boat the S1 and the plotter interface via Raytalk , faster than NEMA 0183
__________________

__________________
bazzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gyro, raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raymarine C-Series Upgrade to v5.04 richardhula Marine Electronics 15 13-10-2010 09:51
Raymarine Rudder Reference Sensor - Voltage ? frejo Marine Electronics 2 02-10-2010 15:16
Raymarine ST60 and Raymarine C80 Pete7 Marine Electronics 8 26-10-2009 23:20
rotation sensor dpollitt Marine Electronics 2 23-03-2009 09:26



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:22.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.