Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2018, 20:23   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Hailey, ID
Boat: Gulf 32 & Nimble 20
Posts: 549
Raymarine EV100 wheepilot: Is this right way to include speed data through SeaTalkNG?

Installing a new EV100 autopilot. Up until this point I have only had very basic instrumentation consisting of one i50 depth display and one i50 speed display (connected to separate transducers).

I'd like to get my speed data in to the EV100 properly, but I'm a little unfamiliar with SeaTalkNG and backbones vs spurs etc. I have done some reading and think I have it figured, just looking for confirmation of whether I have this right or not.

This is mockup of what I think I should do:


Almost all of mockup it is verbatim out of EV100 install manual, just looking for confirmation that I'm adding the two i50 displays correctly. Can I go from a T piece (terminated on one end) to the speed and then just connect the speed to the depth? Or do I have to do separate spur to speed and separate spur to depth? I don't need the depth info on the network right now but want to set things up right for future use.

Any feedback appreciated (also posted this to Raymarine forum but those don't always appear very quickly, and their attachment function throws javascript errors so couldn't post my mockup).

Thanks!

-- Bass
__________________

__________________
Hailey, Idaho & Bellingham, WA
Sailing blog: http://Sailing.PictureOfNectar.com
basssears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 05:39   #2
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 11,241
Images: 14
Re: Raymarine EV100 wheepilot: Is this right way to include speed data through SeaTal

I don't see what you gain from trying to add depth and speed to the network. I had the option but preferred to keep it all separate from the chart plotter. The EV100 is a great little unit btw, really impressed with it.

Pete
__________________

Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 05:48   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Hailey, ID
Boat: Gulf 32 & Nimble 20
Posts: 549
Re: Raymarine EV100 wheepilot: Is this right way to include speed data through SeaTal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete7 View Post
I don't see what you gain from trying to add depth and speed to the network. I had the option but preferred to keep it all separate from the chart plotter. The EV100 is a great little unit btw, really impressed with it.

Pete
Glad to hear you like your EV100, hoping it's more reliable than the ST4000 that's on there now.

Adding depth doesn't really matter, I just figure I ought to have it on the SeaTalk network in case I ever get around to something that can put my SeaTalk data on wifi. (I don't have any sort of dedicated plotter, just a laptop with PolarView on it).

But they said for best results to have some source of speed going into the network so the EV100 can use your current speed to make correct rudder adjustments...but maybe that's not a big deal on a sailboat with such a small speed range?

Any other tips you have on the EV100 much appreciated.

Thanks.

-- Bass
__________________
Hailey, Idaho & Bellingham, WA
Sailing blog: http://Sailing.PictureOfNectar.com
basssears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 06:26   #4
Registered User
 
TheOffice's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Annapolis
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 703
Re: Raymarine EV100 wheepilot: Is this right way to include speed data through SeaTal

I beleive you need to run a separate spur cable for depth. You can't connect instrument to instrument on NG.
TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 06:40   #5
Registered User
 
Ziggy's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: U.S., Northeast
Boat: Contessa 32
Posts: 1,444
Images: 2
Re: Raymarine EV100 wheepilot: Is this right way to include speed data through SeaTal

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOffice View Post
I beleive you need to run a separate spur cable for depth. You can't connect instrument to instrument on NG.
According to the i50 installation manual, you can daisy-chain the i50, i60, and i70 displays using SeaTalk-ng spur cables.
__________________
... He knows the chart is not the sea.
-- Philip Booth, Chart 1203
Ziggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 06:57   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Hailey, ID
Boat: Gulf 32 & Nimble 20
Posts: 549
Re: Raymarine EV100 wheepilot: Is this right way to include speed data through SeaTal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy View Post
According to the i50 installation manual, you can daisy-chain the i50, i60, and i70 displays using SeaTalk-ng spur cables.
Thanks... found the online version of the i50 manual and it shows this schematic with two instruments daisy chained, so I think you're right:
__________________
Hailey, Idaho & Bellingham, WA
Sailing blog: http://Sailing.PictureOfNectar.com
basssears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 07:02   #7
Registered User
 
TheOffice's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Annapolis
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 703
Re: Raymarine EV100 wheepilot: Is this right way to include speed data through SeaTal

I stand corrected!
TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 07:16   #8
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Location: holland michigan
Boat: Gulfstar 50 ketch
Posts: 470
Images: 3
Re: Raymarine EV100 wheepilot: Is this right way to include speed data through SeaTal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete7 View Post
I don't see what you gain from trying to add depth and speed to the network. I had the option but preferred to keep it all separate from the chart plotter. The EV100 is a great little unit btw, really impressed with it.

Pete
Giving the pilot speed reference helps it decide how much and how fast to turn the wheel. Rudder angle reference helps also. The more info and accurate info the better (less hunting/power consumption).
ctl411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 07:34   #9
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 11,241
Images: 14
Re: Raymarine EV100 wheepilot: Is this right way to include speed data through SeaTal

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctl411 View Post
Giving the pilot speed reference helps it decide how much and how fast to turn the wheel. Rudder angle reference helps also. The more info and accurate info the better (less hunting/power consumption).
The EV asks how long it takes to turn the wheel during the set up. With a waterline length giving maximum velocity in single figures I found the EV100 didn't need the speed or rudder angle reference, thankfully as it can be a pita to mount the reference unit which isn't supplied and seem to cost a fortune even second hand.

It really was fit and forget. During last year we used it extensively in the cruising mode whilst we sat back and admired the view.
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 07:58   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Hailey, ID
Boat: Gulf 32 & Nimble 20
Posts: 549
Re: Raymarine EV100 wheepilot: Is this right way to include speed data through SeaTal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete7 View Post
The EV asks how long it takes to turn the wheel during the set up. With a waterline length giving maximum velocity in single figures I found the EV100 didn't need the speed or rudder angle reference, thankfully as it can be a pita to mount the reference unit which isn't supplied and seem to cost a fortune even second hand.

It really was fit and forget. During last year we used it extensively in the cruising mode whilst we sat back and admired the view.
Happy to hear the stock install has worked well for you.

I am going to try to forgo the rudder reference unit as well, as it seems a big undertaking, but since I already have the i50 speed was thinking (and it does seem so) I might as well wire in the speed sensor for accuracy.
__________________
Hailey, Idaho & Bellingham, WA
Sailing blog: http://Sailing.PictureOfNectar.com
basssears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 07:59   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Hailey, ID
Boat: Gulf 32 & Nimble 20
Posts: 549
Re: Raymarine EV100 wheepilot: Is this right way to include speed data through SeaTal

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctl411 View Post
Giving the pilot speed reference helps it decide how much and how fast to turn the wheel. Rudder angle reference helps also. The more info and accurate info the better (less hunting/power consumption).
Yes I'm trying to get this as accurate as possible, after a bunch of struggling with the ST4000+ I'm really hoping this will work better, just want to do as much up front to make the process work.
__________________
Hailey, Idaho & Bellingham, WA
Sailing blog: http://Sailing.PictureOfNectar.com
basssears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 08:38   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 342
Re: Raymarine EV100 wheepilot: Is this right way to include speed data through SeaTal

In my experience
Autohelm ST 4000 wheel pilot - great piece of gear until control head started to rattle with loose parts after 15+ years.

Raymarine ST4000+ Junk never worked correctly no matter how many times I tried to calibrate it.

Raymarine EV-100 wheel great piece of gear for the year that i've had it.
guyrj33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 08:40   #13
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Location: holland michigan
Boat: Gulfstar 50 ketch
Posts: 470
Images: 3
Re: Raymarine EV100 wheepilot: Is this right way to include speed data through SeaTal

Yes the EV will work without the extra stuff but much better with it. I'm using it way over the limit of boat size temporary solution ( 4 years now... So I set it up to make it as easy on it as I can. It has worked well and will be a backup after I get the long linear drive.
ctl411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 10:30   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Falmouth, UK
Posts: 201
Re: Raymarine EV100 wheepilot: Is this right way to include speed data through SeaTal

Do you need to supply a separate 12v to the SeaTalkng? I thought the ACU would do that unless you specifically turned that function off.
wiekeith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 17:47   #15
cruiser

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lake Ontario
Boat: Douglas 32 Mk II
Posts: 2,722
Re: Raymarine EV100 wheepilot: Is this right way to include speed data through SeaTal

Quote:
Originally Posted by wiekeith View Post
Do you need to supply a separate 12v to the SeaTalkng? I thought the ACU would do that unless you specifically turned that function off.
ACU 100 can’t power the network. The other ACUs can.
__________________

ramblinrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raymarine, marine, seatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Raymarine ST4000 Mark2 S1/ X5/ EV100 Autopilot Wheel Drive jefndeb General Classifieds (no boats) 2 24-09-2018 16:52
Measure speed through water without making hole through hull. Lars_L Construction, Maintenance & Refit 29 26-03-2015 11:58
SeaTalkng and NEMA2000 Data Meriachee Marine Electronics 1 27-07-2012 08:59
Documenting Boat - Whose Name to Include in Ownership barrascuda Boat Ownership & Making a Living 12 08-05-2011 10:58
no right way, right? unbusted67 Seamanship & Boat Handling 4 16-12-2006 18:10



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:22.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.