Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-03-2008, 07:00   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Raymarine E80 plotter is rebooting

Two weeks ago- When I powered up my e80 system the chart plotter would display the chart but then would reboot itself. Each time the plotter would stay up a little longer before rebooting. By the afternoon it had stopped rebooting and ran fine.

Yesterday - Powered up system again and E-80 display would go only as far as the logo screen then would reboot itself.

Cat Ted

Cat Ted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 09:09   #2
Marine Service Provider
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,617
If you can find a local service tech they could try a software update but I doubt it. The other thing to check is that the voltage to the unit has not dropped for some reason. Other than that it means a trip back to Raymarine.

Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 09:57   #3
Senior Cruiser
senormechanico's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2003
Boat: Dragonfly 1000 trimaran
Posts: 5,136
I agree with Chuck. Check the input voltage as close to the display as is practical.
I'd bet it's about a 99% chance that you have insufficient voltage due to a loose/corrroded connection either on the + or - side of your wiring.
Start measuring at the batteries measure and check every connection to the unit.

Steve B.
senormechanico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 11:28   #4
Registered User
philip van praag's Avatar

Join Date: May 2007
Location: uk brighton
Boat: privilege 37
Posts: 181
Images: 18
two things post this question on raymarine's site they may already have a fix
second you dont need a tec to do an upgrade or reinstall you download from there site onto a flash card and stick it in and switch on !!
ps : you need to regester your unit to get the down loads.
philip van praag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 11:31   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Home port: San Diego, California. Currently in Europe.
Boat: Hallberg-Rassy 40
Posts: 117
Images: 6
There is a diagnostic option on the E80 that will tell you the input voltage. That maybe the problem. We had the same problem, but first Raymarine said it was a problem with the unit and replaced the entire unit (so there must have been some problems). Later we replaced the converter (12v to 12v) that was installed to keep the voltage steady and now it works fine.
There is also a new software update that you can install yourself, but I have not done that yet.
Jim Thomsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 12:51   #6
Senior Cruiser
Vasco's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Toronto
Boat: CS36Merlin, "La Belle Aurore" Ben393 "Breathless"
Posts: 6,819
There's a new software upgrade since a couple of satellites were changed or something. I did not upgrade because I could not find a SanDisc CF card in about a dozen stores I checked. I did download the upgrade onto my laptop. Been on the boat since November and so far have not seen any difference in operation.
Rick I
Toronto in summer, Bahamas in winter.
Vasco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 05:01   #7
Marine Service Provider
W32PAMELA's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wewahitchka, FL
Boat: Westsail 32 - Pamela
Posts: 260
It is not a good idea to try a software update on an unstable machine. Solve the rebooting problem then update. I agree with the other posters suggestions to check the input voltage levels.

Bob Stewart

W32PAMELA is online now   Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheap AIS for Raymarine E80 boats33 Marine Electronics 4 20-11-2007 06:54
Raymarine 425 Chart plotter problems. sailvi767 Marine Electronics 0 11-10-2007 04:52
AIS receiver works on the Raymarine E80 boats33 Marine Electronics 0 06-05-2007 21:40
Raymarine E80 to T.V. connection hbarth Marine Electronics 8 11-04-2007 14:20

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:42.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.