Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2010, 02:38   #1

Boat: Bluewater 400 40ft Leyla
Raymarine E Series Network

I have had a package of new Raymarine electronics installed. I have a E120 display at the nav station and a E80 at the helm, The E120 is the data master unit. If the E120 is not operational, the E80 does not receive GPS or radar data. Also, if the E120 is off, my VHF and HF radio do not receive GPS data (which is an issue regarding DSC) I have discussed this issue with Raymarine Technical help and they have confirmed that the E120 must be operational for the E80 to function. They have also suggested that I install another GPS receiver, if I want the VHF and HF radios to have a GPS feed that is not contingent on the E120 being operational.
I am new to boat electronics and am uncertain whether the information I have been provided is correct, or if there are alternative solutions, so that I have the redundancy in the system, that I thought I was getting. Any comments?
regards,
Rasa
rasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 04:00   #2

Boat: Freedom 32 (Hoyt)
Raymarine are correct from their perspective, installing another RAYSTAR125 antenna would also providew redundancy but, just adding the antenna to the other unit will not necessarily give you NMEA data to your DSC radio, this will require additional wiring to get the signal from the E80 to the radio.