Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-04-2018, 07:49   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 25
Raymarine DSM300 conection to B&G

We are upgrading our chartploter frome a E80 to a B&G Zeus2 and would like to keep our Raymarine fishfinder, but the more we read the less it seems feasible.

Considered converting the Seatalk HS to NMEA2000, but there is no adapter or cable available. We are not even sure they can talk to each other. Feels like the fish finder is proprietary to Raymarine.

Has anyone attempted or know how to do this? I don't want the spend extra money on B&G sonar hub and transducer.

Thank you.
__________________

__________________
http://www.lerapideescargot.com
Antilag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2018, 08:13   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Coming to a Marina Near You
Boat: Hallberg-Rassy 49
Posts: 294
Re: Raymarine DSM300 conection to B&G

The Raymarine Sounder module is proprietary to Raymarine. SeaTalk HS is a proprietary ethernet protocol and does not adapt to NMEA 2000. Navico (B&G) uses a completely different ethernet protocol for their sounder.

Odds are also good that the SonarHub will not support your current transducer. The DSM300 used a dual frequency 50/200 kHz transducer. While the SonarHub uses single frequency or Chirp transducers.
__________________

__________________
Professional Reality Checker
KeelMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2018, 08:39   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 25
Re: Raymarine DSM300 conection to B&G

Thank you for the fast, thorough and depressing answer. No more fishies for us then.
__________________
http://www.lerapideescargot.com
Antilag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2018, 08:45   #4
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 10,946
Images: 14
Re: Raymarine DSM300 conection to B&G

Perhaps, perhaps perhaps not. I sold my DM300 box of tricks on e bay and got a real good price. So sell the box of tricks right now as the boating season is just kicking off and the world going mad for stuff peeps should have sorted months ago. Then you can buy something B&G will work with.

Pete
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2018, 20:15   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 25
Re: Raymarine DSM300 conection to B&G

Yes that's the plan!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete7 View Post
Perhaps, perhaps perhaps not. I sold my DM300 box of tricks on e bay and got a real good price. So sell the box of tricks right now as the boating season is just kicking off and the world going mad for stuff peeps should have sorted months ago. Then you can buy something B&G will work with.

Pete
__________________
http://www.lerapideescargot.com
Antilag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2018, 22:04   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,308
Re: Raymarine DSM300 conection to B&G

I would think you'd be able to use the transducer if it's a standard 50/200. probably can buy an adapter for it.
__________________

smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
marine, raymarine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with my Raymarine DSM300 sonar Vladis Marine Electronics 2 25-12-2017 14:14
Nmea multiplexer conection Arjuna01 OpenCPN 1 31-03-2017 04:28
For Sale: Raymarine DSM300 $350, Remote Keyboard $300, Network Switch $150, RD218 Radome $500 dhartman64 Classifieds Archive 0 08-03-2015 21:57
Raymarine DSM300 with a ST60 Depth installation question ? d4raffy Marine Electronics 11 24-09-2014 08:45
For Sale: Raymarine C70, US East Coast Chip and DSM300 BayBs Classifieds Archive 2 20-02-2014 06:30



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:56.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.