Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-11-2018, 00:19   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Boat: Beneteau OCEANIS 411
Posts: 8
Raymarine C70 screen black spots

Hi all, my C70 classic (yes, I know - a bit of a dinosaur these days!) has suddenly developed "black spot" disease (see photo below). It was fine until a couple of days ago and all the plotter functions seem to be working as per normal. There is the obvious large black circle as well as a smaller blotch near the upper left corner of the screen. These blemishes appear as soon as the unit is powered on and are visible on all pages, so I figure it's an LCD screen deterioration issue. Coincidentally (at least I think it's coincidental), a few weeks ago my Garmin GPS126 started developing a dark "cloud" in the middle of the LCD screen. Won't be able to get them looked at until we get home from current cruise in a week or two, but am interested to know if anyone else has had this happen?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1467.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	252.4 KB
ID:	180815  
__________________

Palmask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2018, 23:45   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Coming to a Marina Near You
Boat: Hallberg-Rassy 49
Posts: 294
Re: Raymarine C70 screen black spots

Looks like moisture to me.
__________________

__________________
Professional Reality Checker
KeelMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2018, 02:34   #3
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 4,825
Re: Raymarine C70 screen black spots

I would ask the experts over at Raymarine tech support ( http://forum.raymarine.com/ ). They have seen just about everything. But my best guess is something has gone wrong with the liquid crystal pixels. May not be repairable.
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2018, 04:37   #4
Registered User
 
Dan GB's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: UK
Boat: Shuttleworth 45 catamaran
Posts: 102
Re: Raymarine C70 screen black spots

Quote:
Originally Posted by transmitterdan View Post
I would ask the experts over at Raymarine tech support ( http://forum.raymarine.com/ ). They have seen just about everything. But my best guess is something has gone wrong with the liquid crystal pixels. May not be repairable.
Just for what it's worth, I have an old C70 as well. I didn't have black spots but the resolution and general quality of the image was rubbish to the point of me thinking about chucking it. Was persuaded to send it to Raymarine and for a very reasonable charge they rejuvenated it and it's now very usable again.
Dan GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2018, 21:24   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Boat: Beneteau OCEANIS 411
Posts: 8
Re: Raymarine C70 screen black spots

Thanks to KeelMe, transmitterdan and Dan GB for your responses. I'll be home in the next few days and will take the unit to my local Raymarine agent (Trymax Marine) and see what they make of it. If it's fixable, and depending on the estimated cost of repair(s), I'll decide whether or not to put that money towards a new plotter.
Palmask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2018, 21:45   #6
Registered User
 
Dan GB's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: UK
Boat: Shuttleworth 45 catamaran
Posts: 102
Re: Raymarine C70 screen black spots

Quote:
Originally Posted by Palmask View Post
Thanks to KeelMe, transmitterdan and Dan GB for your responses. I'll be home in the next few days and will take the unit to my local Raymarine agent (Trymax Marine) and see what they make of it. If it's fixable, and depending on the estimated cost of repair(s), I'll decide whether or not to put that money towards a new plotter.
Good luck. Again, my situation, but when I was evaluating exactly that same replacement thing, the choice turned into maybe $5k for a new shiny system, Vs a few hundred for making do. I made do.

Fundamentally, to my mind, even our old units are _a miracle_ what they can do!
__________________

Dan GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
marine, raymarine, screen

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raymarine C70 Plotter screen issues want2cruise Marine Electronics 19 30-07-2017 14:20
Raymarine A70 vs C70 and C90W corona Navigation 9 12-09-2011 01:31
For Sale: Raymarine C70 Multifunction Display replusted Classifieds Archive 3 29-05-2011 18:06
Raymarine C70 Multifunction Display available benwind110 Classifieds Archive 6 04-05-2009 21:53
Raymarine C70 Chartplotter Mounting amytom Marine Electronics 2 10-10-2008 08:31



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:55.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.