Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-01-2012, 07:08   #1
Registered User
 
ernoquic's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: since 2007 cruising
Boat: Lagoon 440 catamaran
Posts: 24
Images: 3
Send a message via Skype™ to ernoquic
Raymarine Autopliot Disengages After Turning off the E120Classic

Hello,

My autopilot an S3 and ST6002 smartcontroller disengages after a few minutes from auto if I turn my E120 Plotter off?
This is not a big problem but I like to shut off the plotter on longer trips (we did the atlantic and the plotter was on for 19 days)!!!
I checked all the cables but cannot find it.
The Raymarine Techs told me to disconnect the red Seatalk wire to the E120, but my GPS signal and autopilot connection is not any longer on the E120.




Best Regards,

Erno Straatmann
S/V Tara
from the Netherlands
currently on a mooring in Bonaire
__________________

__________________
ernoquic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 07:16   #2
Mooderator
 
capngeo's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Key West & Sarasota
Boat: Cal 28 "Happy Days"
Posts: 4,211
Images: 12
Send a message via Yahoo to capngeo Send a message via Skype™ to capngeo
Re: Raymarine autopliot disengages after turning off the E120Classic

Ern... Welcome to CF!

Your pic doesn’t show up because you linked to a “closed” Yahoo account. Also the filename extension needs to be a valid image file such as .jpg or .bmp
__________________

__________________
Any fool with a big enough checkbook can BUY a boat; it takes a SPECIAL type of fool to build his own! -Capngeo
capngeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 07:55   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Raymarine autopliot disengages after turning off the E120Classic

Are you navigating to a waypoint, or just to a compass heading? If to a waypoint, then the plotter supplies that information to the AP and turning it off will disengage the pilot.

Also, do the pilot computer or compass get its power through the plotter? It sounds like it may be since disconnecting the seatalk cable disconnects the power to it (if I understand your description correctly).

Have you tried just engaging the AP with the plotter turned off?

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 08:03   #4
Registered User
 
ernoquic's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: since 2007 cruising
Boat: Lagoon 440 catamaran
Posts: 24
Images: 3
Send a message via Skype™ to ernoquic
Re: Raymarine autopliot disengages after turning off the E120Classic

Hello,

Thanks for your replies!
I am navigating on a course on the ST6002 display and not to a waypoint, The pilot has his own power. And it disconnects after 5 or 10 minutes, later i can put it on Auto again for a few minutes till it disengages.
I have not tried to go on autopilot just without the plotter on, because I always put the boat on course and than put it on Auto!

Erno

P.S. sorry for my Enlish
__________________
ernoquic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 08:06   #5
Registered User
 
ernoquic's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: since 2007 cruising
Boat: Lagoon 440 catamaran
Posts: 24
Images: 3
Send a message via Skype™ to ernoquic
Re: Raymarine autopliot disengages after turning off the E120Classic

Tommorow I will try to go on autoplilot. with the E120 in OFF mode and an other option without seatalk connected.

Best Rregards,

Erno
__________________
ernoquic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 08:52   #6
Registered User
 
sy_gilana's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On board
Boat: Van de Stadt 50'
Posts: 1,101
Send a message via Skype™ to sy_gilana
Re: Raymarine autopliot disengages after turning off the E120Classic

Hi. I think the Ray-techs told you to dis the red wire on the seatalk bus, not the power wire. Ok the course computer is not mentioned in your message. Also the gps connection is not mentioned. IF you have a ST GPS, connected to the Course Computer and the Control head, you should be able to maintain a course without any plotter attached. The heading info is read by the fluxgate compass, or do you have a gyro? Please can you advise what gear you have and how connected something like...
Course computer with rudder feedback and fluxgate and joystick
Seatalk bus connected to ST6002+GPS+Plotter+CourseComp

The fact that it takes a few minutes usually indicates loss of position fixing information. Please try to tell more...
__________________
Tight sheets to ya.
http://gilana.org
sy_gilana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 08:55   #7
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Raymarine autopliot disengages after turning off the E120Classic

Quote:
Originally Posted by ernoquic View Post
Hello,

Thanks for your replies!
I am navigating on a course on the ST6002 display and not to a waypoint, The pilot has his own power. And it disconnects after 5 or 10 minutes, later i can put it on Auto again for a few minutes till it disengages.
Does it show an error message when it disengages? Something like "DRIVESTOP" or "RUD REF" or "LOW BATT"?

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2012, 10:03   #8
Registered User
 
ernoquic's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: since 2007 cruising
Boat: Lagoon 440 catamaran
Posts: 24
Images: 3
Send a message via Skype™ to ernoquic
Re: Raymarine autopliot disengages after turning off the E120Classic

Hello,

I Put an Photo on this link;
869759 - Cruisers & Sailing Photo Gallery

The autopilot just goes from auto to standby in about 5 or 10 minutes after I shutdown the E120

The GPS is connected to the S3 (non Gyro)coursecomputer to the first seatalk connection together with another seatalk cable wich goes to the ST6002 and other displays.

I have an flexgate compass to conected to the S3 fluxgate port.
The second seatalk connection is to the instruments in the saloon multi display, vhf etc.

Best Regards,

Erno
__________________

__________________
ernoquic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raymarine C-Series Waypoint and Route Import + Export scotte Marine Electronics 42 18-09-2012 21:30



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:03.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.