Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-07-2016, 11:49   #31
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2005
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 3,892
Re: Raymarine Autopilot dropping to standby

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailorboy1 View Post
I think a lot of AP problems are that people don't balance/adjust their sails. It isn't really the AP's fault if it has a hard time holding course when it takes more than 5-10 degrees to do so. If you have a hard time steering you should expect the AP will also.
So maybe when the seas and winds get strong you should pull over and spend the night in a Denny's parking In rough conditions it is tiring and tough to steer a boat even when the sails are balanced. The AP has to be up to the job.
__________________

__________________
Paul L
http://svjeorgia.blogspot.com
Paul L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2016, 13:45   #32
I promise to put my pants on
 
sailorboy1's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: On the boat somewhere
Boat: Hunter 410
Posts: 11,560
Re: Raymarine Autopilot dropping to standby

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul L View Post
So maybe when the seas and winds get strong you should pull over and spend the night in a Denny's parking In rough conditions it is tiring and tough to steer a boat even when the sails are balanced. The AP has to be up to the job.
Ridiculous comment! Maybe you should just learn to balance your sails and maybe your Raymarine AP will steer your boat without tripping! Then again maybe I've got the only RM AP that does works
__________________

__________________
stop typing and go cruising, it will be different than your books
sailorboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2016, 13:55   #33
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2005
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 3,892
Re: Raymarine Autopilot dropping to standby

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailorboy1 View Post
Ridiculous comment! Maybe you should just learn to balance your sails and maybe your Raymarine AP will steer your boat without tripping! Then again maybe I've got the only RM AP that does works
Sailorboy,
I'm trying to learn to balance my sails. So far the longest I've used my AP continuously is 21 days straight. It didn't take any flyers on that passage, but then it's non-Ray. You put a lot of faith in sail balancing. Once you are down to a second reef and a staysail how do you think you will balance your sails so the 3-4m waves don't swing the boat around?
__________________
Paul L
http://svjeorgia.blogspot.com
Paul L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2016, 14:17   #34
I promise to put my pants on
 
sailorboy1's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: On the boat somewhere
Boat: Hunter 410
Posts: 11,560
Re: Raymarine Autopilot dropping to standby

I'm not interested in this word game with you. Others can get get their RM AP to maintain their course, if you couldn't it was you, simple as that!
__________________
stop typing and go cruising, it will be different than your books
sailorboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2016, 14:26   #35
Registered User
 
sy_gilana's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On board
Boat: Van de Stadt 50'
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Skype™ to sy_gilana
Re: Raymarine Autopilot dropping to standby

Now-Now children. No name calling. The AP has done 5 transatlantics with zero problems, and a lot of other sailing in-between. Yes, the sails are balanced, why would they not be? I trim my sails to a state where the wheel can be left alone for a minute or two in calm or say 20 seconds in rough stuff. This AP has worked perfectly well for hours in 70+ knot winds on the beam, for days in following seas in gale conditions. So, I trust it, I just need to find the new little gremlin, that only started when I "Upgraded" the control head to a 6002.
__________________
Tight sheets to ya.
http://gilana.org
sy_gilana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2016, 14:26   #36
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2005
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 3,892
Re: Raymarine Autopilot dropping to standby

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailorboy1 View Post
I'm not interested in this word game with you. Others can get get their RM AP to maintain their course, if you couldn't it was you, simple as that!
Sure some have. Mine would work for days at a time. Just read the number of different people who posted the same problems on this thread alone. It speaks to the design.
__________________
Paul L
http://svjeorgia.blogspot.com
Paul L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2016, 17:33   #37
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Seattle
Boat: Wauquiez Centurion 49
Posts: 700
Images: 13
Re: Raymarine Autopilot dropping to standby

My RM S3G would cut out with no pattern. Then I switched all of the electronics to B&G and now it no longer cuts out. Perhaps it was an issue with the RM RL70C? For clarification, I still have the RM S3G AP and it works better now than when I had the flicker and flash chartplotters . . .
__________________
CAELESTIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2016, 12:58   #38
Registered User
 
Miker1944's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: On our boat
Boat: Robinhood -- 36
Posts: 12
Re: Raymarine Autopilot dropping to standby

My 6002 just started that behavior last winter after 9 years and 40,000 miles of working flawlessly. After review with my Ray Marine guru, we decided to start with the easy stuff first. Checked wiring and connections, no problems found. It was jumping to standby even when we were motoring with plenty of electricity available. My guru said to change the display, that he had found this to be the culprit more often than not. Changed to another display (used), and have not had the problem again in 8 months and about 4,000 miles. Hope this helps. Good Luck.
__________________
Miker1944 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2016, 23:04   #39
Senior Cruiser
 
bstreep's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX/Port Aransas, TX
Boat: 1990 Macintosh 47, "Merlin"
Posts: 2,274
Re: Raymarine Autopilot dropping to standby

I will chime in with a "voltage drop" suggestion as well. Raymarine instruments don't seem to be fond of low voltage. Even with our new ones.


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Bill Streep
San Antonio/Port Aransas, TX
bstreep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2016, 23:37   #40
Registered User
 
hoppy's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Boat: Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 40
Posts: 2,797
Re: Raymarine Autopilot dropping to standby

I thought my problem had gone away, but yesterday my AP switch to standby mode. I heard beeping from my MFD and a window had popped up on it, but before I could see the message the AP had shut down.

In my case it was not power related as I was motoring.

I suspect that there are two potential problems, low power and software glitches, I have the later I think.
__________________
S/Y Jessabbé http://www.jessabbe.com/
hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2016, 07:28   #41
Registered User
 
Snore's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: St Petersburg
Boat: Tartan 33
Posts: 1,699
Re: Raymarine Autopilot dropping to standby

Hoppy you can have low power even with the engine on!

Undersized wiring or corroded connections can reduce the cause resistance that causes voltage drops when there are power demands.

As I originally posted --- I only had issue when the AP was working.

Cheers


Sent from my iPhone- please forgive autocorrect errors.
__________________
"Whenever...it requires a strong moral principle to prevent me from deliberately stepping into the street, and methodically knocking people's hats off- then, I account it high time to get to sea..." Ishmael
Snore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2016, 11:30   #42
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2016
Boat: 44' Antigua/CSY
Posts: 17
Re: Raymarine Autopilot dropping to standby

Hoppy, Turn you autopilot on at anchor and as the boat swings go listen to the linear drive unit as it corrects. If it is making noise the magnets came loose on your motor. This happened to mine and it would trip my breaker and shut down the autopilot. Failure in the Lineare Drive unit will shut down the autopilot. I've also learned from other people that the worm gear in the drive unit can also cause shut down if it's malfunctioning.
__________________

__________________
Wind Shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autopilot, marine, raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raymarine Auto Pilot not releasing in Standby Gord W Marine Electronics 1 14-10-2016 06:21
ST6002+ Autopilot sitches to Standby gabilo Marine Electronics 8 12-06-2013 07:59
Autopilot Standby and Manual Override ? svfinnishline Marine Electronics 5 11-10-2011 07:37
Raynarine Autopilot - Standby Bug FraidNot Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 9 11-10-2010 13:56
Autopilot Dropping Out FraidNot Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 2 29-04-2010 07:30


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:35.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.