Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-06-2012, 15:06   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Catskill NY
Boat: Jeanneau, SunKiss 45
Posts: 3
Raymarine Auto Pilot Issues

Well this is the main reason I have stopped lurking on this forum and actually joined so here goes:

I have a Raymarine Autohelm with a 300 course computer and a ST6000 plus control head.

Through some very stupid actions on my part I managed to damage my control unit. To boil it down I managed to ask it to over load it self and burned up one of the resisters in it. While I have managed to fix the actual burned out parts of the control unit I manged to damage the LCD beyond my repair ability ( I am fine with soldering SMD components but it seems if you manage to scrape the printed traces on the glass I can not repair that )

So here is my question: Can I upgrade my control unit to the new 6002 or do I need to replace the entire course computer also. If I need to replace the course computer I will be changing it out to garmin to better interface with the rest of my systems. But if a 6002 will interface with my course computer I will keep my current system as it is for the most part easily repaired by me.

I know someone is going to pipe in that I should just call Raymarine and belive me I plan on it before I actually purchase a new control unit. And I will update this thread with the info once I get it. But I have read through several posts on these older outdated autohelms with few clear answers. So I hope to add to the general knowledge on the subject.

Thanks for any info.

Phil
__________________

__________________
Flix2032 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2012, 15:37   #2
Registered User
 
jstevens's Avatar

Join Date: May 2006
Location: On board Sarah, currently lying in Jacksonville, FL
Boat: Pearson, 424, 42', Sarah
Posts: 582
Images: 4
Re: Raymarine Auto pilot issues

Phil,
I believe the St6002 will work just fine with your Type 300 computer. I say I believe because I haven't personally implemented that configuration. Basically the ST6000+ and ST6002 are just SeaTalk devices that send AP-specific SeaTalk messages to the Course Computer. It is possible the ST6002 generates some SeaTalk messages that the T300 won't recognize, but I believe you will still have the full functionality of the ST6000+/T300 configuration.
My experience with changes to my Raymarine AP configuration has been:
  1. Started with ST6000+/T300 with ST600R remote in 2003. ST600R in the cockpit, ST6000+ at nav station.
  2. Replaced the T300 with S3 course computer in 2006. I destroyed the T300 with a poor SSB installation.
  3. Added wireless remote controller in 2006. ST600R sent back to Raymarine for repair.
  4. Replaced ST600R with ST6002 in 2012. ST600R starting to fail again - no repair from Raymarine.
All of these changes worked seamlessly in the resultant configuration. From my perspective Autohelm/Ratheon/Raymarine did a good job of implementing a modular system. The components are truly modular and there appear to be few restrictions on how you can plug and play.


But as you say, best to check with Raymarine before committing $$.


BTW there are a lot of used ST6002s for sale on eBay, or at least there were a few months ago.


John
__________________

__________________
jstevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2012, 10:33   #3
Registered User

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Colorado; Sailing Sea of Cortez
Boat: Tartan 33R
Posts: 174
Re: Raymarine Auto pilot issues

Yes, the ST6001 or ST6002 will work with the type 300.
__________________
Capn Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2012, 14:51   #4
Registered User
 
FraidNot's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2009
Boat: Oceanis 411
Posts: 239
Re: Raymarine Auto Pilot Issues

Looks like my 6001 has burnt out.
I have a type 100 computer - I assume that if the 6002 works with the T300 it will also work with the T100???
__________________
FraidNot
FraidNot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2012, 15:06   #5
Registered User

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Colorado; Sailing Sea of Cortez
Boat: Tartan 33R
Posts: 174
Re: Raymarine Auto Pilot Issues

Yes, the 6001, 6002 will work with the type 100 or 300.
__________________
Capn Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 05:00   #6
Registered User
 
Searanger50's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Cruising Italy & Greece
Boat: Moody 36 (1981)
Posts: 77
Images: 5
Re: Raymarine Auto Pilot Issues

hi,
i currently have a Raymarine X5 autopilot on a recently purchased Moody 36 (1981) but this keeps losing its way in rough seas. i am wondering if this unit is powerful enough for the boat as it displaces a little over 12 tons.
__________________
Searanger50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 07:02   #7
Registered User
 
TheOffice's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Annapolis
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 527
The X5 is for boats up to 17,000 pounds or 8.5 tons. I've been thinking of installing one on my C&C 35.
__________________
TheOffice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 08:04   #8
Registered User
 
simonmd's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sant Carles, S Spain
Boat: 30ft Catalac 900 "Rubessa"
Posts: 876
Re: Raymarine Auto Pilot Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Searanger50 View Post
hi,
i currently have a Raymarine X5 autopilot on a recently purchased Moody 36 (1981) but this keeps losing its way in rough seas. i am wondering if this unit is powerful enough for the boat as it displaces a little over 12 tons.
Sounds like you need to adjust its responce settings. Press both the +1 and -1 buttons together and you will be able to change it. For rougher seas. you need to be on a higher number (it goes from 1-9), once youve selected a higher number, press AUTO and it will be saved. This has the result of the AP working harder and making many more course corrections to keep you on track.

However, I must say that an X5 does sound a bit weak for a 12 ton boat. I have an X5 wheelpilot on my 5 ton Cat' and it's little electric drive motor burnt out in 11 months!
__________________
Previous owner of a 1994 Catalac 900, now sadly SOLD
simonmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2012, 14:46   #9
Registered User
 
FraidNot's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2009
Boat: Oceanis 411
Posts: 239
Re: Raymarine Auto Pilot Issues

FYI - New P70 is not compatible with older T100 and T300 computers. They will work, but you can't get into the sea trial menu to do a compass calibration. I went back to 6002.
__________________
FraidNot
FraidNot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2012, 14:52   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Puerta Vallarta, Mexico
Boat: Ocean Alexander tri cabin 52'
Posts: 77
Re: Raymarine Auto Pilot Issues

I have the same auto pilot and it has served me well for two years on my 50 ft motoryacht in all sea conditions. I had no trouble linking it to my Garmin chartplotter through the NMEA connection Any thought ot purchasing a used replacement component, amybe on ebay?
Korbey Hunt - MVDarlin.wordpress.com
__________________
MVDarlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 08:53   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 54
Re: Raymarine Auto Pilot Issues

I'm struggling with similar issues. I replaced my 6001 control head when it failed, and now have installed a 6002. I'm controlling a 300 course computer. But I can't find instructions on how to go through the dockside and on the water calibrations, in either of the manuals. Help?
Thansk
__________________
briblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 09:10   #12
Registered User

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Colorado; Sailing Sea of Cortez
Boat: Tartan 33R
Posts: 174
Re: Raymarine Auto Pilot Issues

Raymarine Retired Autopilot Manuals


2nd one down
__________________
Capn Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 09:19   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 54
Re: Raymarine Auto Pilot Issues

Sorry, still struggling. Which one addresses a 6002 with a non-smart (300) course computer, for calibration dockside and on the water? The manual for the 100/300 course computer talks about how to do it with a ST6000 or ST7000 control head, but not for a 6002. The key combinations they give, and the screens they show, are different than what I'm seeing
Thanks
Brian
__________________
briblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 09:53   #14
Registered User

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Colorado; Sailing Sea of Cortez
Boat: Tartan 33R
Posts: 174
Re: Raymarine Auto Pilot Issues

If you had a 6001, the procedure will be about the same for the 6002. You are mixing ages of parts so there will be differences in the 300 manual.
__________________
Capn Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 10:36   #15
Senior Cruiser
 
atoll's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: gettin naughty on the beach in cornwall
Boat: 63 custom alloy sloop,macwester26,prout snowgoose 37 elite catamaran!
Posts: 9,311
Images: 75
Re: Raymarine Auto Pilot Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by briblack View Post
Sorry, still struggling. Which one addresses a 6002 with a non-smart (300) course computer, for calibration dockside and on the water? The manual for the 100/300 course computer talks about how to do it with a ST6000 or ST7000 control head, but not for a 6002. The key combinations they give, and the screens they show, are different than what I'm seeing
Thanks
Brian
not sure if the st 6002 will work with the type 300 coarse computer.

I was told only ST 6000+ and ST6001 ,or earlier would work.
__________________

__________________
my catamaran building project updates http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...36#post2502136
atoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:45.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.