Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-06-2018, 11:21   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Allentown, PA
Boat: Hunter 46
Posts: 6
Raymarine AIS650 to C120

I know there have been a number of threads on this issue and I've searched through them. I have two issues I can't figure out yet.

I understand that I need to connect to the C120 using NMEA0183. Do I connect it directly to the C120 and if so, mine has fasteners that I've never seen before and not sure where I get a tool to undo them. I also have a Raymarine Smartpilot controller back near the Navstation. I know the C120 is getting info from the autopilot and not sure if I connect the AIS650 to that or to the C120 at the helm.

The other issue I'm having is that the AIS650 starts amber and then goes to green when it acquires a gps signal. So far so good. But not long afterwards it changes to red. The installation manual says it's either the MMSI number wasn't configured correctly (I can check that next time I'm at the boat. I didn't have a USB cable to connect to my laptop.) or I need to make sure the VHF antennae is not short-circuiting to the vessel structure. No idea on how I would check that.

Any assistance would be appreciated. The first mate is going to throw me overboard if I don't get the cabin back together again.
whynot929 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2018, 19:57   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,404
Re: Raymarine AIS650 to C120

if you didn't have an MMSI. it likely would never go green and always stay amber.

probably an antenna issue. when you connect your laptop it will give you a vswr error if the antenna or wire is bad.

you need to connect to the back of the c120. you need to have the nmea183 pigtail. if you are lucky it is pluged in, and not being used. you may not have it, or it may already be used to send gps to your VHF.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, marine, raymarine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Raymarine AIS650 Transceiver + AIS100 Splitter HappyDivers General Classifieds (no boats) 7 19-11-2017 03:01
Mac port missing for AIS650 hoppy OpenCPN 19 23-02-2017 04:22
Raymarine AIS650 - Change MMSI number... AFKASAP Marine Electronics 12 05-06-2016 01:25
Raymarine C120 at Helm and Nav Station thomaswaier Marine Electronics 4 10-10-2009 18:16
Raymarine C120 Question Inkwell Navigation 4 22-04-2008 15:00



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:33.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.