Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-04-2010, 07:02   #1
Registered User
 
surfmachine's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cruising the West coast of Sumatra and the offshore islands, surfing!!
Boat: Feltz Skorpion mark 11A, Aluminium 39' sloop, constructed Hamburg. http://photobucket.com/eloise_01
Posts: 674
Images: 9
Send a message via Skype™ to surfmachine
Raymarine A50 Won't Send Data to SeaTalk

Hi, I have a raymarine A50 chart plotter hooked up to a t6002 pilot controller and an smartpilot X-5 course computer, via the nmea in and out ports, the whole system is linked via seatalk to st40 wind/speed/depth.
Problem is, the a50 chart plotter does not send speed and log info to the system, thats why I hooked the speed st40 into it.
Nor does it show it is connected to the autopilt.
Everyhting else works great, gotos, routes etc, its all fine.
Is this usual that the A50 does this? Any advice p[lease?
Keith.
__________________

__________________
Keith, "But I was born very young and grew up knowing little of the world!" http://surfmachine-surfmachine.blogspot.com.au/
surfmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2010, 11:11   #2
tzt
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
The A50 doesn't take SeaTalk, only NG, there must be a converter box turning that seatalk into NMEA0183. When you say it's not sending the info to the system, I'm assumiing you mean from the A50 display to the ST6002 control head. You also mention that the display does not show it is connected to the pilot. There is an option in the A50 menu to turn on pilot communication under, external interfaces...I think.

Maybe this will cure your problem, though being able to goto - it sounds as if that option is already on - easy check is the pilot icon, if communication is enable it should not have an X through it.

It is possible, if you are looking for this data on a user page on the ST6002, that the A50 is not bridging the data and sending it back out onto the buss. I'm not able to answer that one. You might try doubling up - take the ST40 NMEA and break it out to the A50 and the SPX5 from one source (converter box).

Hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
tzt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2010, 11:29   #3
Registered User
 
surfmachine's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cruising the West coast of Sumatra and the offshore islands, surfing!!
Boat: Feltz Skorpion mark 11A, Aluminium 39' sloop, constructed Hamburg. http://photobucket.com/eloise_01
Posts: 674
Images: 9
Send a message via Skype™ to surfmachine
Ahoy tzt, thanks for your reply. Yes, the autopilt option is enabled as is the bridge in the external interfaces menu, still a X through the autopilot! Although it is doing everything it should regards providing routes, waypoints and gotos to the system. I have tried th NG cable directly to the st6002, nothing works then.
The spx5 is converter box, thats why I havent got the T piece seatalk connectors, I was just puzzled why the autopilot had a X through it.
Another problem is that the st40 depth guage fails at around 5 metres, just slowly counts down to .5 metre, always when its getting shallow and the motor is idling! Works for days at 20 to 70 metres. Restart it and sometimes it works ok, no loose wires, could it be a power drop?
Cheers from Keith, now anchored at Kuah, Langkawi.
__________________
Keith, "But I was born very young and grew up knowing little of the world!" http://surfmachine-surfmachine.blogspot.com.au/
surfmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2011, 01:03   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Re: Raymarine A50 Won't Send Data to SeaTalk

Hi there, I'm experiencing the exact same issue as surfmachine. My A50 is also connected to an X-5 via 4800 NMEA and pilot control is working. However there is an 'X' across the 'Pilot' icon which I cannot seem to remove.

Can anyone throw light on what may be amiss here?
__________________
dweston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2012, 18:00   #5
Registered User
 
surfmachine's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cruising the West coast of Sumatra and the offshore islands, surfing!!
Boat: Feltz Skorpion mark 11A, Aluminium 39' sloop, constructed Hamburg. http://photobucket.com/eloise_01
Posts: 674
Images: 9
Send a message via Skype™ to surfmachine
Re: Raymarine A50 Won't Send Data to SeaTalk

DWeston...You have to connect them with seatalk NG cables to get that part of it to work?
Keith.
__________________
Keith, "But I was born very young and grew up knowing little of the world!" http://surfmachine-surfmachine.blogspot.com.au/
surfmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2012, 18:23   #6
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
I don't think you get autopilot integration over NMEA interfaces. I taught you had to use seatalkng ( NMEA 2000)

Dave
__________________

__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chartplotter, raymarine, seatalk

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raymarine A50 Hampus Marine Electronics 5 10-05-2011 18:50
Send Me Your Owners Manuals! Christian Van H Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 3 15-02-2010 09:36
Alternative to Raymarine ST40 Bi-Data System davisr Marine Electronics 1 25-12-2009 12:49
Send a PM to a Social Group? Ocean Girl Forum Tech Support & Site Help 6 13-10-2009 04:21
Raymarine E120 Display/SeaTalk for sale PS37 Classifieds Archive 1 16-03-2009 14:40



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:05.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.