Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-09-2018, 22:49   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 4
Ray Marine I50/I60 with ST60 Wind / Autopilot

Hi there,

I have I50/I60 speed/depth/wind from old boat.

New boat has ST60 wind/autohelm.

Can I replace ST60 with I60? Do I need to change ST60 transducer to I60 transducer?

Will this work with ST60 autohelm?

Also is it possible to sail relative wind angle with autohelm?

Thanks just getting going on thos project!

Andy
__________________

APWTryfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2018, 00:45   #2
rom
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Boat: Lagoon 440
Posts: 558
Re: Ray Marine I50/I60 with ST60 Wind / Autopilot

Hi, did you check the I60 user manual ? They usually say which transducer and other equipments are compatible.
__________________

rom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2018, 00:59   #3
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Neptune's Gear's Avatar

Community Sponsor

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Gulf Harbour, New Zealand
Boat: Farr Phase 4, 12.8m
Posts: 1,076
Re: Ray Marine I50/I60 with ST60 Wind / Autopilot

Nope, the two systems use a different data bus. The old ST units use Seatalk 1 (sometimes called classic) which is NMEA0183 with some mods for power, and the I series use Seatalk NG which is NMEA 2000 with some non standard features.
If you wish to change the instruments, you can by a Sealtalk 1 to Seatalk NG kit, part number E22158, to bridge the systems.
__________________
Matt Paulin
Neptunes Gear Ltd
www.neptunes-gear.com
Neptune's Gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2018, 02:33   #4
rom
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Boat: Lagoon 440
Posts: 558
Re: Ray Marine I50/I60 with ST60 Wind / Autopilot

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neptune's Gear View Post
Nope, the two systems use a different data bus. The old ST units use Seatalk 1 (sometimes called classic) which is NMEA0183 with some mods for power, and the I series use Seatalk NG which is NMEA 2000 with some non standard features.
If you wish to change the instruments, you can by a Sealtalk 1 to Seatalk NG kit, part number E22158, to bridge the systems.

I could be wrong but I believe both I60 & ST60 have direct transducer connection on the back, so most probably the transducer is compatible. True however that I60 is STNG and requires a STNG network to work with. The ST/STNG converter is about 130 EUR, so the upgrade may makes sense. I quite like/trust the ST60 (wind) though and don't think I would bother upgrading to I60.
rom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2018, 02:37   #5
rom
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Boat: Lagoon 440
Posts: 558
Re: Ray Marine I50/I60 with ST60 Wind / Autopilot

Quote:
Originally Posted by APWTryfan View Post
Also is it possible to sail relative wind angle with autohelm?

There again the manual will answer that question, Raymarine docs are pretty good and worth having a look at if you don't know the capabilities of your instruments.


If you're in a hurry just press "standby" and "auto" simultaneously, that's how raymarine AP switch to wind vane mode.
rom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2018, 15:32   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Genoa
Boat: Jeanneau 49DS
Posts: 131
Re: Ray Marine I50/I60 with ST60 Wind / Autopilot

I had a close look at the i60 wind unit at the Genova Boat Show. Apart from the colour and the outer casing it looks to me exactly the same as the ST60 one. However, I think that if you want to use the analogue sensors you will need to buy an iTC-5 convertor. Also, the Raymarine docs make clear that you need the i70s master unit to calibrate the sensors.

The question then, and one I am facing as I struggle with the best way to update my Raymarine system, is whether one needs the i60 at all. The wind data shows graphically on the i70s.


The other question, and one a posed a while ago but no real response to, is how one can retain the Course Control Unit 400 which comes with the S6002 autopilot controller whilst changing to the P70 control head. Then linking all that to the NMEA 2000 bus.
Alita49DS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2018, 06:08   #7
rom
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Boat: Lagoon 440
Posts: 558
Re: Ray Marine I50/I60 with ST60 Wind / Autopilot

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alita49DS View Post
I had a close look at the i60 wind

Did you care to look at the back ? A quick google image search shows analog connections, pretty much like the st60. So no need for iTC-5/i70 it seems.
rom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2018, 06:56   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Genoa
Boat: Jeanneau 49DS
Posts: 131
Re: Ray Marine I50/I60 with ST60 Wind / Autopilot

This is the Raymarine schematic

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AqLwtI1czSAllMEkrzzUMWUNHoHB_A

Note the note about calibration.

For my part, I cannot see why one would now want to buy what are only slightly rejigged ST60 instruments when the i70s does the lot in one head. If you have two wheels then one can have one on either side of the boat.
Alita49DS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2018, 09:49   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego
Boat: Catalina 34 Mk II
Posts: 5
Re: Ray Marine I50/I60 with ST60 Wind / Autopilot

Andy
A little confused by your question. What’s an ST60 autohelm? ST6000 autopilot? Do you currently have an i50 tridata (speed, depth, temp) or separate i50 depth and speed instruments.

Regardless, the i60 wind works fine with the ST60 transducer, and the i50’s will work with your ST50 speed and depth transducers. The power and networking are separate issues, but be aware that the i60 is a bit of an odd duck in that it “speaks” both Seatalk and SeatalkNG. Interfacing to your 6000 might be easier than you think.

A better place for this (and future) questions might be the Raymarine tech forum, forum.raymarine.com.
mlaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2018, 13:42   #10
Registered User
 
Capt.Don's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Altadena, CA
Boat: Tartan 3500
Posts: 702
Images: 1
Re: Ray Marine I50/I60 with ST60 Wind / Autopilot

I'm in the process of upgrading an old SeaTalk 1 network (ST60's) to combined SeaTalk 1 (old RL70C, ST60 Wind and ST60 Depth) and SeaTalk NG (new P70 and i70s). This was driven by replacing the old ST5000+ autopilot to ACU-200. You are correct that the i70s shows all the data, so you might think you only need one or two displays. I've decided that I want depth to be always visible, so not a candidate display for a page on the i70s. I could probably eliminate the ST60 wind, but it is one of the more important displays.

Although, not too complicated, your upgrade is going to take some careful planning. Plan on needing lots of the Raymarine SeaTalk NG backbone (blue) spur (white) cable(s), 5-way port or tee, the SeaTalk NG to SeaTalk 1 converter, two SeaTalk NG terminators, and possibly a NMEA 2000 to SeaTalk NG cable (if you have NMEA 2000).

Study the Raymaine SeaTalk NG diagram -- everything is shown.

As mentioned, the ITC-5 will put all your transponders on the SeaTalk NG network --or-- you could find the older SeaTalk "Pods" for wind, speed and depth. I plan on replacing the speed pod with an ITC-5 when I have the time.

Last weekend we tested the autopilot and instruments. Very very nice -- I'm happy with the upgrade. However, on the i70s, there's so much information displayed -- I now want to simplify the page display (speed, AIS, date/time, temperature -- I don't need wind, compass,.....and all the fancy multifunction displays). You can add/remove pages, and customize the display -- there are 100's of page display options. I want to keep it simple.

Still working out a few issues with NMEA 2000 and SeaTalk 1 (via SeaTalk NG). Overall all the old SeaTalk 1 data bridges between the SeaTalk NG and NMEA 2000 networks -- it just works!

Good luck
Don

Don
Capt.Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2018, 18:45   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 4
Re: Ray Marine I50/I60 with ST60 Wind / Autopilot

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlaver View Post
Andy
A little confused by your question. What’s an ST60 autohelm? ST6000 autopilot? Do you currently have an i50 tridata (speed, depth, temp) or separate i50 depth and speed instruments.

Regardless, the i60 wind works fine with the ST60 transducer, and the i50’s will work with your ST50 speed and depth transducers. The power and networking are separate issues, but be aware that the i60 is a bit of an odd duck in that it “speaks” both Seatalk and SeatalkNG. Interfacing to your 6000 might be easier than you think.

A better place for this (and future) questions might be the Raymarine tech forum, forum.raymarine.com.
Hi there thanks for the reply the Autohelm is ST4000. It is all new to me and all the responses in this thread ate very helpful!
__________________

APWTryfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autopilot, marine, wind

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading from ST60 to I50/i60 wind, depth, speed only - DIY or pay someone? jpeac2 Marine Electronics 10 19-07-2018 08:43
ST60 or i60 with rotavecta at mast head? danstanford Marine Electronics 9 10-10-2016 09:46
Want To Buy: ST60 Wind Display/ST60 Close Haul Wind Display navyguy2837 Classifieds Archive 9 24-05-2016 04:18
Replacing Autohelm with Raymarine i60/i50 Svalan Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 0 01-02-2016 10:29
Will Ray i60 wind display talk to older ST50? Jon Hacking Marine Electronics 11 20-01-2016 14:58



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:48.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.