Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-10-2014, 05:56   #1

Boat: Rafiki 37
Radar - what to look for

I've never used radar before, but am planning to install one before we head down the St. Lawrence River next So I ask you:
  • What features are important to those of you who use radar?
  • What technical specs should I key into?
  • What features should I ignore?
  • Are there some brands that are more (or less) reliable?
At this point my main priorities are:
  • Quality/reliability.
  • Good short and medium range effectiveness.
  • Low(ish) power consumption.
  • Ease of use.
  • Cost.
Some of the features which I think are important (but I might be wrong):
  • Chart overlay.
  • Remote mirroring via wifi or bluetooth.
  • Multi-speed RPM.
  • Colour.
  • Auto-tracking.
Obviously I'll be doing a lot of research on the various systems. There seems to be a lot of brand-specific verbiage (Broadband, HD, 3G, 4G xHD, digital...). Would appreciate the real-life experience from those of you who use radar, and especially from those who have recently purchased new systems (or are planning to).
Old 26-10-2014, 07:08   #2

Boat: Beneteau FIRST 42
Re: Radar - what to look for

Hey Mike,
We use ours for two basic features, the first being as an alarm for either ships entering our area of travel, or squalls. and second as a double check in overlay when entering a port or anchorages.
In overlay mode, its also easier to tune for direction of the radar to boat direction and when overlaying the radar on the chart, you are sure the chart is what and where it is soposed to be..
Not so much anymore but at one time, many charts were off from a few feet to a few miles, the overlay is just a good way to "second check" the chart...