Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-05-2014, 13:31   #1
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,741
Radar Overlay Problem

I have a weird problem with the radar overlay on my new system (2x Zeus plotters and 4G radar). It started to occur after I updated the software on the plotters and radar.

What happens is this -- the radar displays perfectly on the radar screen. The bearing line is perfectly aligned with the bow of the boat. Radar blobs correspond exactly with AIS symbols. Only . . . the heading shown on the compass ring in the radar screen is wrong -- 18 degrees off, consistently.

On the chart screen, the radar picture is skewed by the same 18 degrees.

I tried changing the "adjust bearing alignment" in the "installation" setup menu, and I could in that way get the radar picture to line up, but then the radar screen is off.

When I open "radar status", I see that there is a line for "heading on radar", where it says "yes, mag: 345 degrees mag". This is the false heading -- the real heading, according to my heading sensor and also according to my regular steering compass, is 18 degrees different from that.

It also says "Heading on network: valid", and "error codes -- none", and "radar overlay status -- ok".

Why would the radar have its own heading, and why would it be so far off the heading on the sensor? Does the radar have its own heading sensor? I don't think so, and I can't find any place to set it up anywhere.

Anyone have any clue? Seems really weird to me.
__________________

__________________
Dockhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2014, 14:24   #2
Registered User
 
zboss's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: On a boat
Boat: Cabo Rico 38
Posts: 3,426
Re: Radar Overlay Problem

Occasionally, I have an same issue but with Garmin equipment. I found that I solved it by going through the autopilot setup, which basically has you driving around in circles until all the systems can recalibrate.
__________________

__________________
zboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2014, 18:19   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,698
Re: Radar Overlay Problem

sounds like you have a mag vs true heading issue. set everything to the same

set the radar bearing offset using the radar only. heading doesn't effect this. sounds like you had it right.

if the land aligns with the radar picture then everything is good. if it is not aligning then your heading is wrong.

if just the vaule is wrong. it's probably showing true vs mag. I dont' know what it is over there. but here it's about 19 degrees difference (different everywhere in the world)
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2014, 04:32   #4
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,741
Re: Radar Overlay Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
sounds like you have a mag vs true heading issue. set everything to the same

set the radar bearing offset using the radar only. heading doesn't effect this. sounds like you had it right.

if the land aligns with the radar picture then everything is good. if it is not aligning then your heading is wrong.

if just the vaule is wrong. it's probably showing true vs mag. I dont' know what it is over there. but here it's about 19 degrees difference (different everywhere in the world)
Variation is less than 2 degrees here, so that can't account for it.

Everything in my system is set to magnetic.

Anyone else have any ideas?
__________________
Dockhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2014, 04:47   #5
Registered User
 
typhoon's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto Canada
Boat: Bristol 45.5
Posts: 945
Images: 1
Re: Radar Overlay Problem

If it was good with the last software , maybe you could go back to it . My Simrad NSS 7 came with the latest software , I wonder if it will have the same issue when I install 3G .

Have you sent Navico the question?

Regards
__________________
typhoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2014, 05:56   #6
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,741
Re: Radar Overlay Problem

Some more clues:

When the new software installed, I somehow got two radars: Broadband 4G - 2901 A and Broadband 4G - 2901 B. I can't see how to remove one of them. I can choose either one in the Installation menu, and they both work the same. (Of course there is only one physical radar).

I have tried "Reset device ID" but this does nothing; also "Reset radar to factory defaults."



Yes, I've sent this info to Navico; waiting for their response. I thought maybe someone else had run into this.

Another clue: When the radar power is off, the correct heading is shown on the (empty) radar screen. It flips over to the wrong heading when the radar starts transmitting.
__________________
Dockhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2014, 05:57   #7
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Out there doin' it
Boat: 47' Olympic Adventure
Posts: 2,634
Re: Radar Overlay Problem

Are you certain the radar antenna is aligned correctly?
__________________
Lodesman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2014, 06:08   #8
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,741
Re: Radar Overlay Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lodesman View Post
Are you certain the radar antenna is aligned correctly?
Yes.

And I use the radar screen always in "Heading Up" mode, and the heading line corresponds to what is directly in front of the boat, even though the numbers on the heading ring are wrong.

The numbers on the heading ring are right, as long as the radar is not transmitting.
__________________
Dockhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2014, 08:06   #9
Registered User
 
typhoon's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto Canada
Boat: Bristol 45.5
Posts: 945
Images: 1
Re: Radar Overlay Problem

So, it was all fine with the old software? If it was then it is a software issue for sure . What version did you install , I haven't been on the Simrad site in a while but I will check my version that I have installed . Did you try reloading it . Also, this wasn't a Beta version was it ?

Regards
__________________
typhoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2014, 08:15   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Homeport: Oswego, NY
Boat: 1993 Sabre 362 #113
Posts: 351
Re: Radar Overlay Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
Yes.

And I use the radar screen always in "Heading Up" mode, and the heading line corresponds to what is directly in front of the boat, even though the numbers on the heading ring are wrong.

The numbers on the heading ring are right, as long as the radar is not transmitting.
It sounds like something is interfering with the fluxgate compass. Are any of the wires for the radar near the compass? Any part of the radar located near the fluxgate compass?

Is the 18 degree error consistent across all boat headings?
__________________
Dave Lochner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2014, 17:16   #11
Registered User
 
typhoon's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto Canada
Boat: Bristol 45.5
Posts: 945
Images: 1
Re: Radar Overlay Problem

Dockhead , did you get her fixed up ??


Regards
__________________
typhoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2014, 05:36   #12
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,741
Re: Radar Overlay Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by typhoon View Post
Dockhead , did you get her fixed up ??


Regards
No indeed

First advice from Navico tech support was to do a master reset to both Zeuses. Other than losing all my setup and settings, this did nothing. Waiting for the next suggestions from Navico. I'll post a follow up as this thing progresses.
__________________
Dockhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2014, 05:56   #13
Senior Cruiser
 
tartansail's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tiverton, RI, USA
Boat: ex-Tartan 40
Posts: 614
Images: 1
Re: Radar Overlay Problem

Are you also using a Navico AP or do you use a different one with its own fluxgate compass? I still have my Raymarine AP. When I was getting the Zeus set up, the tech mentioned that some of the Zeus functions will read heading off the Ray compass. If I saw strange headings, I should look there. Unfortunately, I wasn't paying close attention since I was working on something else and the headings were aligned. However, if you've got more than one compass on the network, you might look into that possibility.
__________________
- David
S/V Sapphire Tartan 40 #71

tartansail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2014, 06:50   #14
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,741
Re: Radar Overlay Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by tartansail View Post
Are you also using a Navico AP or do you use a different one with its own fluxgate compass? I still have my Raymarine AP. When I was getting the Zeus set up, the tech mentioned that some of the Zeus functions will read heading off the Ray compass. If I saw strange headings, I should look there. Unfortunately, I wasn't paying close attention since I was working on something else and the headings were aligned. However, if you've got more than one compass on the network, you might look into that possibility.
That's a good idea!!! The problem started when I updated the software in the two Zeuses and the radar. However! I also installed a new Simrad GPS/heading sensor at the same time!!! The heading sensor in the Simrad GPS is not used and has not been set up, but possibly the radar is grabbing that data for some reason. Great idea!!!

What I'll do is just disconnect it and use a different source for position (built in GPS in the Zeus). I'll post the results. Ha, thanks!
__________________
Dockhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2014, 10:05   #15
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,741
Quote:
Originally Posted by tartansail View Post
Are you also using a Navico AP or do you use a different one with its own fluxgate compass? I still have my Raymarine AP. When I was getting the Zeus set up, the tech mentioned that some of the Zeus functions will read heading off the Ray compass. If I saw strange headings, I should look there. Unfortunately, I wasn't paying close attention since I was working on something else and the headings were aligned. However, if you've got more than one compass on the network, you might look into that possibility.
I owe you a beer!!!

Disconnected the GS25 and the problem disappeared! The radar was grabbing heading data from the GS25 (heading sensor is unused and therefore uncalibrated). Contrary to the network configuration.

I have written to Navico tech support to ask why.

Hope this helps someone else with a similar problem.
__________________

__________________
"Parce que je suis heureux en mer, et peut-Ítre pour sauver mon ame. . . "
Dockhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
radar

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN Radar Overlay PlugIn bdbcat OpenCPN 789 02-12-2017 04:23
Best GPS-Radar-Sonar overlay display Wolfhound Navigation 17 01-10-2013 14:14
Can You Get Radar & AIS Overlay on Laptop ? AIS Transceiver Recommendations ? lunasea.ds Marine Electronics 22 27-12-2010 14:06
Radar / Chartplotter - Overlay vs Parallel truant Navigation 7 23-08-2010 21:49
Newbie Impressions of Radar Overlay (Raymarine c80) Northeaster Marine Electronics 0 06-07-2009 07:06



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:58.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.