Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-04-2015, 18:08   #16
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Virgin Islands
Boat: 1999 Leopard 45, 45 foot cat, 1980 Hunter 33, 33 foot monohull
Posts: 405
Re: Radar dome compatibility? NEW technology from OLD, Any Experiences / Advice?

Those JRC radars worked very well. In fact, my 2004 generation of Raymarine was not as good as my 1991 generation Apelco, part of what used to be Raymarine, but made by JRC.
__________________

__________________
contrail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2015, 19:20   #17
Senior Cruiser
 
Sailmonkey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Posts: 5,773
Re: Radar dome compatibility? NEW technology from OLD, Any Experiences / Advice?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zooplax View Post
Hello


If I kept my old Radar do you think it may interface from the old to the new? using the NMEA 0183 input/output on the rear of the device?.. or do you think that will just be for information on the actual radar?, GPS Location etc..

Thanks for any further info in advance, all new to chart plotter cabling and was trying to take all the equipment with me when I'm next out at the boat... but starting to believe It may not work out like that!! ha ha..
Think of this old radar as a consumer of data. The NEMA 0183 interface will allow you to feed a waypoint into it, a speed into it, a compas heading into it. Maybe even as much as send a waypoint out of it to a chartplotter, but there is no way that the radar image will be sent out of it. Think of it this way.....way back when we were using dial up modems for internet, we had a 9600bps comm rates. This is roughly equivalent to 0183 data transmission. Loading a picture took forever. Your radar draws a fresh picture every time the scanner turns, so you'd never see any part of the picture on the other device.
__________________

__________________
Sailmonkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2015, 20:38   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Cruising the Gulf of Mexico.
Boat: 1980 Morgan 415
Posts: 1,439
Re: Radar dome compatibility? NEW technology from OLD, Any Experiences / Advice?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailmonkey View Post
Think of this old radar as a consumer of data. The NEMA 0183 interface will allow you to feed a waypoint into it, a speed into it, a compas heading into it. Maybe even as much as send a waypoint out of it to a chartplotter, but there is no way that the radar image will be sent out of it. Think of it this way.....way back when we were using dial up modems for internet, we had a 9600bps comm rates. This is roughly equivalent to 0183 data transmission. Loading a picture took forever. Your radar draws a fresh picture every time the scanner turns, so you'd never see any part of the picture on the other device.

I ran 2400 until I sprang for the USR HST.


------------------------------
Looking for another pretty place to work on the boat.
__________________
Working on spending my children's inheritance.
Cap Erict3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2015, 06:06   #19
Senior Cruiser
 
Sailmonkey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Posts: 5,773
Re: Radar dome compatibility? NEW technology from OLD, Any Experiences / Advice?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cap Erict3 View Post
I ran 2400 until I sprang for the USR HST.


------------------------------
Looking for another pretty place to work on the boat.

And here I thought I had reached the pinnacle with a Commodore 64 and 14.4kbps modem.........alas it was not hst.


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Sailmonkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2015, 06:53   #20
Registered User
 
ka4wja's Avatar

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 2,033
Re: Radar dome compatibility? NEW technology from OLD, Any Experiences / Advice?

zooplax,
Yes, you can send NMEA0183 data from your on-board electronics (Raymarine or otherwise) into the JRC 1500....and it should display this info (position, speed, etc...)
{Or if there is some NMEA0183 data that the JRC 1500 has (I doubt it, but it might have something), you can send it to your Raymarine e7...}

I did not mean to imply otherwise!!!

But, what I did mean was that you cannot use the JRC 1500 scanner ("dome") with the Raymarine e7 display.....nor vice versa, you could not use the JRC 1500 display with a new Raymarine "digital" radar scanner ("dome")....
This is what I meant by the radar dome NOT being compatible...
And also, you cannot send the "radar image" from the JRC 1500 to the e7....that is NOT possible to do via NMEA0183....


As others have pointed out, you can just leave the JRC 1500 in place and hope it continues to work....or you can bite-the-bullet, and buy a new Raymarine radar scanner....
Or, depending on where you are sailing, you can do without radar...(in Caribbean, etc. radar is not needed....)


I hope this helps..

Fair winds...

John
__________________

__________________
John, KA4WJA
s/v Annie Laurie, WDB6927
MMSI# 366933110
ka4wja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enc, radar

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: JRC 24-mile RADAR - Display + Dome - JRC RADAR 2000 synchronicity98 Classifieds Archive 5 12-09-2012 07:15
Radar Dome and Computer Connections - What Works ? H/V Vega Marine Electronics 1 30-10-2011 04:17
For Sale: Raytheon RL9 Radar with Dome rnjpinz Classifieds Archive 7 20-09-2011 08:00
For Sale: Raytheon (Raymarine) RL70 Chartplotter and 2kw Radar Dome funjohnson Classifieds Archive 1 04-07-2011 19:29
Radar Dome Removal from Mast rnjpinz Construction, Maintenance & Refit 2 12-07-2010 13:58



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:17.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.