Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-06-2014, 16:06   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Finland
Boat: Van De Stadt zeebonk 29ft
Posts: 6
Images: 1
Problem with Nexus NX WSI-box

Hi,

I bought my boat 3 months ago, it has a Nexus wsi box and triducer installed. Today I bought the display for the system and I started to connect the components together and thought that this should be easy.. but I was wrong...

When I connect the wsi box to the battery the voltage drops from 12v to approx. 5v, what might be the problem?

I tried to search from web, but it seems like no one has had problems with Nexus NX series...



Best regards jani
__________________

__________________
jani74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2014, 23:02   #2
Registered User
 
Reefmagnet's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: puɐןsuǝǝnb 'ʎɐʞɔɐɯ
Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Posts: 2,735
Check your battery and connections are ok. If the wsi unit was dropping the voltage that much with a good battery and connection, i'd expect to see the magic smoke coming out.
__________________

__________________
Reefmagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 03:31   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Finland
Boat: Van De Stadt zeebonk 29ft
Posts: 6
Images: 1
Re: Problem with Nexus NX WSI-box

Hi,

Thanks for Your advice.

I replaced the battery, and the connections.. But nothing..

Wrote an email to product support, but due to the fact that I live in Finland the email was rejected and I was adviced to contact local dealer.. I was at local dealer website and from that page I sent the email.

But the search for the problem continues.

-jani

Ps. there might be typos in my text, havenīt been writing this kind of text in english for a while.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefmagnet View Post
Check your battery and connections are ok. If the wsi unit was dropping the voltage that much with a good battery and connection, i'd expect to see the magic smoke coming out.
__________________
jani74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 09:15   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Finland
Boat: Van De Stadt zeebonk 29ft
Posts: 6
Images: 1
Re: Problem with Nexus NX WSI-box

There are couple of pictures in my gallery of the components. The sea data set package is the one that has been in the boat when I bought it, I think it has included the sea data instrument+wsi+triducer.

-jani
__________________
jani74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 16:54   #5
Registered User
 
Reefmagnet's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: puɐןsuǝǝnb 'ʎɐʞɔɐɯ
Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Posts: 2,735
I had the same unit I installed new in my previous boat with 0 issues and there is no way it could load up a battery that much without doing serious and obvious damage. These are low power drawing devices. If your battery and connections are ok double check that you have wired it to the transducers and displays correctly. I'd also especially check the point where the small crimp terminals are connected to the wiring at the wsi terminal strip. If these weren't done properly it's possible you'd get the reading you are getting.
__________________
Reefmagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 09:38   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Finland
Boat: Van De Stadt zeebonk 29ft
Posts: 6
Images: 1
Re: Problem with Nexus NX WSI-box

It's alive... there was a faulty switch/fuse pack that was causing this problem... took 'em off and just put a new fuse and it started working fine.

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
jani74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 17:25   #7
Registered User
 
Reefmagnet's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: puɐןsuǝǝnb 'ʎɐʞɔɐɯ
Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Posts: 2,735
Good stuff!
__________________
Reefmagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 08:58   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Finland
Boat: Van De Stadt zeebonk 29ft
Posts: 6
Images: 1
Re: Problem with Nexus NX WSI-box

Has anyone got any ideas what might be causing the errors on the depth value. At some points it shows the correct depth, but sometimes it shows something unbelievable deep values, and most of the time it shows just ------ .

Best regards
Jani
__________________
jani74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 16:54   #9
Registered User
 
Reefmagnet's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: puɐןsuǝǝnb 'ʎɐʞɔɐɯ
Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Posts: 2,735
Re: Problem with Nexus NX WSI-box

Quote:
Originally Posted by jani74 View Post
Has anyone got any ideas what might be causing the errors on the depth value. At some points it shows the correct depth, but sometimes it shows something unbelievable deep values, and most of the time it shows just ------ .

Best regards
Jani
The "----" reading occurs at water depths greater than 100 m (from memory) so the "----" display and incorrect deep depth display are essentially the same thing possibly indicating that the transducer is either not sending / receiving a good signal or there is a disruption to this signal along the circuit to the wsi unit.

Another remote possibility could be location of the transducer. I had the system that uses the 2 x 42mm through hulls and had a very strange problem with mine related to the speed log in that it absolutely refused to work in one through hull and would only work when swapped to the other. The depth sounder happily worked in either. I can only assume it was turbulence causing the problem (and, yes, the paddle wheel was orientated correctly in both locations!). Perhaps there is something affecting your depth transducer at it's mounting? This is easy enough to test by hanging the transducer over the side if length of lead permits or even just shooting through the hull in a nearby location if possible with your boat.
__________________

__________________
Reefmagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stuffing box. Hot box. Free as a Bird Propellers & Drive Systems 8 05-08-2013 03:33
Stuffing box or re-stuffing the box / dripless Dave in Eugene General Sailing Forum 10 28-12-2007 16:45



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:04.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.