Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-08-2010, 15:51   #1
Registered User
 
J Clark H356's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Grand Rivers, KY
Boat: Hunter 2003 356 - Persistence
Posts: 505
Problem with Icom Ram Mic - Considering Change

My ram mic needs replacing and I am considering changing the entire radio and replacing my navstation mounted Icom M402 with a Standard Horizon GX2100 with AIS with a remote ram. I currently have a helm mounted Icom Commandmic. Will I have to repull a new cable to my existing Icom H-127 ram mic or will the existing cable work with the Standard Horizon unit and fully display the AIS at the helm?

Can I also get this AIS signal to my Raynav 6 program on my laptop?
__________________

__________________
J Clark H356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2010, 19:02   #2
Registered User
 
S/V Illusion's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lakewood Ranch, FLORIDA
Boat: Alden 50, Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 1,693
The cable isn't the issue - it's the plug on the ends which will require replacement and that is not as simple as it sounds. Long story short - save yourself the time and frustration and get a new compatible cable.
__________________

__________________
S/V Illusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2010, 07:09   #3
Registered User
 
J Clark H356's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Grand Rivers, KY
Boat: Hunter 2003 356 - Persistence
Posts: 505
Thanks - Illusion

Thanks for the response. I assumed as much. I'll look into how hard this will be to pull in the new cable. I may wait and upgrade all my electronics in a year of two. I had a Raymarine full package installed in 2003 when I purchased the boat. Still works fine, but I like some of the new technology. that isn't available on my system.
__________________
J Clark H356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2010, 10:08   #4
Registered User
 
richardhula's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Boat: S M Hudson 60' narrowboat
Posts: 347
Send a message via Skype™ to richardhula
Quote:
Originally Posted by J Clark H356 View Post
.....Can I also get this AIS signal to my Raynav 6 program on my laptop?
I understand the Standard Horizon GX2100 has a built in AIS receiver with NMEA output. You would therefore just need to use USB-COM port adapter (assuming you don't have spare built-in COM port) to connect the AIS NMEA output to laptop using standard dSub 9pin COM port connector (pin2 signal +, pin5 signal -).

You would then need to configure input to RNS prog on laptop to receive & display AIS data. Choose Setup>Instruments>Manually Config Instruments. Select COM port that is receiving AIS data from those displayed, then select "AIS NMEA 38400" from drop-down menu & your done.
__________________
Richard

If in doubt RTFM
richardhula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2010, 09:44   #5
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Have the 2100 - awesome radio. Also have the remote mic (not installed, but expect it to work well). I have the remote mic and SH radio in my other boat, the remote works great - clear, loud, large display. Just awesome!

I have the 2100 integrated into my system feeding my chartplotter AIS info, and the chartplotter feeds the AIS/VHF with lat/long/sog/etc as well.

SH has some diagrams on their site on how to integrate it.

The only significant issue is the 2100 has lower than standard power on the AIS NMEA output, it may not work on some chartplotters. It did not on mine (lowrance) initially. I had to put a pull up resistor in line to boost the power. If it doesnt work out of the box, you may need to do this.

If you have a few NMEA devices and want them to talk with each other, like in my setup (autopilot, tridata, GPS, AIS, fluxgate compass), you may need a multiplexer. I got the brookhouse AIS multiplexer (basically puts the NMEA, NMEA HS, Seatalk data into a stream that everything can read) After learning more than I wanted to about NMEA, it all worked out great! Everythnig talks with each other, including the AIS.

__________________
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2010, 20:04   #6
Registered User
 
J Clark H356's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Grand Rivers, KY
Boat: Hunter 2003 356 - Persistence
Posts: 505
Thanks for the advice. I'm going to the boat tomorrow and will see how difficult the cable pull looks.
__________________
J Clark H356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2010, 06:14   #7
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
You cant go wrong with Standards equip. Better radios then ICOM IMHO and ive owned a few of both

dave
__________________
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2010, 06:34   #8
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Tried quite a few in the past. Keep coming back to Standard. large display, speakers you can actually hear , durable, good features, good price.
__________________
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2010, 06:46   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: USA
Boat: Cape Dory
Posts: 439
ICOM

I bought that same ICOM radio and the same RAM Mic last year. I was disappointed in them too. The RAM is the worst part with the second rate plug system -- which broke in no time. The Standard Horizon plug is engineered to be much much stronger. I am also no fan of the ICOM cords which are too thick and stiff for my taste.
__________________

__________________
Mambo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
icom

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone Use a MFJ 9420X MFJ 20W PEP 20M SSB Transceiver W/Mic colo.sail Marine Electronics 7 03-05-2015 01:27
Command Mic Transmit Audio newbie123 Marine Electronics 13 03-08-2010 10:49
ICOM M802 Tuning Problem svcattales Marine Electronics 13 17-01-2009 18:51
First gearbox oil change, Problem? noelex 77 Engines and Propulsion Systems 14 13-12-2008 17:20
RAM Mike tomj Marine Electronics 21 13-01-2008 09:40



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:42.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.