Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-11-2012, 04:41   #1
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,748
Power for SeaTalk Network in the Absence of an Autopilot

I replacing nearly my entire electronics on board with a new NMEA2000 system. However, I am planning to leave the old Raymarine wind and depth instruments as backups -- I will have extra holes in the scuttle anyway, and they work perfectly.

The instruments are ST60+ and they get their power over the Seatalk network from the autopilot. But I will be removing the old autopilot. Is there another way to feed them power?
__________________

__________________
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2012, 04:57   #2
Registered User
 
sailvayu's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Fort Myers FL
Boat: Irwin 40
Posts: 878
Re: Power for SeaTalk Network in the Absence of an Autopilot

Just power the sea talk bus on the autopilot side as if it was coming from the autopilot. Remember to fuse and switch this power supply. Check the raymarine web site if you are not sure about which wires to power.
__________________

__________________
Capt. Wayne Canning, AMS
www.projectboat.info
http://sailvayu.com/
sailvayu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2012, 06:22   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Boat: PDQ 32 DogHouse
Posts: 600
Power to red and black. Yellow is the data line.
__________________
amytom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2012, 07:10   #4
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 8,560
Images: 14
Re: Power for SeaTalk Network in the Absence of an Autopilot

I started off daisy chaining my ST60s but it didn't work properly until I supplied power (and return) to both ends of the chain. No problems since.

Peter
__________________
Moody 31 - April Lass
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2012, 13:56   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The Maritimes
Boat: 1980 CheoyLee35
Posts: 178
Re: Power for SeaTalk Network in the Absence of an Autopilot

My ST60 speed and depth just run on there own 12v feed from the DC panel. They are not connected to my AP. There must be a manual on the RM site. Good luck- I am enjoying reading of your new electronic suite. BTW, IIRC you were interested in a close-hauled wind display as well as a "regular". The RM i60 series has both according to binnacle.com
__________________
Shoalcove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2012, 14:02   #6
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,748
Re: Power for SeaTalk Network in the Absence of an Autopilot

Thanks, guys! That makes sense now.
__________________

__________________
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autopilot, seatalk

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:34.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.