Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-06-2018, 09:48   #1
Registered User
 
Peregrine1983's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 702
Pairing a Raymarine wireless wind transducer

Hi All,

I recently bought a Raymarine Wireless Wind transmitter. It is solar powered and requires no wiring to pair to an MFD. Sounds great right?

Well, the documentation that came with it is utterly useless - it doesn't even seem to describe the specific item that I have. I can't find anything on Raymarine's site that explains how to pair this with my Raymarine es78 MFD.

Whenever I go into the settings on the MFD to look new bluetooth or wifi connections, it sees nothing... Even with the wind transducer less than 2' away, in the sun, and spinning with the wind.

Am I missing something? Thanks very much for any help.


This is my wind transducer: https://www.defender.com/product.jsp...8831&id=606740

This is my MFD: https://www.defender.com/product.jsp?id=2893605
__________________

Peregrine1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2018, 10:12   #2
Registered User
 
RobTryon's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Channel Islands Harbor
Boat: Wauquiez Centurion 47.7
Posts: 47
Re: Pairing a Raymarine wireless wind transducer

I think you need this.
https://www.defender.com/product3.js...836&id=3800935
__________________

RobTryon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2018, 10:19   #3
Registered User
 
Peregrine1983's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 702
Re: Pairing a Raymarine wireless wind transducer

Thank you Rob. I appreciate it. Although that would be such a bummer to have to shell out more cash to get this to work.

It's strange because my wireless Raymarine radar dome paired with the es78 just fine and has worked flawlessly.
Peregrine1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2018, 11:12   #4
Registered User
 
RobTryon's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Channel Islands Harbor
Boat: Wauquiez Centurion 47.7
Posts: 47
Re: Pairing a Raymarine wireless wind transducer

The issue I think, is the radar was built for your MFD. The wind instrument is a rebranded unit that speaks a different language.
RobTryon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2018, 11:35   #5
Registered User
 
Peregrine1983's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 702
Re: Pairing a Raymarine wireless wind transducer

I know it’s a rebranded Tack Tick. Still would imagine there’s a way to wirelessly connect if they’re advertising it as such...

Ive been dreading this, but I think it’s time to call. Will report back.
Peregrine1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2018, 12:22   #6
Registered User
 
Peregrine1983's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 702
Re: Pairing a Raymarine wireless wind transducer

Just spoke with Raymarine. Robtryon you are correct. I need to buy their MicroTalk Puck to make this work.
Peregrine1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2018, 12:40   #7
Registered User
 
Peregrine1983's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 702
Re: Pairing a Raymarine wireless wind transducer

Ok... so now my question is - is there another wireless wind unit from a different manufacturer that will work, or am I stuck buying this adapter?

Any help appreciated.
Peregrine1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2018, 13:07   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Becalmed in the Med
Boat: Prout Snowgoose 35
Posts: 888
Re: Pairing a Raymarine wireless wind transducer

You donít necessarily need the puck unless you want nmea2000 connectivity. An NM30 display will give you wind info and can be had relatively cheaply on the used market. You could then add the puck at a later date.
mikedefieslife is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2018, 09:48   #9
Registered User
 
Ivansgarage's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 54
Re: Pairing a Raymarine wireless wind transducer

Power the display on. Next, press and hold the dot for 2 seconds. "Units" should appear on the screen. Press the down arrow to Opts. Right arrow to join the 2 devices. The two units should be within 12 inches of each other to to join.
__________________

Ivansgarage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raymarine, wind, marine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raymarine wireless wind transducer COLINFLTENG Marine Electronics 0 05-08-2016 13:06
Tacktick mn30 Wireless Wind Instrument - Wind transmtter details jono63812 Marine Electronics 0 06-07-2016 13:10
Wind transducer: True vs. apparent wind? RhythmDoctor OpenCPN 3 04-01-2015 14:28
For Sale: Pair of Lewmar No. 6 Winches - Black Alum. Drum - $75 for the pair retomas Classifieds Archive 4 03-04-2012 09:36
Want To Buy: Raymarine Rotary Rudder Transducer and Fluxgate Transducer Kristian Classifieds Archive 0 22-02-2010 03:09



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:34.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.