Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-11-2013, 19:26   #1
GWB
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brookings, Oregon
Boat: Westsail 32
Posts: 296
Images: 1
Pactor with 100 Watt radio?

Does anyone have any experience with this? I'm a ham and would like to purchase an Icom-718, but of course this is a 100 watt radio.
Does the Pactor modem require the full 150 watts....? I guess it would just make it a bit more reliable...? This is on a sailboat that will be sailing for Hawaii next year.
Thanks for any input
__________________

__________________
GWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 19:33   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Camden, ME
Boat: A Thistle and a Hallberg-Rassy 36
Posts: 664
Re: Pactor with 100 Watt radio?

The extra 50 watts would not make a big difference. Your IC-718 should do just fine for Pactor and Winmor. You should probably make sure it is equipped with the optional "High Stability Crystal" (about $80 if you need to add it).
__________________

__________________
SoonerSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 19:38   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 11,467
Re: Pactor with 100 Watt radio?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GWB View Post
Does anyone have any experience with this? I'm a ham and would like to purchase an Icom-718, but of course this is a 100 watt radio.
Does the Pactor modem require the full 150 watts....? I guess it would just make it a bit more reliable...? This is on a sailboat that will be sailing for Hawaii next year.
Thanks for any input
Absolutely not a problem!

We've been using Pactor for years on an Icom 746, and I rarely run more than 30 or 40 watts, often less. We operate in the western south Pacific and have no problems with connections when out of marinas. For the run to Hawaii there should be a plethora of base stations to contact.

The issue of max power is way over rated amongst neophytes... it is seldom an issue.

Edit: I agree about the high stability crystal... a very useful option.

73 de Jim n9gft/vk4gft
__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II , lying Port Cygnet, Tasmania once again
Jim Cate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 19:41   #4
ato
Registered User
 
ato's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Singapore
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 46 2007
Posts: 108
Send a message via Skype™ to ato
Re: Pactor with 100 Watt radio?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GWB View Post
Does anyone have any experience with this? I'm a ham and would like to purchase an Icom-718, but of course this is a 100 watt radio.
Does the Pactor modem require the full 150 watts....? I guess it would just make it a bit more reliable...? This is on a sailboat that will be sailing for Hawaii next year.
Thanks for any input

The IC718 will work perfectly fine with a pactor modem. Lots of cruisers have this setup.
__________________
ato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 20:10   #5
Registered User
 
Rhapsody-NS27's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: VA, boat: Deale, MD
Boat: 1981 Nor'sea 27
Posts: 1,409
Re: Pactor with 100 Watt radio?

I have an IC718 that I used with a Pactor modem for MARS and ham work a couple years ago. The radio itself will work out fine. No problem with 100 watts. Even working with an IC706g works out too. I haven't seen anything to say 150 watts was required. Just as any mode, use the maximum power needed to maintain communications.

Thanks to others about the high stability crystal, I don't think I have that but the radio still works fine for me.
__________________
Daniel - Rhapsody Blog,
ďA sailorís joys are as simple as a childís.Ē ó Bernard Moitessier
"I don't need therapy, I just need my boat"
Rhapsody-NS27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 20:16   #6
GWB
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brookings, Oregon
Boat: Westsail 32
Posts: 296
Images: 1
Re: Pactor with 100 Watt radio?

Thanks for the help
__________________
GWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 21:22   #7
GWB
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brookings, Oregon
Boat: Westsail 32
Posts: 296
Images: 1
Re: Pactor with 100 Watt radio?

Another question, which antenna tuner would best compliment this radio? AT-130 or AT-140 ... I have also read that the SCG-230 is a very good tuner maybe better that the Icom product?
Thanks again
__________________
GWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 05:13   #8
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chesapeake Region and Maine
Boat: 42' Bob Perry sloop
Posts: 4,038
Images: 4
Re: Pactor with 100 Watt radio?

The Icom AH-4 or AT-180 are the tuners usually fitted to the IC-718, as decribed in the Instruction Manual. The AT130 or AT140 would probably work, too....I haven't checked the voltage specs.

The SG-230 has been the "gold standard" of tuners for the past 20+ years. It will work with ANY transceiver, not just Icoms. It costs about the same as the AT-130 or AT-140.

The Icom tuners are a bit easier to use with Icom radios since the radio sends a signal over a control cable to begin tuning and stop tuning...and since power to the tuner is sent over this control cable.

By contrast, the SG-230 is powered via a separate 12VDC line, requiring less than 2A to work. It has built-in circuitry which senses the transmitted RF signal, determines the frequency, and initiates tuning.

The SGC also has non-volatile memories, i.e., it retains the settings for a number of matches. The Icom tuners' memory is powered by a capacitor which works for a week or two, but with no use soon loses the memory contents and has to start over.

Bill
__________________
btrayfors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 05:23   #9
Registered User
 
Greg4cocokai's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Long Beach, Ca. USA
Boat: Norseman 447
Posts: 295
Re: Pactor with 100 Watt radio?

We've been using an Icom 718, AH-4 and Pactor 3 for the past 8 years, full time cruising with no problems.
__________________
GREG, s/v Sirena
currently, Long Beach, Ca.
Greg4cocokai is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 13:19   #10
GWB
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brookings, Oregon
Boat: Westsail 32
Posts: 296
Images: 1
Re: Pactor with 100 Watt radio?

Thanks for all of that, it is very much appreciated. I have come across what looks to be a very good deal on a IC-700pro ($760) I think this will make sense over the 718 as the 700 pro is designed for the marine environment... although the Icoms are probably all built to a very high standard. Is the software to program the 700 readily available?
__________________
GWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 13:49   #11
Registered User
 
Rhapsody-NS27's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: VA, boat: Deale, MD
Boat: 1981 Nor'sea 27
Posts: 1,409
Re: Pactor with 100 Watt radio?

For the 718, I've actually been using an LDG tuner that works great and I believe much less costly too. Otherwise, on a IC706, I have an AT180 that works pretty good too.

I'm not familiar with the 700 but looks like a Marine radio rather than a Ham radio, although I believe it can still be used on the ham bands easy enough.
__________________
Daniel - Rhapsody Blog,
ďA sailorís joys are as simple as a childís.Ē ó Bernard Moitessier
"I don't need therapy, I just need my boat"
Rhapsody-NS27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 14:30   #12
Senior Cruiser
 
roverhi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kona, Hawaii, Carlsbad, CA
Boat: 1969 Pearson 35 #108 & 1976 Sabre 28
Posts: 6,006
Send a message via Yahoo to roverhi
Re: Pactor with 100 Watt radio?

Had email and gribs all the way from SF to Hawaii with a 718 and a Pactor II with the III upgrade. Was using Winmor/Winlink and Ham sites. Always got through though sometimes had to try several different Ham providers. Probably a propagation issue. Originally tried to use an AH-4 tuner but it wouldn't tune because the radio wasn't sending a needed signal to the tuner. An issue with the used 718 that I bought. Bought an SG230 tuner and no more problems, plug and play.

FWIW, you can easily up the 718 to 150 watts or even more. Understand it may not be a very clean signal, however. Probably not a good idea since you gain very little from the extra power and may lose something due to possible distortion. Better to work on the ground plane and antenna than tweaking the radio.
__________________
Peter O.
'Ae'a Pearson 35
roverhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 15:03   #13
Registered User
 
matauwhi's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bay of Islands, New Zealand
Boat: Mason 53
Posts: 652
Re: Pactor with 100 Watt radio?

G'day, Mate. Icom-706MIIG, SGC tuner and Pactor 3 modem here. Typicaaly use just 20 watts to connect down here in the South Pacific. As an FYI, the 706 will give you the 2 meter option (which means a SPARE marine VHF to use as a back-up, should your main VHF "pack a sad"). All the best. Cheers
__________________
matauwhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 15:27   #14
Registered User
 
Cpt Pat's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2012
Boat: Pearson Ariel, 26 feet
Posts: 158
Re: Pactor with 100 Watt radio?

I'm using a PACTOR modem with my Kenwood 100 watt SSB near San Francisco, and it works fine with Sailmail and Winlink stations in Panama and Hawaii. The difference between 100 and 150 watts is less than 3 dB.

I often dial down the power to 20 watts to save power - and keep my PC from rebooting and my LED navigation lights from flashing on and off when I transmit (sometimes I wish I had a steel boat).

I recommend you spend the extra money on a good tuner instead. Like the others above, I've had good results from my SGC tuner.
__________________
Cpt Pat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 15:55   #15
Registered User
 
jstevens's Avatar

Join Date: May 2006
Location: On board Sarah, currently lying in Jacksonville, FL
Boat: Pearson, 424, 42', Sarah
Posts: 582
Images: 4
Re: Pactor with 100 Watt radio?

RE: The Icom 700 Pro.
I used to own an Icom M700, not the Pro version. The basic M700 does not have a TNC interface for the Pactor modem. A friend of mine modified the radio to provide the TNC inteface and I used it for over 4 years with a Pactor IIe modem before replacing the radio with an M802.
The pro version may have the TNC interface, but it is something check out before going that route.

John
__________________

__________________
jstevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pactor, radio

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:06.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.