Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2017, 12:51   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whitianga, New Zealand
Boat: Cal 2-46
Posts: 86
Pactor connection to SSB

We are setting up our Pactor II USB to an Icom 706 MkII. so our lap top can access Gribs, emails etc.
I have the audio cable sorted.
I am struggling with making up the TRX control cable. This cable takes to frequency request from the laptop and changes to frequency in the SSB.
At the Pactor end it has a 13 pin plug. At the SSB it uses a stereo type plug. Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2290.JPG
Views:	126
Size:	75.1 KB
ID:	144509Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2282.JPG
Views:	112
Size:	80.1 KB
ID:	144510

I am not clear which socket at the 13 pin plug goes to which part of the stereo plug.
Appreciate any guidance.

Pete B
__________________

Jimmyhenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 12:53   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whitianga, New Zealand
Boat: Cal 2-46
Posts: 86
Re: Pactor connection to SSB

It is the RTTY connection on the SSB I want to connect to.
__________________

Jimmyhenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 13:09   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 143
Re: Pactor connection to SSB

It's been a long time since I had a 706. Looking at the SCS manual, on the 13-pin plug coming out of the Pactor, pin 13 is ground and goes to the sleeve of the small phone plug. Pin 6 is the special output for control of Icom radios, sometimes called CI-V data, and is connected to the tip of the phone plug. This has nothing to do with the RTTY mode.
svinshallah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 13:11   #4
Registered User
 
El Pinguino's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Somewhere in Patagonia
Posts: 4,936
Re: Pactor connection to SSB

Hmmmmmm... I'm away from my toys just now.... however...

You should be connecting the Pactor to the 13 Pin DIN on the Icom..... not the RTTY plug.

Now comes the 'Fun' bit.... not all plugs are created equal.... A standard plug from Jaycar or wherever will not fit the Pactor... there is about a fraction of a milli-micron difference in diameter.

So you need one of these... Pactor (Email via Radio) - Modem Accessories - Pactor Modem Cable Set (please read detailed description) - radios.net.au shop

$25... job sorted
__________________
Simple Celestial https://www.dropbox.com/s/a5blh1rgvi...ation.pdf?dl=0

A little bit about Chile http://www.cruiserswiki.org/wiki/Chile
El Pinguino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2017, 21:23   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whitianga, New Zealand
Boat: Cal 2-46
Posts: 86
Re: Pactor connection to SSB

The connection at the Icom SAB end is a stereo socket. The 13 pin is at the Pactor end.
Pete
Jimmyhenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2017, 21:30   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whitianga, New Zealand
Boat: Cal 2-46
Posts: 86
Re: Pactor connection to SSB

Is the sleeve a single piece or double piece (excluding the tip) I think I should be using a double (stereo) plug. If so do I connect the ground to the mid section or the section nearest the plug grip?
Jimmyhenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2017, 13:30   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 143
Re: Pactor connection to SSB

The control socket on the Icom is a monaural, not a stereo socket. The stereo plug, starting from the end has three connections: the tip, the ring and the sleeve. The monaural plug has only the tip and the sleeve. If you have only a stereo plug, you can usually just connect the tip and the sleeve connections. The sleeve is ground.
svinshallah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2017, 21:37   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whitianga, New Zealand
Boat: Cal 2-46
Posts: 86
Re: Pactor connection to SSB

Quote:
Originally Posted by svinshallah View Post
The control socket on the Icom is a monaural, not a stereo socket. The stereo plug, starting from the end has three connections: the tip, the ring and the sleeve. The monaural plug has only the tip and the sleeve. If you have only a stereo plug, you can usually just connect the tip and the sleeve connections. The sleeve is ground.


I don't seem to be getting there. Wired the 13 pin (13 and 6) to a mono aural. All plugs in place. Laptop on and Pactor on. On the SSB the TX light stays on???
No sounds from the SSB. Removed the Pactor wires from the SSB and the TX light goes out and the SSB reverts to normal.
Glug.
Any thoughts ??

Pete B
Jimmyhenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2017, 05:45   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Pensacola Florida
Boat: 1984 Moody 27
Posts: 181
Re: Pactor connection to SSB

If the TX light comes on it is indeed in transmit mode. You are taking the PTT line to ground somewhere.

check all of your connections that there is nothing shorted at the connector and nothing is touching where it shouldn't be touching. No solder bridges.

I've made many of these cables and a stray strand of wire can be a real pain. In all honesty if there is a commercial cable available it's worth the $20 to not have my old eyes strain and shaky hands try to fight those connectors for me.

However, it's easy enough to do if your hands are steady and your eyes can see well enough to solder to the connectors.

Often it is not possible to use more than one connector at the same time on some devices that don't have good isolation. I've run into that more than once as well. In this case sometimes it can be a challenge, but still doable.

It's very easy to get your wires crossed so to speak. Something you want to check very closely is the pinout and remember that it is often as you look into the connector on the equipment, not the end of the cable so everything is 180 out like a negative photograph. It helps me to draw out the connector and write the numbers down, if your cable has colors match those with the connector numbers so you've got everything right when you get to the other end.

if you are 100% sure everything is right on the 13 pin din, reverse polarity on the mono plug and give it a go.


Before starting over, check all the software settings. Some use RST/DTR for TX, They may be checked causing the software to key the radio. One way to check it is to power off the machine and plug in the cable. If it isn't in TX when the machine is off the software is keying it. Otherwise you have a grounded TX circuit in the cabling.
Seeking Solace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2017, 06:00   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whitianga, New Zealand
Boat: Cal 2-46
Posts: 86
Re: Pactor connection to SSB

I have a spare cable with the multi colour wires.
To be 100% sure I get the right wires for 13 and 6 do you know the colour code for these two wires? .
I can check with the multi meter but you are right, the negative view is confusing but I thought I had this sorted.
It is just after midnight here in NZ so will wait till I get back on board to follow through on all your comments.
Thanks again. You have been very helpful.
Pete.
Jimmyhenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 03:18   #11
Registered User
 
El Pinguino's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Somewhere in Patagonia
Posts: 4,936
Re: Pactor connection to SSB

You haven't said which model Pactor you have and I don't know if it makes a difference but this is the info for the 7400/7800 http://slingthehook.com/files/upload...gon_Manual.pdf
Scroll down to page 81.. 7.1.1

Then on page 83 7.1.5 there is a pic of your 3.5mm jack wiring.
I have also noticed something there about 8 pin plugs on page 77.... pactor plug has a 'U' configaration of pins, many other 8 pin plugs have circular config...
I know that was not your problem but I find it interesting......
__________________
Simple Celestial https://www.dropbox.com/s/a5blh1rgvi...ation.pdf?dl=0

A little bit about Chile http://www.cruiserswiki.org/wiki/Chile
El Pinguino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 03:19   #12
Registered User
 
El Pinguino's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Somewhere in Patagonia
Posts: 4,936
Re: Pactor connection to SSB

Just realised you have a Pactor II... hope above info is still usefull
__________________
Simple Celestial https://www.dropbox.com/s/a5blh1rgvi...ation.pdf?dl=0

A little bit about Chile http://www.cruiserswiki.org/wiki/Chile
El Pinguino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 19:04   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whitianga, New Zealand
Boat: Cal 2-46
Posts: 86
Re: Pactor connection to SSB

Thanks for that info. Checked the wires again and found the earth was also attached to the jacket of the 13 pin.
Got a new 13 pin and wires in only the black (6)and the orange (13). And tested for leaks, none found.
Unable to test on board as we are in the target zone of tropical cyclone COOK so will not be able to test for a day or so.
Flooding everywhere. Winds yet to get going. An hour or so away.

Pete.
Jimmyhenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2017, 22:09   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whitianga, New Zealand
Boat: Cal 2-46
Posts: 86
Re: Pactor connection to SSB

The cyclone COOK missed us by about 100km.
Back on board with the new cable.
Still gets TX.
Disconnected from the lap top. Still get TX.
Should I try reversing the polarity??

Pete
Jimmyhenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2017, 23:22   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whitianga, New Zealand
Boat: Cal 2-46
Posts: 86
Re: Pactor connection to SSB

Aha. I feel such a fool.
1/- I had not entered to CIV address 4EH
2/- I had not entered the correct baud rate 19200
3/- I had used the RTTY socket on the SSB. Not the "Remote". The sockets are only noted on the side of the SSB.

Thanks to you all for your help.
Pete.
__________________

Jimmyhenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pactor, ssb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade Pactor 2 to Pactor 3 ?? pjandart Marine Electronics 15 06-11-2014 11:54
For Sale: Pactor II modem with Pactor 3 firmware seamaster Classifieds Archive 10 30-11-2013 19:32
For Sale: Pactor 2 Pro with Pactor 3 license installed s/v Holiday Classifieds Archive 1 28-07-2012 22:24
For Sale: Icom 802, AT 140, Pactor 2 w Pactor 3 lic Vyndance Classifieds Archive 10 02-06-2012 17:38



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:37.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.