Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-10-2015, 07:30   #1
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,320
Optolamp Masthead Optolamp Amazonia - Strobe only, Seatalk Link installed

The masthead Optolamp Amazonia nav-anchor light started strobing only (tried all switches, no change) and I just installed a gadgetpoole.de Tiny Seatalk Bridge with galvanic isolated RS232. This version is powered directly from 12vdc red and black power leads.

Here is the pdf link for the Optolamp Amazonia wiring diagram
https://www.google.com/search?q=opto...utf-8&oe=utf-8
The light is not using the "Fast Strobe" option. The strobe is normally activated by a 2-way switch on the "orange" lead which connects to black (-). The other 3 way switch controls "Navigation Lights - Off - Anchor" b simply reversing polarity (+) and (-) or disconnecting.

Is it possible that this addition of the Tiny Seatalk Bridge power leads has caused the masthead anchor light to strobe?
I suppose I should disconnect the Tiny Seatalk and see what happens.

The other possibility is that there has been some chafe at the top of the mast on the wires because the strobe is activated all the time. I will have to check that this winter with the mast down.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2016, 20:31   #2
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,320
Re: Optolamp Masthead Optolamp Amazonia - Strobe only, Seatalk Link installed

Found, after the mast was down for the winter, that I had put a masthead screw right into the wiring which evidently shorted two wires and caused the strobing. I took the screw out and tested and the lamp worked fine. The next spring I fixed the hole in the wire and it is working fine now.

Three suggestions for testing:
1. Make a good close fitting light cover of light cardboard or duct tape which can slid over the light.
2. When testing, make a connection and wait just under a minute, slide to cover off and see if the light is on, if not, try the next connections, until the light is found to be on.
3. Then reverse the polarity of the two wires at the mast base, and the light should switch from Nav to Anchor or the reverse.
4. I never test the strobe feature, but it seems to always work ok (3 seasons). The wiring diagram will show what to do to test that.
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
head, mast, seatalk

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Masthead strobe without running another wire? sanibel sailor General Sailing Forum 17 07-06-2015 17:44
Idiot using a strobe light as an anchor light - Optolamp Amazonia monte Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 19 25-05-2015 10:17
Link 20 vs Link PRO Jim Young Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 14 28-04-2010 09:02
Personal MOB Strobe Lights 4runner Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations 11 06-11-2009 10:53
Strobe problems....? CSY Man Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 10 22-12-2008 12:47



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:31.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.