Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-11-2013, 19:14   #1
Registered User
 
SvenG's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mexico heading South
Boat: Ericson 39B - Senta II
Posts: 1,169
Only use SSB with engine running !?

That's the admonition in either the ICOM 802 or the AT 140 instructions, don't remember which one.

Two questions ...

I that really necessary ?

Is it only during transmission when there is a high power draw ?

In case the batteries can't meet the load, what's the damage from transmitting with a less than perfect power source ?

While a diesel (old fashioned, non-computerized) might not produce much RFI I'd think that in general you'd want as FEW systems as possible running while doing SSB monitoring. Who wants all that noise ?



-Sven
__________________

__________________
Senta II - http://www.Grenander.com/Senta_II/Blog/Blog.html
1977 Ericson 39B -- Hull # 216
SvenG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 19:42   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Camden, ME
Boat: A Thistle and a Hallberg-Rassy 36
Posts: 664
Re: Only use SSB with engine running !?

The M-802 should do fine on fully charged batteries without having the engine running - assuming the power wiring from battery to radio is of sufficient size. If you operate the radio at input voltages less than it wants to see (and this depends somewhat at the power level the radio is transmitting at) you will have distortion of a transmitted signal, but won't damage the rig.

The radio will receive fine with voltages much lower than required for transmitting.

Having said all that, the M-802 tolerates sub-optimal voltages better than most Ham rigs. I don't know at what input voltage (at the radio, at the end of it's supply wiring) it will start to have problems at full power operation, maybe someone else has that data.
__________________

__________________
SoonerSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 19:48   #3
Registered User
 
SvenG's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mexico heading South
Boat: Ericson 39B - Senta II
Posts: 1,169
Re: Only use SSB with engine running !?

Many thanks. That's kind of what I guessed but I didn't know.

'preciate the answer.



-Sven
__________________
Senta II - http://www.Grenander.com/Senta_II/Blog/Blog.html
1977 Ericson 39B -- Hull # 216
SvenG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 20:26   #4
Moderator
 
Paul Elliott's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,867
Images: 4
Re: Only use SSB with engine running !?

I operate my SSB with the engine OFF. The alternator and battery charging system generate too much hash for good reception. Also, the engine noise (acoustic) probably gets into my microphone, but I've never tested this.

We also have a pretty massive battery bank, so voltage sag when transmitting hasn't been an issue.
__________________
Paul Elliott, S/V VALIS - Pacific Seacraft 44 #16 - Friday Harbor, WA
www.sailvalis.com
Paul Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 20:28   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
rebel heart's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6,190
Images: 3
Re: Only use SSB with engine running !?

Yeah I need everything off to work my 700pro. Inverter and engine in particular.
__________________
rebel heart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 20:29   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,432
Re: Only use SSB with engine running !?

A note on SSB radios, I recently had a telephone conversation with a fellow who had twice left Mexico for the Marquesas, and had to turn around to get their auto pilot fixed. The first try took them a few days out of Mexico, and their autopilot packed up. After waiting on parts, they left again and again their autopilot packed up, but they made the connection between the first time and the next time. When they hit the MIKE button on the SSB, it blew the circuits in the autopilot. By the time it was fixed the second time, they gave up and went back up the west coast, being sure to turn the autopilot off before checking into the net. Is there a lesson here??? Maybe buy an Aries or a Fleming, or maybe there is a surge protector for autopilots that doesnt let low voltage fry them. This was told to me to be a well respected, below decks autopilot, not some tiller pilot. just think about that for a while. _____Grant.
__________________
gjordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 07:24   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rhode Island
Boat: Tayana FD-12
Posts: 612
Images: 6
Re: Only use SSB with engine running !?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gjordan View Post
A note on SSB radios, I recently had a telephone conversation with a fellow who had twice left Mexico for the Marquesas, and had to turn around to get their auto pilot fixed. The first try took them a few days out of Mexico, and their autopilot packed up. After waiting on parts, they left again and again their autopilot packed up, but they made the connection between the first time and the next time. When they hit the MIKE button on the SSB, it blew the circuits in the autopilot. By the time it was fixed the second time, they gave up and went back up the west coast, being sure to turn the autopilot off before checking into the net. Is there a lesson here??? Maybe buy an Aries or a Fleming, or maybe there is a surge protector for autopilots that doesnt let low voltage fry them. This was told to me to be a well respected, below decks autopilot, not some tiller pilot. just think about that for a while. _____Grant.
Sounds to me their radio installation or autopilot installation had issues. Whith blown circuits, a lot of the times it is the ground or the return path. People forget that current needs a path back to the negative of the battery. Just because you route it to the engine block, or keelbolt and it seems to be working, doesnt mean the installation is done.
With engine on, and back then I had a gas engine, I had a lot of EMI on the SSB reception/transmission. Digital transmission like pactor rejects it much better then trying to talk to people. That's really the only transmissions I did.
__________________
phorvati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 08:32   #8
Marine Service Provider
 
SV THIRD DAY's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: La Paz, Mexico
Boat: 1978 Hudson Force 50 Ketch
Posts: 3,653
Re: Only use SSB with engine running !?

Too bad that Icom can't make a manual as good as their Radio.
__________________

__________________
Rich Boren Goodbye Morro Bay...Hello La Paz, Mexico and the owner of:
Cruise RO Water High Output Water
Technautic CoolBlue Refrigeration
SV THIRD DAY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
engine, ssb

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:15.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.