Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-09-2017, 15:36   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 24
Old boat but new system ( AIS and MMSI ) help

So I just bought an old boat but I have bought a whole new Raymarine Quantum Radar and Nav system. I am also getting a new radio and AIS 650 Class B Transceiver. This is my first rodeo so I am a little confused on getting an MMSI number. My boat will be a world traveler so when I go through Boat US website I click Yes on:

" Do you ever plan to take the piece of equipment for which you want an MMSI number into foreign territory or communicate with foreign ports "

It then gives a link to an FCC page for something called a Ship Station License.

Did the rest of you folks have to do this?
__________________

__________________
jwrsailing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2017, 15:51   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 11,123
Re: Old boat but new system ( AIS and MMSI ) help

Quote:
Did the rest of you folks have to do this?
Yes. In the USA, the only means of acquiring a proper MMSI is via the FCC. Their website is really opaque and kinda daunting, but that's how you do it.

Jim
__________________

__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II southbound, stopping at all stations (not really, just sounded cool). Now in the Clarence river for a while.
Jim Cate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2017, 15:51   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Paradise
Boat: Various
Posts: 2,243
Re: Old boat but new system ( AIS and MMSI ) help

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwrsailing View Post
So I just bought an old boat but I have bought a whole new Raymarine Quantum Radar and Nav system. I am also getting a new radio and AIS 650 Class B Transceiver. This is my first rodeo so I am a little confused on getting an MMSI number. My boat will be a world traveler so when I go through Boat US website I click Yes on:

" Do you ever plan to take the piece of equipment for which you want an MMSI number into foreign territory or communicate with foreign ports "

It then gives a link to an FCC page for something called a Ship Station License.

Did the rest of you folks have to do this?
Yes, but it's not difficult. You just apply from the FCC page. You can file electronically. Unfortunately, the Boat US link appears outdated so here is a current one.

FCC Universal Licensing System (ULS): ULS Home

Here's a good discussion of who needs to do what.

https://www.navcen.uscg.gov/?pageName=mtMmsi
__________________
BandB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 07:20   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Northport, Michigan
Boat: Trailerable cruising boat
Posts: 288
Re: Old boat but new system ( AIS and MMSI ) help

For some advice on obtaining an FCC SHIP STATION LICENSE see

FCC License - Moderated Discussion Areas

Also read

https://www.fcc.gov/wireless/bureau-...radio-stations
__________________
continuouswave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 07:57   #5
Registered User
 
ranger42c's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland, USA
Boat: 42' Sportfish
Posts: 2,911
Re: Old boat but new system ( AIS and MMSI ) help

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwrsailing View Post
My boat will be a world traveler so when I go through Boat US website I click Yes on:

" Do you ever plan to take the piece of equipment for which you want an MMSI number into foreign territory or communicate with foreign ports "

It then gives a link to an FCC page for something called a Ship Station License.

Did the rest of you folks have to do this?

Yes. The BoatUS-issued MMSI is useful for travel within U.S. waters only, but for visiting foreign waters you need an FCC-issued MMSI, and a Radio Station Authorization (Class is "SA").

And you also need an operators license; Restricted Radiotelephone Operator Permit, also from FCC, will generally suffice.

Rummage through the FCC site for doing it all on line.

-Chris
__________________
Selby Bay, South River, Chesapeake Bay, USA.
ranger42c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 08:44   #6
Registered User

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 24
Re: Old boat but new system ( AIS and MMSI ) help

I just ran into a USCG commo guy here where I work. He said the marine operators license is not needed unless your a commercial operator and that even though the FCC wants you to have a Ship Station License if you travel overseas, that with your AIS and everything else, it isn't like you are going to be harassed or hounded if you just have the BoatUS MMSI.
__________________
jwrsailing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 09:14   #7
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 59
Re: Old boat but new system ( AIS and MMSI ) help

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwrsailing View Post
So I just bought an old boat but I have bought a whole new Raymarine Quantum Radar and Nav system. I am also getting a new radio and AIS 650 Class B Transceiver. This is my first rodeo so I am a little confused on getting an MMSI number. My boat will be a world traveler so when I go through Boat US website I click Yes on:

" Do you ever plan to take the piece of equipment for which you want an MMSI number into foreign territory or communicate with foreign ports "

It then gives a link to an FCC page for something called a Ship Station License.

Did the rest of you folks have to do this?
Yes, it's compulsory and mandatory to have MMSI NO (Ship Station Radio License) in South East Asian Waters too for your VHF, AIS, EPIRB, PLB and etc., vessels without it will not be allows to enter their territorial waters.

Cheers.....
__________________
helise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 09:18   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Southport, NC
Boat: Pearson 367 cutter, 36'
Posts: 142
Re: Old boat but new system ( AIS and MMSI ) help

I agree the FCC's website is not that user-friendly. However, if you call them, their phone support is outstanding, in my experience - they walked me through everything very efficiently.
__________________
AJ_n_Audrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 09:45   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3
Re: Old boat but new system ( AIS and MMSI ) help

Timely. Just spent a few minutes this morning on the FCC site getting my stuff for the new boat. Once you've signed in, its Form 605. $220 later, but the form is relatively painless. As a poster mentioned, you can indeed get an MMSI number from other sources, but once you break free from the US, it's all but worthless and the USCG says you'll need an FCC issued number.
__________________
SailBuddaMoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 09:52   #10
Registered User

Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 24
Re: Old boat but new system ( AIS and MMSI ) help

Well ill just try calling then and have them walk me through it.
__________________
jwrsailing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 11:42   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Re: Old boat but new system ( AIS and MMSI ) help

I have a a BoatUS mmsi issued to my handheld vhf radio. I have changed boats and kept the radio. I also want to acquire an AIS, do I need a new mmsi, or assign the present mmsi to the AIS?
drwayne
Valiant 32
__________________
drwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 12:26   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 4
Re: Old boat but new system ( AIS and MMSI ) help

Quote:
Originally Posted by drwayne View Post
I have a a BoatUS mmsi issued to my handheld vhf radio. I have changed boats and kept the radio. I also want to acquire an AIS, do I need a new mmsi, or assign the present mmsi to the AIS?
drwayne
Valiant 32
Assign your new boat's fixed VHF DSC MMSI to the AIS transponder (if indeed it is a transponder). That way another vessel can call you on your fixed DSC MMSI via DSC with a pre-selected working channel
__________________
Macgregor 26X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 13:54   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Re: Old boat but new system ( AIS and MMSI ) help

Thank you for your response. How do I find out if the new boat has an mmsi assigned to it's fixed VHF, and if it does how do I get my handheld VHF to have the same mmsi? If I find no mmsi assigned to the fixed VHF, can I get it assigned the same mmsi as the handheld?
Once I get that squared away I can get the AIS.
drwayne
Valiant32
Eureka, CA.
__________________
drwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 16:51   #14
Registered User
 
Jman's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Northeast, USA
Boat: Luders 36
Posts: 219
Re: Old boat but new system ( AIS and MMSI ) help

Quote:
Originally Posted by drwayne View Post
Thank you for your response. How do I find out if the new boat has an mmsi assigned to it's fixed VHF, and if it does how do I get my handheld VHF to have the same mmsi? If I find no mmsi assigned to the fixed VHF, can I get it assigned the same mmsi as the handheld?

Once I get that squared away I can get the AIS.

drwayne

Valiant32

Eureka, CA.


You will have to read the owners manual. All the manufactures have different ways, and some will not allow reprogramming. I think the MMSI follows the boat... but I am sure you can find that on the fcc website.

AIS transponder is always programmed at the factory.
__________________
Jman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2017, 20:28   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Northport, Michigan
Boat: Trailerable cruising boat
Posts: 288
Re: Old boat but new system ( AIS and MMSI ) help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jman View Post
...AIS transponder is always programmed at the factory.
Not really--that is only a rule in the USA due to the FCC regulations.
__________________

__________________
continuouswave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, boat

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change MMSI on a Furuno FA-150 AIS? msponer Marine Electronics 17 05-03-2017 23:23
Ocean Sat class B AIS MMSI reprogram Kaptah Marine Electronics 5 09-05-2016 23:03
Buy a "new" old boat or an "old" old boat?? jimp1234 General Sailing Forum 29 08-01-2016 01:12
Send AIS Message to MMSI by OpenCPN bailizi OpenCPN 3 04-09-2012 16:02
MMSI Number for AIS with Future Foreign Travels ? SvenG Marine Electronics 7 14-01-2010 07:08



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:04.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.