Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-04-2018, 05:32   #1
Registered User
 
Peregrine1983's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 750
Old autopilot, new wifi MFD

Hi all,

Curious to hear what my options are here. I have an old Raymarine ST6001 autopilot which still works nicely. However, the control is up next to my companionway. The boat has a big wheel and a big cockpit, and moving from behind the wheel to the autopilot control every time I want to change course is no fun. I'm not lazy, it's just that if we're rocking and rolling on passage it can be sketchy. I normally will ask whoever is sitting in front of me to tweak the autopilot instead of going up myself.

Last year I installed a Raymarine ES78 at the helm in a Nav Pod. I have an open hole in the nav pod that I left for my ST6001 control head, thinking I would eventually move it there. However I'm now wondering if I can use that hole for something else and somehow wirelessly control the old ST6001 with the ES78.

I'm imagining some sort of wifi box that would talk to the ES78 and translate it into a wired signal that my ST6001 can understand.

Does such a device exist?

Any thoughts appreciated.
__________________

Peregrine1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2018, 05:57   #2
Registered User
 
Suijin's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Annapolis MD; currently in Luperon DR
Boat: Valiant 40
Posts: 4,465
Re: Old autopilot, new wifi MFD

Both units are NMEA183 compatible and looking at the Raymarine product range I'd guess your best shot would be to wire the 6001 to your sea talk backbone and see if you can control it through your MFD. I don't know if the wifi on the ES78 will take data input, just provide remote control through an app or wireless repeater station.
__________________

Suijin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2018, 07:30   #3
Registered User
 
yalla's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Desolation B.C.
Boat: 32 feet of love
Posts: 95
Re: Old autopilot, new wifi MFD

I'm facing a similar situation:

raymarine e7d MFD (fairly new) and spx-5 / st-6002 autopilot

AFAIK the wifi interface can be used to:

1) enable remote display via a Raymarine android / ios app
2) receive radar data (quantum radome)

They are both nmea183 compatible so I am hoping and assuming suijin is correct and course changes can be sent from mfd to autopilot head. If for some reason it does not work, maybe upgrading the head to the p70 will.

aloha
yalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2018, 07:58   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Coming to a Marina Near You
Boat: Hallberg-Rassy 49
Posts: 294
Re: Old autopilot, new wifi MFD

The only way to control your AP is via SeaTalk1. You would need the E22158 kit. It's mostly plug and play with a bit of config on the eS78. You may need a longer SeaTalk NG spur cable though.

This manual should help.
__________________
Professional Reality Checker
KeelMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2018, 08:11   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Coming to a Marina Near You
Boat: Hallberg-Rassy 49
Posts: 294
Re: Old autopilot, new wifi MFD

Quote:
Originally Posted by yalla View Post
I'm facing a similar situation:

raymarine e7d MFD (fairly new) and spx-5 / st-6002 autopilot

AFAIK the wifi interface can be used to:

1) enable remote display via a Raymarine android / ios app
2) receive radar data (quantum radome)

They are both nmea183 compatible so I am hoping and assuming suijin is correct and course changes can be sent from mfd to autopilot head. If for some reason it does not work, maybe upgrading the head to the p70 will.

aloha
The SPX-5 Course computer has SeaTalk NG. You could completely control it from the e7d via SeaTalk NG.

This manual should help.
__________________
Professional Reality Checker
KeelMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2018, 08:46   #6
Registered User
 
Peregrine1983's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 750
Re: Old autopilot, new wifi MFD

Thanks very much KeelMe. So, I imagine there's no way to do this wirelessly? I'm dreading running another cable through my steering pedestal.
Peregrine1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2018, 08:54   #7
Registered User
 
FionaJC's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: East Coast UK
Boat: Colvic 40' Ketch
Posts: 213
Re: Old autopilot, new wifi MFD

I have a Raymarine 4000 Autohelm. I left it where it was and bought a wireless remote from China. I then wired the relay board across the switches. I bought a wired remote to see if I could live with that first but alas no.

I used the wired remote to work out the connections. You can do it with fewer wires but I jest went direct across the switches.

Wired remote anyone?
FionaJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2018, 09:01   #8
Registered User
 
Peregrine1983's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 750
Re: Old autopilot, new wifi MFD

Quote:
Originally Posted by FionaJC View Post
I have a Raymarine 4000 Autohelm. I left it where it was and bought a wireless remote from China. I then wired the relay board across the switches. I bought a wired remote to see if I could live with that first but alas no.

I used the wired remote to work out the connections. You can do it with fewer wires but I jest went direct across the switches.

Wired remote anyone?

Thanks FionaJC. I like this idea... a lot. Can you share what remote you used? And when you say you wired the relay board across the switches what do you mean? I'm no electrical engineer, but I can solder.
Peregrine1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2018, 09:07   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,554
Re: Old autopilot, new wifi MFD

Can't you just buy the wireless controller? Or is that pilot to old for it?

http://www.raymarine.com/view/?id=848
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2018, 09:14   #10
Registered User
 
Peregrine1983's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 750
Re: Old autopilot, new wifi MFD

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
Can't you just buy the wireless controller? Or is that pilot to old for it?

Autopilot Wireless Remote Controls
Oh wow... that might work. It sounds like it has a base station that plugs into the control head for any sea talk auto pilot.
Peregrine1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2018, 09:19   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 8
Re: Old autopilot, new wifi MFD

I have pretty much the same setup and purchased this. Pretty straight forward install.

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F253062028333
iltsail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2018, 09:22   #12
Registered User
 
FionaJC's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: East Coast UK
Boat: Colvic 40' Ketch
Posts: 213
Re: Old autopilot, new wifi MFD

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
Can't you just buy the wireless controller? Or is that pilot to old for it?

Autopilot Wireless Remote Controls
Just looked up the ST6001 so it is compatible with that wireless controller. Ill still put up here what I did and I think that Sailorchic34 did the same before me.
FionaJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2018, 09:33   #13
Registered User
 
FionaJC's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: East Coast UK
Boat: Colvic 40' Ketch
Posts: 213
Re: Old autopilot, new wifi MFD

To wire up my Autohelm 400 which is similar to earlier models.
I bought a 6channel wireless remote, a waterproof plug and socket and a box for it to go in. I wired up the board, put it in the box. I mounted the socket in the 4000 box.

I wired + and - and then each relay across each switch after working out which relay did what as they aren't sequential. Beware buying the wrong switches, you do not want latch or toggle, just instantaneous.

I bought this:
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/12v-6CH-R...oAAOSwPgxVRUK1

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SD20-20mm...item5459777014

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Waterproo...item3d13d0397a

If you arent confident dont do it. Both Sailorchic34 and I are engineers so its quite easy for us to do it.
FionaJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2018, 10:06   #14
Registered User
 
Peregrine1983's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 750
Re: Old autopilot, new wifi MFD

Awesome. Thank you all for the help. Some things to consider!
Peregrine1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2018, 10:12   #15
Registered User
 
Cadence's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: SC
Boat: None,build the one shown of glass, had many from 6' to 48'.
Posts: 7,722
Re: Old autopilot, new wifi MFD

Quote:
Originally Posted by FionaJC View Post
To wire up my Autohelm 400 which is similar to earlier models.
I bought a 6channel wireless remote, a waterproof plug and socket and a box for it to go in. I wired up the board, put it in the box. I mounted the socket in the 4000 box.

I wired + and - and then each relay across each switch after working out which relay did what as they aren't sequential. Beware buying the wrong switches, you do not want latch or toggle, just instantaneous.

I bought this:
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/12v-6CH-R...oAAOSwPgxVRUK1

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SD20-20mm...item5459777014

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Waterproo...item3d13d0397a

If you arent confident dont do it. Both Sailorchic34 and I are engineers so its quite easy for us to do it.
The last sentence is great advise. Stumbling around in the dark may do more harm than good.
__________________

Cadence is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autopilot, wifi

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interfacing existing RL70C MFD with c120 MFD Malco123 Marine Electronics 2 06-02-2018 09:07
[SOLD] Raymarine a77 chart plotter mfd wifi Formosa Scott General Classifieds (no boats) 11 23-01-2017 13:52
Update raymarine instruments/autopilot software without MFD? Flod Marine Electronics 1 11-05-2015 22:20
Simrad mfd to raymarine autopilot Fearnow Marine Electronics 32 14-01-2015 17:08
autopilot - MFD only at helm? dr_c Marine Electronics 8 07-08-2014 04:51



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:12.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.