Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-05-2016, 12:51   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Boat: Sweden Yacht 36
Posts: 22
Ocean Sat class B AIS MMSI reprogram

Posting question on behalf of a friend. She bought a used boat from Germany and boat is now located in Finland. Boat came with Ocean Sat class B AIS transponder:

AIS Class A & B - OceanSat - Connectivity Provider

The MMSI number of the device should now be updated, but Ocean Sat has no representation here in Finland. There is a PC software that is used to program the MMSI, but that can be done only once. Does anyone know any tricks on how to reprogram the MMSI on this device?

We have contacted the manufacturer but no response so far...
__________________

__________________
Kaptah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 13:11   #2
Long Range Cruiser
 
MarkJ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Posts: 12,828
Images: 25
Re: Ocean Sat class B AIS MMSI reprogram

It *must* be sent to the manufacturer to be changed. Most companies charge about $30 to change the mmsi. Agents are not allowed to do it.

A while ago on some brands you could find on the internet the series of key-strokes to go into the factory setup and change the mmsi. I never could find it myself (for a VHF radio to use DSC), but its worth a Google search on the make/model.


Mark

Sent from a stupid phone that replaces words with weird stuff.
__________________

__________________
Notes on a Circumnavigation.
OurLifeAtSea.com

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2016, 18:39   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Re: Ocean Sat class B AIS MMSI reprogram

As far as I know this cannot be done at home.

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2016, 11:01   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Finland
Boat: Nautor's Swan 431
Posts: 16
Re: Ocean Sat class B AIS MMSI reprogram

Hi, if the AIS unit came with the ProAIS program it propably uses the SRT AIS class B OEM board. It can be then reseted back to factory settings with the next sentence: $PSRT,RDP*6F

Where in Finland is the Yacht located?

IHe
Swan 431 "CAID"
vene TPS:n kotisatamassa Ruissalossa










Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
ihe2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2016, 13:42   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Boat: Sweden Yacht 36
Posts: 22
Re: Ocean Sat class B AIS MMSI reprogram

Yes, the program to configure the device is ProAIS so this sounds very interesting. I myself have never used the software, so I didn't quite understand how the sentences would be used.

However the manufacturer finally replied and they will reset the MMSI for free, only postage need to paid. So I don't know if my friend will like to try anything "unofficial".

We are located in Helsinki in MVS, Merihaan Veneseura.

Anyway thanks very much for the help, maybe I will get back to you on this.
__________________
Kaptah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 00:03   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Finland
Boat: Nautor's Swan 431
Posts: 16
Re: Ocean Sat class B AIS MMSI reprogram

Hi, Yes it is absolutely a right choice to do it as You told. My solution is more or less "hacking" the AIS unit with OS-level commands which need some expertice to be used correctly. You cannot execute them by the ProAIS software, You need to connect into the AIS with another software with correct settings to use them.

ProAIS software is kind of a set of trusted OS-level sentences with nice graphical UI You can use to configure the AIS unit, set it to silent mode, etc. But at the proprietary OS-level there are a lot of commands the manufacturer of the AIS does not want You to use. Using them is hacking the unit and makes You a hacker. You propably could increase the transmission power and time of the unit and suddenly You have a AIS Class A unit in your hands instead of the original Class B. This is just a wild quess, but propably possible and propably needs some hacking of the physical parts of it too. I haven't ivestigated it. I've only adjusted some less known and legally adjustable parameters of the unit to make it more suitable to my own use.

This SRT board is widely used and marketed among different wellknown brands (Raymarine, Transas, ...).

Soon will we be sailing again!

IHe
Swan 431 "CAID"


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________

__________________
ihe2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reprogram a Sitex AIS? TheOffice Marine Electronics 0 25-01-2016 08:52
Reprogram Sitek AIS? TheOffice Navigation 0 24-01-2016 19:54
Comar CSB200 AIS reprogram millhouse_44 Marine Electronics 9 30-01-2015 04:53
Send AIS Message to MMSI by OpenCPN bailizi OpenCPN 3 04-09-2012 17:02
MMSI Number for AIS with Future Foreign Travels ? SvenG Marine Electronics 7 14-01-2010 08:08



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:02.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.