Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-10-2012, 01:10   #1
Registered User
 
Sweet Chariot's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Berkeley NSW
Boat: Swanson 32
Posts: 77
NMEA output problem

Hello all,

I am trying to interface my Lowrance Elite 5M Chartplotter to my Raymarine SP-X5 wheelpilot and the two are not communicating.

1. Is there an easy way of checking the NMEA output to see that the chartplotter is outputting information and

2. What would be the baud rate to set the Chartplotter as both manuals do not give this information.

I was hoping someone may have done this configuration and could advise,

Any help appreciated,

Steve
__________________

__________________
www.sweetchariot.blog.com
Sweet Chariot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 04:59   #2
Registered User
 
Andrew G's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Boat: Van deStadt 34
Posts: 80
Re: NMEA output problem

Steve,
I donít know your specific instruments but I use Hyperterminal on my PC (a standard Windows program usually under Applications/Communications) to check my chartplotter is outputting correctly.
You will need a cable from the Chartplotter to your PC's Serial DB9 connector (or USB to Serial converter):
- to upload to the Chartplotter Pin 3 = NMEA +ve, Pin 5 = NMEA -ve.
- to download from the Chartplotter Pin 2 = NMEA +ve, Pin 5 = NMEA -ve.
In Hyperterminal you will need settings set to:
- File/Properties/Connect using=COMx {where x is to suit your Serial port};
- Configure/Bits per second=4800, Databits=8, Parity=None, Stop bits=1;
- Flow Control=None {THIS IS IMPORTANT};
- Settings/ASCII Setup/ Tick "Send line ends with line feeds",
Tick "Echo typed characters locally".
I hope this helps,
Andrew
__________________

__________________
Andrew G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 16:59   #3
Registered User
 
Sumner's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SE Utah
Boat: 1981 Endeavour 37 & 1990 MacGregor 26 Classic
Posts: 370
Re: NMEA output problem

Besides Andrew's suggestion you could download SeaClear II or OpenCPN, both free, to your computer and then with a USB to serial adapter, if you don't have a serial port on the computer (unlikely) connect to the chartplotter. It should show your position.

This would take a couple hours to work through, but you would also end up with a backup to the chartplotter in the future.

You would have to get a USB GPS puck for position if the chartplotter was down and you were using the computer as a chartplotter.

On the baud rate I'd start with 4800 on both if you don't have the manuals.

Good luck,

Sum
Sumner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 02:35   #4
Registered User
 
Sweet Chariot's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Berkeley NSW
Boat: Swanson 32
Posts: 77
Thanks Guys for all you help.


I'll progress the matter further now I have somewhere to start,

Steve
__________________
www.sweetchariot.blog.com
Sweet Chariot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:09.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.