Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2019, 15:16   #1
Registered User
 
Davidhoy's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Hollywood FL
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 948
NMEA 2000 to NMEA 0183

Hey Folks,

I'm planning a partial electronics upgrade, replacing an existing Raymarine chartplotter and radar with new Garmin gear (MFD, radar, forward scan sonar, depth, wind, and speed). Upgrading the autopilot and cockpit displays will come later, so I need a way to get data onto the Seatalk 1 network. I've been looking at connecting an Actisense NGW-1-ISO between the N2K network and the NMEA 0183 input to the AP course computer - according to the documentation, the course computer should take 0183 data and route to the Seatalk 1 network.

Any other options to consider other than the Actisense?

Attached is a drawing of my anticipated layout, all constructive feedback is welcome...

Regards,
David
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Scan from 2019-12-10 05_15_04 PM.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	408.5 KB
ID:	204791  
__________________

__________________
Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain
Davidhoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 15:59   #2
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 12,777
Images: 14
Re: NMEA 2000 to NMEA 0183

David, you seem to have 2 sources of depth on board, are they different frequencies? I currently have Garmin and Raymarine but they work because they are different frequencies and at opposite ends of the boat. My problem will be trying to replace the Garmin with 2 RM depth displays, I see trouble ahead.

How about 2 separate networks? ST60s as a stand alone bank. Garmin CP and new Garmin AP now, then follow up with the radar and fwd looking sounder later. Why suggest this? well the latest APs are way better than the older kit like ST6000. They use gyro compasses in place of fluxgate which is chalk and cheese. So you would benefit from this with the laest CP and presumably AIS over a 2000 network.

Pete
__________________

Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 16:01   #3
Registered User

Join Date: May 2017
Location: Gulf of Finland
Boat: Y40
Posts: 55
Re: NMEA 2000 to NMEA 0183

ShipModul MiniPlex 3-series
ChrisseH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 16:02   #4
Registered User
 
Davidhoy's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Hollywood FL
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 948
Re: NMEA 2000 to NMEA 0183

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete7 View Post
David, you seem to have 2 sources of depth on board, are they different frequencies? I currently have Garmin and Raymarine but they work because they are different frequencies and at opposite ends of the boat. My problem will be trying to update the Garmin with 2 RM depth displays, I see trouble ahead.
The PS51 forward scan sonar should be the only depth source. The ST800 transducer is speed and temperature only.
__________________
Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain
Davidhoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 16:11   #5
Registered User
 
Davidhoy's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Hollywood FL
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 948
Re: NMEA 2000 to NMEA 0183

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisseH View Post
ShipModul MiniPlex 3-series
Interesting, but a bit more complex, and pricey, than I'm looking for. The Vesper XB-8000 AIS transponder will already give me the WiFi capabilities, all I'm looking for is a simple way to preserve the old Raymarine ST60+ displays and the ST-6000 autopilot until I can get around to replacing them too. In fact I already have "new" autopilot, a Garmin Reactor 40, but want to stage the upgrades so I'm not changing everything at once.
__________________
Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain
Davidhoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 17:11   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 283
Re: NMEA 2000 to NMEA 0183

Won’t the Vesper already do the NMEA2000<->NMEA0183 conversion for you? The XB-6000 does.
AedanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 17:16   #7
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 10,016
Re: NMEA 2000 to NMEA 0183

Quote:
Originally Posted by AedanC View Post
Won’t the Vesper already do the NMEA2000<->NMEA0183 conversion for you? The XB-6000 does.
Yes, the XB-8000 does the nmea-0183 conversion so OP does not have to buy additional converters
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 17:40   #8
Registered User
 
boom23's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Med.
Boat: Amel 50
Posts: 954
Re: NMEA 2000 to NMEA 0183

Here is a list of NMEA 2000 messages that the XB-8000 translates to NMEA0183:

PGN's Received:
127250 Vessel Heading
128259 Speed
128267 Water Depth
128275 Distance Log
130306 Wind
130310 Water Temperature
130311 Water Temperature
130312 Water Temperature
130316 Water Temperature
129283 Cross Track Error
192284 Navigation Data
129285 Route/WP Information


PGN's Sent:
129025 Position
129026 COG & SOG
129029 GNSS Positions
129540 GNSS Satellites
129038 AIS Class A Position
129039 AIS Class B Position
129040 AIS Class A Extended Position
129041 AIS Aids to Navigation Report
129794 AIS Class A Static Voyage
129798 AIS SAR Aircraft Position
129801 AIS Addressed Safety
129802 AIS Safety Related Broadcast
129809 AIS Class B "CS" Static, Part A
129810 AIS Class B "CS" Static, Part B
129283 Cross Track Error
192284 Navigation Data
129285 Route/WP Information

A summary of NMEA Translations can be found here: https://downloads.vespermarine.com/d...anslations.pdf
boom23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 18:57   #9
Registered User
 
Davidhoy's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Hollywood FL
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 948
Re: NMEA 2000 to NMEA 0183

Wish you guys were right, but the XB-8000 only supports a limited set of NMEA 0183 outputs, and the data I need most - boat speed, water temperature, depth, wind, etc - are received via 0183, but not transmitted. Hence the need for a N2K-to-0183 device other than the Vesper.

Here's the list of NMEA 0183 translations that the XB-8000 does support, both receive and transmit. I'm more interested in the transmit for my purposes.
https://downloads.vespermarine.com/d...anslations.pdf

I can, and will, use the 0183 output from the Vesper to provide GPS position to my M802 SSB and VHF for DSC purposes.
__________________
Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain
Davidhoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 19:03   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,766
Re: NMEA 2000 to NMEA 0183

get a raymarine seatalk to seatalkng converter. And conect direct from seatalk to nmea 2000.

The st60 And pilot data will all show up on the Garmin.

Then use the 183 out of vesper to feed vhf. As it’s probably always on. You could feed 183 from mfd to vhf. But then vhf will alarm if mfd is shut off.

Are you trying to run 2 pilots? That may effect things. You may want them totally separate.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 19:11   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Southern Calif.
Posts: 666
Re: NMEA 2000 to NMEA 0183

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
get a raymarine seatalk to seatalkng converter. And conect direct from seatalk to nmea 2000.

The st60 And pilot data will all show up on the Garmin.

Then use the 183 out of vesper to feed vhf. As it’s probably always on. You could feed 183 from mfd to vhf. But then vhf will alarm if mfd is shut off.

Are you trying to run 2 pilots? That may effect things. You may want them totally separate.
I recently added ST60's etc. to a new Garmin using the Ray converter and a Seatalk ng to nmea 2000 cable.
Raymarine SeaTalk1 to SeaTalk NG Converter Kit
Calif.Ted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 19:32   #12
Registered User
 
Davidhoy's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Hollywood FL
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 948
Re: NMEA 2000 to NMEA 0183

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
get a raymarine seatalk to seatalkng converter. And conect direct from seatalk to nmea 2000.

The st60 And pilot data will all show up on the Garmin.

Then use the 183 out of vesper to feed vhf. As it’s probably always on. You could feed 183 from mfd to vhf. But then vhf will alarm if mfd is shut off.

Are you trying to run 2 pilots? That may effect things. You may want them totally separate.
Thanks, I'll look into that. As you suggest, I'm planning on the 0183 output from the Vesper to provide GPS position to the VHF and SSB, since as you point out it will pretty much always be on.

The Garmin autopilot is not currently installed, and when I do install it, it will replace the ST-6000, not run in parallel.

Looking forward to having the Panoptix PS-51 forward scan sonar, it should be arriving Friday. My keel is 7'10" deep, so knowing depth ahead will be invaluable.
__________________
Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain
Davidhoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 21:01   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,766
Re: NMEA 2000 to NMEA 0183

this is the raymarine kit.

you'll also need a setalkng to nmea2000 cable. or make one. seatalkng and nmea2000 is the same thing, but with a diffferent connector.

Raymarine SeaTalk1 to SeaTalk NG Converter Kit


they are a little tricky to hook up. they pass power between seatalk
and seatalkng. so you either power one or the other only. or you can cut the power wire somewhere. to power the seatalk and nmea2000 seperate.

they are desisnged to be used as part of the backbone. the blue ends are terminators. so you can add it to the end of the nmea 2000 backbone, and use one blue termanator, and the other end would be a nmea 2000 terminator. and you'd have to make a custom blue backbone cable to nmea 2000 end. or I use them as a single drop off the nmea 2000 backbone, but then don't use the 2 blue holes or terminators or 2nd white hole. only the yellow setalk cable and the nmea 2000 drop cable go into it. (this useage is not in the manual)
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 04:46   #14
Marine Service Provider
 
Snore's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Boat: Tartan 33 and OPB
Posts: 2,631
Send a message via Skype™ to Snore
NMEA 2000 to NMEA 0183

I have a similar set-up on my boat.

Suggest you use a Vesper xb-8000 to up convert. It adds AIS and does the 0183-2k conversion. If you get the Wi-Fi version it is even nicer.

Watch eBay for the Ray part that does SeaTalk-1 to ST-NG. I snagged mine for $35.

If you subscribe to Practical Sailor, there is an article coming in the January edition about this very topic.
__________________
"Whenever...it requires a strong moral principle to prevent me from deliberately stepping into the street, and methodically knocking people's hats off- then, I account it high time to get to sea..." Ismael -a link to my delivery website is in my profile—
Snore is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 05:07   #15
Registered User
 
Davidhoy's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Hollywood FL
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 948
Re: NMEA 2000 to NMEA 0183

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snore View Post
Suggest you use a Vesper xb-8000 to up convert. It adds AIS and does the 0183-2k conversion. If you get the Wi-Fi version it is even nicer.
The XB-8000 is the WiFi version. While it does do some conversion from N2K to 0183, it’s limited. For example, it does not do wind data. Otherwise a very nice unit.
__________________

Davidhoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nmea, nmea 0183, nmea 2000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a NMEA 2000 Chart Plotter to a NMEA 0183 Network SailingPNW Marine Electronics 25 21-02-2019 10:57
ICOM SSB and NMEA 0183 vs 2000 bbhflts Marine Electronics 13 06-11-2016 11:58
AIS with WiFi, NMEA 2000, 0183, usb Neptune's Gear Vendor Spotlight - Great Deals for CF Members! 7 24-01-2014 00:37
NMEA 2000 TO 0183 cables aliddell Marine Electronics 8 07-12-2013 18:55
NEW AIS Bundle NMEA 2000,0183,USB & wifi Neptune's Gear Vendor Spotlight - Great Deals for CF Members! 6 15-11-2013 14:09

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:58.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.