Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2013, 20:20   #1
Registered User
 
mikefossl's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Hawaii
Boat: CS 40
Posts: 171
Nexus Autopilot Instrument

Our instrument no longer responds to buttons being pressed. It displays everything correctly and the autopilot responds to my Nexus Chartplotter mounted below, but I'd like to control it from the helm. Any suggestions as to what may be wrong? I've checked connections carefully and reinitialzed the Nexus network several times.

Is there another way to control the autopilot through NMEA? I have a Lowrance HDS Chartplotter at the helm as well.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Michael Fössl
S/V Second Jump
British Columbia
mikefossl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2015, 02:39   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Re: Nexus Autopilot Instrument

[QUOTE=mikefossl;1207822]Our instrument no longer responds to buttons being pressed. It displays everything correctly and the autopilot responds to my Nexus Chartplotter mounted below, but I'd like to control it from the helm. Any suggestions as to what may be wrong? I've checked connections carefully and reinitialzed the Nexus network several times.

Is there another way to control the autopilot through NMEA? I have a Lowrance HDS Chartplotter at the helm as well.

Thanks.[/Hi, I have exactly the same problem and I'd alos like to control the autonav directly but don't know how, I opened up the unit and found water inside, the pcb where the buttons are is completely corroded, I want to replace the unit but don't know whether the nx2 unit is compatible with the old nexus classic line unit. The autonav A1510 has served me well over 10 years and have done 2 solo atlantic crossings with it, anybody know where i can get a replacement unit ? The nx2 unit retails at Us700, before imprt tax, which is skyhigh for us in south africa, mike.a.friedrich@gmail.com]
__________________

__________________
Waggis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2015, 04:22   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,573
Images: 240
Re: Nexus Autopilot Instrument

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Waggis.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2015, 09:33   #4
Registered User
 
mikefossl's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Hawaii
Boat: CS 40
Posts: 171
Re: Nexus Autopilot Instrument

Quote:
Originally Posted by Waggis View Post
I want to replace the unit but don't know whether the nx2 unit is compatible with the old nexus classic line unit. mike.a.friedrich@gmail.com]
I did buy an Nexus NX2 Autopilot display and it works perfectly with the old Nexus Classic autopilot.
__________________
Michael Fössl
S/V Second Jump
British Columbia
mikefossl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:59.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.