Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-07-2018, 04:56   #1
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The boat: Cowes (Winter), Above 60N (Summer); me: somewhere in the air!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 22,802
Networking Question

For you network geeks --


I have just managed to connect my ship's computer, a fixed-mount low power PC, to my boat network via Ethernet. Using a spare port on the Go Free WiFi router.



It works great and gives me full radar control (using the excellent OpenCPN plug in) besides all of the network data.


The only problem is that if I simultaneously connect to Internet using the ship's computer's wifi, one or the other won't work -- there is some kind of collision. I have to disable the Ethernet card in order to download GRIBs.


Anyone have a tip on how to resolve this?
__________________

__________________
"Parce que je suis heureux en mer, et peut-Ítre pour sauver mon ame. . . "
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2018, 06:07   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,834
Re: Networking Question

What OS?

The OS is prioritizing the Ethernet higher than Wi-Fi. You may be able to set the default gateway on the Ethernet to the same as Wi-Fi, or re-prioritize the interfaces in the route table. Assuming there is only 1 network on the Ethernet, this will work fine.
__________________

DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2018, 06:27   #3
Registered User
 
Reefmagnet's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: puɐןsuǝǝnb 'ʎɐʞɔɐɯ
Boat: Nantucket Island 33
Posts: 2,822
Re: Networking Question

What's likely happening is that when you request data from the Internet, the request is being sent to your wired connection instead of the wifi so it never reaches the destination. First check is that the networks aren't on the same subnet. Once this is verified check your dns and gateway configuration.You want to make sure requests to to the internet are sent to the wifi,

Assuming you use windows, "Ping" and "Tracert" commands typed into a command window can help you troubleshoot. "nslookup" is also a good tool, but is a little more advanced to use.
Reefmagnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2018, 06:31   #4
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Boat: Morgan Out Island 41
Posts: 916
Images: 2
Re: Networking Question

what is your wifi IP address? what is your wired IP address? are they on the same subnet?
pcmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2018, 09:59   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Greater Boston area
Boat: Just had my offer accepted on a CS36T - survey, etc pending
Posts: 9
Re: Networking Question

You haven't specified OS so I will assume Windows 10. I'd guess your routes are being replaced depending on which network you connect to and in which order.

Is there a reason the Wifi router can't provide the ethernet connection to your PC rather than having the PC connect directly to the ethernet wifi? That would probably be the easiest solution.

Outside of that you will probably have to add some static routes (a relatively easy process).

If you can show your IPv4 routing tables when connected to:
1. Ship network only
2. Internet wifi only
3. Both

I could probably tell you what you need to add. To see your routing tables:

1. In the "Type here to search" box next to the lower left windows button on the screen type "cmd" - this will open a command prompt.

2. In the command prompt window type "route print" - a page or so of output will appear. Find the "IPv4 Route Table" section and copy the output for the scenarios above if you want to add static routes.

3. In the above do not include the quotes in your typing.
reduc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2018, 11:53   #6
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Boat: Morgan Out Island 41
Posts: 916
Images: 2
Re: Networking Question

Assuming both the wifi and wired connections aren't on the same subnet, you have a routing issue. by default your PC will assign a route to 0.0.0.0 (every network it doesn't know about) to the first LAN connection that you connected (or the preferred one) you need to add a route to your routing table to define WHICH LAN connection to use to get to the internet.
pcmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2018, 12:09   #7
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The boat: Cowes (Winter), Above 60N (Summer); me: somewhere in the air!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 22,802
Re: Networking Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by DotDun View Post
What OS?

The OS is prioritizing the Ethernet higher than Wi-Fi. You may be able to set the default gateway on the Ethernet to the same as Wi-Fi, or re-prioritize the interfaces in the route table. Assuming there is only 1 network on the Ethernet, this will work fine.

Win 10


Thanks -- I'll have a look at that.
__________________
"Parce que je suis heureux en mer, et peut-Ítre pour sauver mon ame. . . "
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2018, 05:37   #8
Guest

Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 80
Re: Networking Question

Check that you don't have a device connected to BOTH wifi AND ethernet.

Also make sure there is only ONE device on the network offering network addresses - this should be your internet gateway device - all other devices should connect as clients and use auto mode (DHCP) to get their configuration.
Unregistered-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 03:43   #9
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The boat: Cowes (Winter), Above 60N (Summer); me: somewhere in the air!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 22,802
Re: Networking Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by reduc View Post
You haven't specified OS so I will assume Windows 10. I'd guess your routes are being replaced depending on which network you connect to and in which order.

Is there a reason the Wifi router can't provide the ethernet connection to your PC rather than having the PC connect directly to the ethernet wifi? That would probably be the easiest solution.

Outside of that you will probably have to add some static routes (a relatively easy process).

If you can show your IPv4 routing tables when connected to:
1. Ship network only
2. Internet wifi only
3. Both

I could probably tell you what you need to add. To see your routing tables:

1. In the "Type here to search" box next to the lower left windows button on the screen type "cmd" - this will open a command prompt.

2. In the command prompt window type "route print" - a page or so of output will appear. Find the "IPv4 Route Table" section and copy the output for the scenarios above if you want to add static routes.

3. In the above do not include the quotes in your typing.

Thank you -- this is really helpful.


I would prefer not to route the connection to the boat network through any other router.


Basically, what I have is the Navico "WiFi One" module (sometimes referred to as "Go Free"), which is connected to the boat network by Ethernet. The nav table Zeus plotter has a switch in it, to which the radar and the other plotter are connected, as well as the WiFi One.


The WiFi one is a wifi router. As long as I don't have any other network adapter on the boat computer connected to anything, the Ethernet connection works fine. The network identifies as "GoFree Wifi 21D2". I get radar as well as network data (in NMEA 0183 form), and I can control the radar from the boat computer using the OpenCPN Navico radar plug-in.


I could do as you suggest and connect the WiFi One to a Huawei router instead of to the boat computer, and plug the boat computer into the router. But this would require the router to be on -- and I don't need it offshore. Also it would be somewhat complicated to use a wifi Internet connection (rather than the mobile phone connection which the Huawei B593 makes itself).



I don't use Internet much on the boat computer because I don't do general computing on it, but I do need to connect from time to time to download GRIBs, update software, load charts, etc. I could just unplug the Ethernet cable whenever I do so, which is what I've been doing. But this network problem is a puzzle which I would like to solve just on principle!


I pulled up the routing table as you suggested. It looks like this:


Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	56
Size:	32.3 KB
ID:	175169




So the idea is to create a Persistent Route to the Go Free router, which will be unaffected by other network connections?
__________________
"Parce que je suis heureux en mer, et peut-Ítre pour sauver mon ame. . . "
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 05:16   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 8
Re: Networking Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
Thank you -- this is really helpful.


I would prefer not to route the connection to the boat network through any other router.


Basically, what I have is the Navico "WiFi One" module (sometimes referred to as "Go Free"), which is connected to the boat network by Ethernet. The nav table Zeus plotter has a switch in it, to which the radar and the other plotter are connected, as well as the WiFi One.


The WiFi one is a wifi router. As long as I don't have any other network adapter on the boat computer connected to anything, the Ethernet connection works fine. The network identifies as "GoFree Wifi 21D2". I get radar as well as network data (in NMEA 0183 form), and I can control the radar from the boat computer using the OpenCPN Navico radar plug-in.


I could do as you suggest and connect the WiFi One to a Huawei router instead of to the boat computer, and plug the boat computer into the router. But this would require the router to be on -- and I don't need it offshore. Also it would be somewhat complicated to use a wifi Internet connection (rather than the mobile phone connection which the Huawei B593 makes itself).



I don't use Internet much on the boat computer because I don't do general computing on it, but I do need to connect from time to time to download GRIBs, update software, load charts, etc. I could just unplug the Ethernet cable whenever I do so, which is what I've been doing. But this network problem is a puzzle which I would like to solve just on principle!


I pulled up the routing table as you suggested. It looks like this:


Attachment 175169




So the idea is to create a Persistent Route to the Go Free router, which will be unaffected by other network connections?


Based on your screenshot, All of your network traffic currently goes to one interface.

You can add multiple routes by using Windows route command. You would need to do that every time you start the computer and most likely every time you power on the Huawei router. Windows tends to flush routes if the interface goes away.

The good news is that it is single command and it can be automated with a small script.
Sailorboy FIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 05:25   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 8
Re: Networking Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailorboy FIN View Post
Based on your screenshot, All of your network traffic currently goes to one interface.

You can add multiple routes by using Windows route command. You would need to do that every time you start the computer and most likely every time you power on the Huawei router. Windows tends to flush routes if the interface goes away.

The good news is that it is single command and it can be automated with a small script.


Just in case clarification is needed:
The network destination 0.0.0.0 is your default route. All traffic that is not specified in the routing table will go there and in your case the gateway out is 192.168.0.1.

What you want to do is to specify the default route to hit your Huawei router and add a special route to your GoFree network.

Make sure the IP addresses are not overlapping and that you use internal network range.

I would make the GoFree network to be 10.0.0.0 with a netmask of 255.255.255.0 and the Huawei network to be 192.168.0.0 with netmask of 255.255.255.0. That way the two would be easy to identify.
Sailorboy FIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 08:13   #12
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The boat: Cowes (Winter), Above 60N (Summer); me: somewhere in the air!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 22,802
Re: Networking Question

OK, thanks for all of this. Does it make sense to use one of these tools to manipulate the routing table?


https://www.raymond.cc/blog/choosing...le-editor-gui/
__________________
"Parce que je suis heureux en mer, et peut-Ítre pour sauver mon ame. . . "
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 21:02   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 8
Re: Networking Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
OK, thanks for all of this. Does it make sense to use one of these tools to manipulate the routing table?


https://www.raymond.cc/blog/choosing...le-editor-gui/


You could pick the one you like. Iím more of a scripting kind a guy and would just write a script that would automatically do the right thing, every time.
Sailorboy FIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 06:52   #14
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The boat: Cowes (Winter), Above 60N (Summer); me: somewhere in the air!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 22,802
Re: Networking Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailorboy FIN View Post
You could pick the one you like. Iím more of a scripting kind a guy and would just write a script that would automatically do the right thing, every time.

Your skills are above average, and certainly above mine


It's been about 25 years since I wrote a script for anything, and I'm not sure I'm willing to devote the time to get back up to speed.
__________________
"Parce que je suis heureux en mer, et peut-Ítre pour sauver mon ame. . . "
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 07:15   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 8
Re: Networking Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
Your skills are above average, and certainly above mine


It's been about 25 years since I wrote a script for anything, and I'm not sure I'm willing to devote the time to get back up to speed.


I would not count on my skills, but I have time

In that case, NetRouteView seems to do the trick.
__________________

Sailorboy FIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless networking question callistov42 Marine Electronics 6 21-02-2017 22:34
Question for Networking Gurus Dockhead Marine Electronics 3 05-03-2016 18:04
General Info: Mapping facility and social networking for FP philbusby Fountaine Pajot 0 25-05-2013 02:14



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:58.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.