Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2013, 17:43   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: michigan
Boat: CORBIN 39
Posts: 301
Need Help on AIS Hookup

I have been working on this for two days and had no success. there was a timeI could do this but age is getting the best of me on this. I installed a new uniden VHF with AIS, I know there is only two wires to hook together. I have a raymarine GPS antennae that is sending data to ray marine radar and chart plotter. this is working, but can the GPS be daisy chained to the radio? I tried several ways but to no avail. there does not appear to be anyway I can see what the setup is for the GPS (baud rate, etc),The manuals speak of sea talk but I am using nmea. also in the middle of this is the cetrex auto pilot, which used to work off the old Garmin gmap 175. sure wish there were a technician near me. Is there a gps for dummies somewhere?
__________________

__________________
sailr69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 18:40   #2
Registered User
 
sabray's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wash DC
Boat: PETERSON 44
Posts: 3,169
How about some model numbers. Should be 0183 or 2000 inputs and outputs on the equipment.
__________________

__________________
sabray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 18:56   #3
Moderator
 
Paul Elliott's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,867
Images: 4
Re: need help on ais hookup

It would help to know the model # of the Raymarine GPS. If it is putting out SeaTalk (rather than NMEA-0183) then that's likely the problem. Your VHF probably needs 0183, or possibly NMEA-2000.

But if I knew for sure, I wouldn't have used "likely", "probably" or "possibly"!
__________________
Paul Elliott, S/V VALIS - Pacific Seacraft 44 #16 - Friday Harbor, WA
www.sailvalis.com
Paul Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 19:07   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: michigan
Boat: CORBIN 39
Posts: 301
Re: need help on ais hookup

pretty sure it is the 125 model. 0183 has worked in the past. but I am not sure. how do I confirm?
__________________
sailr69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 19:09   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: michigan
Boat: CORBIN 39
Posts: 301
Re: need help on ais hookup

Quote:
Originally Posted by sabray View Post
How about some model numbers. Should be 0183 or 2000 inputs and outputs on the equipment.
tomorrow I will call Raymarine and confirm all of this
__________________
sailr69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 19:17   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pickering Ontario
Boat: 1995 hunter 430
Posts: 329
Re: need help on ais hookup

Sign up for the raymarine technical forum....put the question and they respond with the right answer and part numbers..... They have helped me on several occasions
__________________
Navicula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 20:19   #7
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Re: need help on ais hookup

Check your Ray plotter if it has NMEA data OUT. If so, the GPS will feed the plotter then the plotter will feed the VHF. Etc.

NMEA signal can be daisy chained but depending on your gps how many times. I have connected two pieces of listeners to single talkers without a hitch.

Most gps units send either 4800 or 9600 bauds.

Nmea gps data goes out via the ground (-) wire and the data (out) wire BUT various manufacturers label and colour these differently.

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 00:03   #8
Moderator
 
Paul Elliott's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,867
Images: 4
Re: need help on ais hookup

I see that the Raymarine Raystar 125 GPS can put out either SeaTalk (2 varieties) or NMEA-0183. The choice is apparently configured when the unit is installed.

I would check the owner's manual.
__________________
Paul Elliott, S/V VALIS - Pacific Seacraft 44 #16 - Friday Harbor, WA
www.sailvalis.com
Paul Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 08:37   #9
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Re: need help on ais hookup

What is the plotter model your using? If it has a NMEA 0183 connection, get the correct cable and connect the AIS to the plotter and not the antenna. Chuck
__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 10:20   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: michigan
Boat: CORBIN 39
Posts: 301
Re: need help on ais hookup

Quote:
Originally Posted by sabray View Post
How about some model numbers. Should be 0183 or 2000 inputs and outputs on the equipment.

I can now say the rs125 is using nmea 0183. looks to me all I need to do now is ground one of the wires from the radio and then the other (right one) to the yellow (out/+ ) of the RS125 . will the NMEA wires from the radar/ chartplotter also relay GPS sentence to the cetrex AP ?
__________________
sailr69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 10:38   #11
Moderator
 
Paul Elliott's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,867
Images: 4
Re: need help on ais hookup

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailr69 View Post
I can now say the rs125 is using nmea 0183. looks to me all I need to do now is ground one of the wires from the radio and then the other (right one) to the yellow (out/+ ) of the RS125 . will the NMEA wires from the radar/ chartplotter also relay GPS sentence to the cetrex AP ?
The answer to both questions is probably "yes". What model chartplotter do you have? You may need to configure the chartplotter NMEA out for 4800 bps speed. If the chartplotter has true NMEA output (+ and -), then you will connect these to the + and - inputs of the radio (if it has them). Sometimes the nomenclature is confusing, so if feel free to swap + and - and see if that works.

As for the radio connection to the GPS, which wire you ground is important. If you don't know, try one, and if that doesn't work try the other.

If you give us the model #'s for the radio and chartplotter, we might be able to give you precise instructions.
__________________

__________________
Paul Elliott, S/V VALIS - Pacific Seacraft 44 #16 - Friday Harbor, WA
www.sailvalis.com
Paul Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIS Simulation - Run VDR to play AIS Nmea file rgleason OpenCPN 16 12-01-2013 11:28
OpenCPN and the ”MarineGadget Radar - AIS Receiver" X382-SWE130 OpenCPN 15 11-10-2012 06:53
AIS Unit for Raymarine Chartplotter System mukilteomaniac Marine Electronics 4 23-01-2012 02:06
Route Properties, Missing Functions James Baines OpenCPN 13 13-07-2011 05:31
AIS Reception Issue twistedtree Marine Electronics 72 03-07-2011 04:57



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:56.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.