Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2005, 05:05   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Western PA...boat on Chesapeake Bay
Boat: Tartan 33 "Radiant"
Posts: 33
Images: 4
Send a message via AIM to halyardz
Navman Wind Instrument - Opinions

Would appreciate hearing from anybody with experience with Navman line and in particular their wind speed/direction unit.
__________________

__________________
halyardz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2005, 16:11   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 367
Images: 11
I have used the Navman 3100 instrument set for about a year and have nothing but good things to say. I really like the way they mount with one large "nut" on the back and a built in gasket. The navbus works well between instruments and to the repeater. They also support NMEA outputs. Be warned that the NMEA outputs are all independent. Data from the Navbus is not output via NMEA, just the data from the instrument you are reading from.

I have the electronic display wind instrument, not the analog. For my cruising sailing style it works just great. They also make a neat little color fish finder that I have just bought and am installing in place of the depth sounder. It is just small enough to fit in my panel and has an great display. I am going to put the depth display down as a repeater in the nav station. I also plan to buy a second wind display to put at the nav station. It will provide a back up and be easier to read that the repeater that is strictly a numerical read out.

Woody
__________________

__________________
exposure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2005, 15:06   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Guilford, CT
Boat: 1980 Lancer 30
Posts: 5
Talking Navman Instruments

I installed a full set of Navman insruments at the start of this season and have nothing but great things to say about them. The Navbus works well as well as the NEMA outputs to other things like my GPS plotter.

Sorry for the long delay in answering.
__________________
Firesail
LIS, CT
Firesail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2005, 04:02   #4
Registered User

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Western PA...boat on Chesapeake Bay
Boat: Tartan 33 "Radiant"
Posts: 33
Images: 4
Send a message via AIM to halyardz
I got this feedback from other sailors that installed Navman gear. I'll keep the ID private as I didn't get their permission.
"We purchased Navman 3100 series for our 2-year cruise. Multi, wind, and GPS/Plotter. We have had problems with ALL of the units. GPS would freeze up when passing waypoints. They FINALLY replaced it after mush runaround and difficulty. The speed log is always off, and the wind direction is totally fictional. We're not at all impressed, wither with the units or with thier customer service. Wish we'd spent a little more for Raymarine. "

Not sure where to go with purchase. You guys said great, they said not so great.

I currently have Raymarine ST60 Tridata and Ray Autohelm autopilot.
__________________
halyardz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2005, 04:20   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
Talbot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Privilege 37
Posts: 3,579
Images: 32
I also know of a boat with mega problems with their Navman wind/log etc. However we both have nothing but praise for their plotters 5500/5600,

I have Silva instruments (budget range) and think they are extremely good)
__________________
"Be wary of strong drink. It can make you shoot at tax collectors - and miss."
Robert A Heinlein
Talbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2005, 07:11   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 367
Images: 11
My 3100 system is stiil doing fine. I hope the troubles that others are having is not a sign of things to come. FYI, I use a Garmin GPS.
__________________
exposure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2005, 22:38   #7
Registered User
 
Thermal's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Honolulu
Boat: S2 11.0C 36' Puka Wai
Posts: 157
Images: 1
I bought Navman's "combo" ( wind 3150, speed 3100, depth 3100, and 3100 repeater). Haven't installed the depth sounder yet - waiting till my next haulout for that. Had a problem with the speed sensor in that the output wire was potted into the sensor such that it was perfectly in line with the holes for the safety clip. That was a malfunction waiting to happen so I wanted it exchanged. Then I discover that Navman had just be acquired by Brunswick Technologies, and as is usually the case when this happens, customer service was dismal. Eventually got the replacement sensor, then everything worked great. Hasn't seen much use yet, so I'll just have to wait and see if it holds up in the long run. Ironically, I picked Navman because I got the impression that they were a smaller company specializing in marine instruments and usually find this sort much more responsive to their customers that the large conglomerates that hire "customer service specialists" or even outsourcing customer servive to India - so you wind up talking to someone that knows absolutely nothing about the products they are supposed to be representing. Enough ranting on that subject, but I would recommend doing some further investigation on the customer service you can expect as you will probably be dealing with then sooner or later.
__________________
In theory, Practice and Theory are the same. In practice, they are not.
Thermal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2005, 23:57   #8
Senior Cruiser
 
Alan Wheeler's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Marlborough Sounds. New Zealand
Boat: Hartley Tahitian 45ft. Leisure Lady
Posts: 8,038
Images: 102
The Navman instruments are made here in NZ. The speed and depth transducers are Airmar. I presume the Mast head and GPS transducers are Navman, but not sure. I just bought a package myself. I look carefuly at Tacktik and Navman and wen't with the Navman range in the end. I love the Analogue wind instrument. So far reliability has been fine, but it's still early days. I hope it stays fine. I found installation to be one of the easiest of anything I have worked with. Epsecially the wiring aspect. I could have bought a GPS unit that was cheaper than the Navman, but with Navmans "Navbus" wiring system, everything talks to everything else in the system with no complicated setups and eacdh instrument is connected together by just two wires and each talks to each other and shares information. It was simple. My setup has one masthead unit, connected to the analogue in the Pilot house another analogue at the outside helm along with a speed log at the outside helm and the 5600 GPS at the pilot house. I get all info I reguire on any instrument and the GPS is connected tot he Autopilot via the NMEA.
I like the looks, I like the ease of use and install and I sure hope it works well for years.
By the way, the distributors in NZ are excellent to deal with. Distribution can make or break a product.
__________________
Wheels

For God so loved the world..........He didn't send a committee.
Alan Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2009, 14:04   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Boat: Ericson 34 1987 Windemere
Posts: 1
I have Navman wind/speed/depth and repeater as do 2 other sailors I know. We all agree that they are junk. Reputable marine retailers in our area can get the new Northstar replacements but are not prepared to sell them as they have no faith in the product and value their reputations.
Fred in Vancouver, B.C., Canada
__________________
fredsb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2009, 14:41   #10
Registered User
 
sailvayu's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Fort Myers FL
Boat: Irwin 40
Posts: 878
I bought a Navman VHF, Depth, and speed. within a few weeks the depth and the VHF quit. Sent both back got new on both a year latter the depth crapped out again, I replaced it with Raymarine. I'm done with Navman better off spending a bit more and get something good. I got a Standard Horizon wind unit and it lasted 2 years and they will not fix it just said sorry we can't repair it Now I am looking at having to put a new unit on the mast head what a pain in the butt. And now we have to worry about Raymarine going out of business not sure where to go from here.

Good Luck
__________________
Capt. Wayne Canning, AMS
www.projectboat.info
http://sailvayu.com/
sailvayu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2009, 16:23   #11
Registered User
 
Randal Johnson's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: December 2014 Back in Marmaris Turkey getting Dora Mac ready to put back on the market.
Boat: Diesel Duck 462 M/V Dora Mac
Posts: 114
Navman 3100

My builder installed a Navman 3100 wind speed/direction indicator and the wind direction never worked properly. I emailed Navman three times but got no reply. Then after two years even the wind speed stopped working. No more Navman for me.
__________________
Randal Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2009, 12:19   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Wick, Highland Scotland
Boat: Trintella 3a ketch 36 ft Goodgrace
Posts: 3
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by halyardz View Post
Would appreciate hearing from anybody with experience with Navman line and in particular their wind speed/direction unit.
I have the Navman wind fitted to my Trintella ketch and it has the steer to wind facility, this works great with the autopilot.
Free's one totally from the helm and never fear for a broach, good equipment Navman, however here in UK they now sell under a different name.

James
__________________
jamesduncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2010, 00:06   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Caribbean Islands
Boat: 48' Alu Cat
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by halyardz View Post
Would appreciate hearing from anybody with experience with Navman line and in particular their wind speed/direction unit.
I,ve bought the 3100S wind instruments in Singapore. The wind direction was only reasonably accurate in perfect conditions. The damping system was never working satisfactory. 4 month later in the Philippines they failed completely due to water entering the masthead unit.(only good for sunny day's). The Australian service department told me to go back to where I bought the unit, Singapore send me to the Philippines, Navmans Service in the Philippines send me back to Australia. This run around took 6 weeks. Now back in Australia the warrantee has expired. Waiting for a response from the service department.I would never buy Navman Again!
My 30 year old VDO instuments were trouble free & accurate until they finally gave up..
__________________
Seman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 07:06   #14
Registered User
 
SimonV's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 1,316
I have/had a full set of Navman 3100 instruments every one of them has failed due to a design blunder. The problem is the way the LCD display is attached to the board, GLUE and at differing temps the ribon lifts and I have no display....Thank the lord for Raymarine chart plotter because the units still send nema information and the chart plotter displays the information. NavMan didnt want to know as they were out of warrentee. I will be changing over to Raymarine soon.
__________________
Simon

https://svgoodonya.blogspot.com.au/
SimonV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 07:11   #15
Marine Service Provider
 
Factor's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brisbane Australia
Boat: Corsair Dash MKII
Posts: 4,084
Bought 2 navman items in my life - both rubbish (GPs and a 3100 multi)
__________________

__________________
Factor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing a B&G wind vane to Navman choel Marine Electronics 1 03-03-2009 15:12
Navman 3100 wind indicator erratic at < 10knts jkalucki Marine Electronics 12 17-02-2009 22:50
NMEA 0183 wind instrument? hglad Marine Electronics 2 18-08-2008 10:29
ST60 Wind Instrument velero Marine Electronics 1 05-04-2005 10:48



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:58.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.