Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-06-2010, 22:58   #16
Registered User
 
Tan Anu's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brisbane Australia
Boat: Seawind 1000 sailing cat
Posts: 13
NAVMAN

Hi Diligara,

I'm also a Brisbane based SW1000, our NAVMAN wind display is acting up, what's fitted in yours?

Tan Anu
__________________

__________________
Tan Anu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2010, 23:31   #17
Senior Cruiser
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 11,467
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tan Anu View Post
Hi Diligara,

I'm also a Brisbane based SW1000, our NAVMAN wind display is acting up, what's fitted in yours?

Tan Anu
G'Day Tan,

Ya might note that the date of the thread that you are responding to is 2005!

But, the Nav Man display woes are still current, dammit. We recently had to replace the display head on our NavMan autopilot, second time and at significant cost. I hope that Northstar (who used to be a class act) may bring them around.

Cheers,

Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II lying Manly, Qld, Oz, trying to paint our decks in the bloody rain
__________________

__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II , lying Port Cygnet, Tasmania once again
Jim Cate is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2010, 05:10   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 98
Navman/Northstar

Just finished taking the greatest load of rubbish I have ever purchased for our yacht off today.

The 3150 wind gear packed it in within the first 3 months, after a lot of trouble and run around, Navman in NZ (Aust useless) agreed to replace the head unit. Then one month later the masthead unit failed, once again Aust. service dept refused to honour the waranty, sent masthead unit to NZ, they managed to loose it.

After about three months and more agro. they contacted Aust. and they replaced it under warranty. This unit managed to work for about 6 weeks. Replaced again and has been a continual nightmare.

The speed log has been of a similiar standard.

The local dealers have told me that they will not stock the stuff and only order it on demand.

The depth unit has performed without fault.

Told my wife, if I ever buy Navman/Northstar electronics again, get me certified insane.

Cheers
__________________
Get-a-Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2010, 05:29   #19
Registered User
 
SimonV's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 1,316
Northstar/navman will be no more, word is out that no new stock is coming in and some good prices are available on old stock. If you have the northstar 310 units start looking for back up units I just got a brand new 310R for $99 even if it lasts 2years its cheeper that replacing the whole lot in the short term.
__________________
Simon

https://svgoodonya.blogspot.com.au/
SimonV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 18:36   #20
Registered User
 
beau's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 757
Images: 1
Navman were bought out by Northstar, and Northstar is now out of business.
It appears Navico who is the parent company of B & G, Simrad and Northstar etc bought Navman and closed it down.
__________________
beau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2015, 07:57   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
Re: Navman Wind Instrument - Opinions

Hi there

I have a Navman 8120 Chart Plotter and am struggling to get assistance from Navman/Navico. I would like to make contact with anybody who has one. I need a small switch but am unable to identify the correct value. All I need is a photo of the part marked Q5 as in the attached photo. If someone can take a photo I will be able to identify the value and purchase one from the local electronics shop. Any help would be appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150827_171522_resized.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	414.4 KB
ID:	112922  
__________________

__________________
Mike Godfrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing a B&G wind vane to Navman choel Marine Electronics 1 03-03-2009 15:12
Navman 3100 wind indicator erratic at < 10knts jkalucki Marine Electronics 12 17-02-2009 22:50
NMEA 0183 wind instrument? hglad Marine Electronics 2 18-08-2008 10:29
ST60 Wind Instrument velero Marine Electronics 1 05-04-2005 10:48



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:20.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.