Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2016, 03:31   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: sydney
Boat: hunter 310 / sunrunner 3300 / maxum scr 2400
Posts: 18
Navman dual engine smartcraft setup - setting port engine canbus

Hi

I've just setup a dual engine Navman with the dual smartcraft engine gateway but am getting conflicting engine readings.

Disconnecting one of the engine harnesses and the reading are fine and swpping is also okay, so I guess the wiring is correct.

However, I can't set the engine to 2 as the option is greyed out.

I suspect its something to do with the engines both being set as starboard at factory, as per the attached extract.

eg For twin engine installations please ensure that the port motor has been assigned as a port motor as all motors are set up in the factory as starboard. This can be done by any Mercury service agent. The multi engine disconnect plug (on the canbus line) must be disconnected on the port motor in a twin engine configuration.


How do you set the port engine as the port engine ? Can I do this myself or do I really need a mercury service agent ?

regards
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dual smartcraft installation.JPG
Views:	28
Size:	90.8 KB
ID:	130575  
__________________
mghunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2016, 07:02   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: sydney
Boat: hunter 310 / sunrunner 3300 / maxum scr 2400
Posts: 18
Re: Navman dual engine smartcraft setup - setting port engine canbus

I fond this search the web

Each entire CAN bus can only be powered by one engine on multiple engine boats. If you locate the CAN bus connector on your engine (the one with the yellow TERMINATOR cap, that you will connect the smartcraft cable to), about 3 inches below it (3 inches along the harness) there should be a 3 wire plug (this is the CAN BUS power connector), it should be red/blk, blk, ppl. this needs to be disconnected from ONE of your engines and caped (not the starboard engine).

and also this

Engine Gateway Installation
Certain dual engine setups share data between both engines through a single wire. The associated connector must be unplugged to prevent data collisions while using Engine Gateways. Some applications use a three-wire connector, others use a single-wire connector. These engine setups designate one engine as master and the other as slave. It is common for the starboard engine to be master and the port as slave, but is not necessarily true for all applications. The wiring harness on each engine may have a wire with labeling stating that it is to be grounded on the slave engine and left disconnected on the master engine. If there is no common data wire or master/slave grounding wire, than each engine will respond as master.
__________________
mghunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2016, 02:09   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: sydney
Boat: hunter 310 / sunrunner 3300 / maxum scr 2400
Posts: 18
Re: Navman dual engine smartcraft setup - setting port engine canbus

Sorted - you need to tell the port engine that its a port engine (set at factory as a starboard engine).

Had to get a Diacom / Rinda to read and reset the codes in the ECM (30 sec job)
__________________
mghunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
engine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To have dual fuel tanks? Or not to have dual fuel tanks? That is my question. Campbellcruiser Engines and Propulsion Systems 9 22-07-2015 18:15
RS11 CANbus Engine Data Converter & Raymarine SeaTalk NG Aussie Monty Marine Electronics 6 21-04-2015 00:04
Dual Vessel Views -vs- Single Vessel View on Dual Cummings MV WOLFPACK Marine Electronics 0 12-04-2014 07:45
Troubleshooting Smartcraft into Northstar 6001 Plotter Chief Engineer Marine Electronics 2 13-04-2010 22:58
Smartcraft Gauges - Help! Chief Engineer Marine Electronics 1 18-03-2010 03:55


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:55.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.