Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-05-2015, 03:34   #16
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Boat: Huon 33
Posts: 96
Re: Navionics from Scratch.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abby Singer View Post
Garmin offers a similar unit to raymarines liner actuator drive for about the same price point and based on the drawings (and a bad experience with raymarines type 2 drive) better design.


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
Hi, is this the unit you are referring to?

https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/shop...-11572-00.html
__________________

__________________
Gi-Lo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2015, 16:57   #17
Registered User
 
Safari38LH's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Marion, Ma
Boat: Little Harbor 38
Posts: 259
Re: Navionics from Scratch.....

You can mix. I am running Simrad chartplotter and a RayMarine Linear drive type 1. Love the Simrad!


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________

__________________
Safari38LH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2015, 03:02   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Boat: Huon 33
Posts: 96
Re: Navionics from Scratch.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Safari38LH View Post
You can mix. I am running Simrad chartplotter and a RayMarine Linear drive type 1. Love the Simrad!


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
which Simrad plotter??
__________________
Gi-Lo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2015, 04:44   #19
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,757
Re: Navionics from Scratch.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sailor Doug View Post
Wow I have not priced raymarine for a while but still not a fan, helped dock buddy programming his what a pain. I see your objections to to a iPad but I would only use as follows.

iPad has 9.5 inch colored display and for $800 you get full north American charts, ground based radar and IAS and rest of computer.

Would you not mount and run power supply to your raymarine? My I pad has case mounted In front of my wheel with a 12volt plug right beside it.

Really handy to unplug and take below and compare to paper charts.
I agree about how handy the IPad is. I actually have both an IPad with INavX and a waterproof Sony Z2 10" tablet. Both of them connect to the boat network through GoFree. I can control my helm plotter with the Sony and do everything I could do at the plotter except operate the autopilot. The Ipad is for completely independent backup. It gets all instrument data and AIS targets over the GoFree module.

This is great for keeping watch not behind the helm but under the sprayhood, or keeping an eye on things from my bunk, or while cooking, etc.


But I do really recommend having a real marine plotter at the helm. Waterproof, rugged, hard wired. It is cheap to buy and easy to set up.

If you go with the Raymarine one, I think it has wifi built into it, so you can connect from your IPad and control it, too.
__________________
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2015, 05:00   #20
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,757
Re: Navionics from Scratch.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Safari38LH View Post
You can mix. I am running Simrad chartplotter and a RayMarine Linear drive type 1. Love the Simrad!


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
I have a Raymarine Type 3 hydraulic pilot drive. It works fine with the Simrad autopilot computer. The Simrad pilot computer has a very cool routine to adapt itself to almost any kind of autopilot drive.

You don't need a conventional autopilot control head with the new pilots. They can be controlled by your plotter and/or by an instrument and keypad.

I use a B&G Triton with the separate keypad, but I use the plotters a lot for pilot control. It's really handy to be able to control the pilot from the nav table.
__________________
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2015, 16:34   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Boat: Huon 33
Posts: 96
Re: Navionics from Scratch.....

Thanks Dockhead..... in the set up that I am looking at the "core Pack" includes a rudder feedback unit..... I can understand why a hydraulic drive system needs a RFU, but Why would a linear drive need an RFU?..... it already knows where the rudder is??
__________________
Gi-Lo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2015, 02:13   #22
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,757
Re: Navionics from Scratch.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gi-Lo View Post
Thanks Dockhead..... in the set up that I am looking at the "core Pack" includes a rudder feedback unit..... I can understand why a hydraulic drive system needs a RFU, but Why would a linear drive need an RFU?..... it already knows where the rudder is??
Maybe because autopilot computers require the data in standardized form?

Note that you the rudder feedback transducer needs to match the autopilot computer. When I changed autopilot computers from Ray to Simrad, I had to change the transducer. I had a choice of an N2K unit or a direct wired analogue unit. I used the latter, because I didn't want to extend my N2K network all the way out to the stern just for one sensor. It works perfectly.
__________________
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2015, 03:57   #23
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Boat: Huon 33
Posts: 96
Re: Navionics from Scratch.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
I have a Raymarine Type 3 hydraulic pilot drive. It works fine with the Simrad autopilot computer. The Simrad pilot computer has a very cool routine to adapt itself to almost any kind of autopilot drive.

You don't need a conventional autopilot control head with the new pilots. They can be controlled by your plotter and/or by an instrument and keypad.

I use a B&G Triton with the separate keypad, but I use the plotters a lot for pilot control. It's really handy to be able to control the pilot from the nav table.
So do you think a SIMRAD computer would work with a RAYMARINE Wheel Drive?
Certainly my old Autohelm 4000 drive just had a Plus and Minus wire..... Im guesing the same as a linear dive......
__________________
Gi-Lo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2015, 04:14   #24
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,757
Re: Navionics from Scratch.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gi-Lo View Post
So do you think a SIMRAD computer would work with a RAYMARINE Wheel Drive?
Certainly my old Autohelm 4000 drive just had a Plus and Minus wire..... Im guesing the same as a linear dive......
You would have to ask a specialist. I don't know anything about wheel drives.
__________________
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2015, 04:25   #25
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 4,030
Re: Navionics from Scratch.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gi-Lo View Post
Thanks Dockhead..... in the set up that I am looking at the "core Pack" includes a rudder feedback unit..... I can understand why a hydraulic drive system needs a RFU, but Why would a linear drive need an RFU?..... it already knows where the rudder is??
Actually the linear drive from Raymarine does not have position feedback as I recall. Rudder position feedback helps the pilot do a better job of accurately setting the desired rudder angle. Some newer Ray course computers can get by without rudder position data. Even so, it is better to have position feedback installed IMO. It's nice to be able to see the rudder angle when down below or hunkered under the dodger at night. Too high rudder angle for long periods tells me the sails need trimmed or something else needs attention.
__________________
transmitterdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2015, 02:09   #26
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Boat: Huon 33
Posts: 96
Re: Navionics from Scratch.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Safari38LH View Post
You can mix. I am running Simrad chartplotter and a RayMarine Linear drive type 1. Love the Simrad!


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
Hi, thanks again for this post.I am now seriously looking at this exact set up....... did you fit this set up yourself....... does the Type 1 Drive simply have postive and negative connection, is it that simple?....... I'm trying to figure out what engages/disengages the Clutch in this arrangement?

Do you have/need a Rudder position feedback indicator with this system?
Thanks!
__________________
Gi-Lo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2015, 07:31   #27
Registered User
 
Safari38LH's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Marion, Ma
Boat: Little Harbor 38
Posts: 259
Re: Navionics from Scratch.....

I am using a Simrad AC12 with the Linear 1. The drive has two sets of wires that plug into the computer. The wires are for power and the clutch. We use a NNS for controlling it and are very happy with the set up.


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Safari38LH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 03:03   #28
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Boat: Huon 33
Posts: 96
Re: Navionics from Scratch.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Safari38LH View Post
I am using a Simrad AC12 with the Linear 1. The drive has two sets of wires that plug into the computer. The wires are for power and the clutch. We use a NNS for controlling it and are very happy with the set up.


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
Do you know if the wires simply plug in as OME, or did someone make some adapters?... I am surprised, and delighted if they just plug right in from stock!
__________________
Gi-Lo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 05:09   #29
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,413
Re: Navionics from Scratch.....

Are you looking for an AP to be driven by data (waypoint) from GPS and or wind instruments?

Speaking from my experience.... I single hand for 30 yrs on a 36' 16K displacement sloop. I've upgraded most of my electronics over the years but the 25yr old Alpha 3000 below decks is still working fine... only one software up grade and replacement of a shorted drive. It's driven the boat 30-40,000 miles and most of then offshore between New England and the Caribbean. The Alpha does not accept any GPS or wind data. Skipper enters the course heading and adjusts the response of yaw etc. I don't know how the cost of an Alpha 3000 compares to what you are looking for... but if it does I would recommend you look into one.

I don't use many waypoints .. as in routes... I have a small library of them or just set on and get the ctw and enter it manually into the AP. I use both a small Garmin Ique 3600 (old) and now an B&G Z7 in the cockpit to see the charts and the boat's position on them. Both these units show a heading line and I can also simply adjust the AP heading while observing the plotter and the chosen waypoint. Very simple and rather inexpensive. The Z7 cost me $700+ and as a full on MFD can accept all the usual inputs if I want to connect.. weather, radar, AIS, wind, video and so forth.

I mounted the Z7 bracket to a square metal rod which fits into a winch under the dodger.. plug it into for power with a weather proof BlueSeas 12v cig plug. I can use it below decks... or take it with me for a delivery if need be... and lock it securely below decks. Both are touch screen. The IQue requires a stylus... the Z7 works with your finger. I will probably "retire" the Ique... as the Z7 has a larger screen and you don't need to stylus and its mounting is more "secure".

I have a RayC80 with radar and AIS which drives some cockpit repeaters as well... including a KVH compass which is also a GPS repeater...but aside from AIS and radar use I don't go below decks to look at it much aside from entering a waypoint.

My systems are not integrated and there are advantages... I am not sure of the advantage of putting all your eggs in one basket.... but this seems to be the direction the industry is trending.

Keep it simple...
__________________
Sandero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 06:48   #30
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Navionics from Scratch.....

The wires on the drive unit are bare ended and the simrad ap has a terminal strip for bare wire.

Mark
__________________

__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
navionics

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tanzer 22 - Starting wiring from scratch again... (help!) scottmcleod Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 7 23-06-2013 17:43
Powering Large Boats - From Scratch ssullivan Powered Boats 74 14-01-2011 21:11
Starting from Scratch knottybuoyz Construction, Maintenance & Refit 46 14-12-2008 19:03
Starting From Scratch - What Would You Do? ssullivan Navigation 45 16-06-2008 16:10
Buiding our boat - starting from scratch Alain d'HYLAS Construction, Maintenance & Refit 11 02-12-2006 10:19



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:09.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.