Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2015, 07:11   #16
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Westerly Oceanlord
Posts: 374
Re: Navico Network Problems -- What I Have Learned

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
The problem was that with the WIFI module connected, the radar dropped off the network, so that the MFD's would report "No Radar".

The updated radar control software solved it.
I was struggling to understand that but then realised that the Zeus MFDs have multiple ethernet ports and I'm guessing you had the wifi-1 in one and the radar in another. If that's true it'll have been a routing issue and presumably the software update (by radar control software you mean on the MFD?) now has some smarter mechanism for deciding which interface to route the radar control messages out of.
__________________

__________________
muttnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 07:31   #17
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,737
Re: Navico Network Problems -- What I Have Learned

Quote:
Originally Posted by muttnik View Post
I was struggling to understand that but then realised that the Zeus MFDs have multiple ethernet ports and I'm guessing you had the wifi-1 in one and the radar in another. If that's true it'll have been a routing issue and presumably the software update (by radar control software you mean on the MFD?) now has some smarter mechanism for deciding which interface to route the radar control messages out of.
The non-touch Zeus has multiple Ethernet ports. If you are using the newer Zeuses, you have to use an Ethernet router.

In my case, yes, I as using my non-touch Zeus as the router, with three ethernet devices plugged into the back of it:

1. Radar
2. Interconnection with the other Zeus at the helm (a touch version)
3. Wifi-1 module.

If you don't have a non-touch plotter with multiple ports, I think you can use any generic Ethernet router, but you have a problem with the connectors, since Navico doesn't use normal RJ45 connectors, but rather their weird proprietary one.

It's probably cheaper to use their router.

Now the Wifi-1 module has two ports, so I think you can plug the radar into that and then connect the Wifi-1 to the single Ethernet port of the touch plotter, but then you can't connect the interconnection to your other plotter.

They should have given the Wifi-1 multiple ports.
__________________

__________________
Dockhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 07:32   #18
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Navico Network Problems -- What I Have Learned

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
I agree, especially the Triton. You would think that they would at least put into the manual all of the screens and functionality -- they don't.
It is on page 12 of the manual. Pages 7-10 fully explain the default screens as shipped.

Page 12 shows all the possible templates. Surely you don't expect them to show every single piece of datum in all possible combinations that can be displayed in these templates? That would take hundreds of pages.

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 07:36   #19
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,737
Re: Navico Network Problems -- What I Have Learned

Quote:
Originally Posted by colemj View Post
It is on page 12 of the manual. Pages 7-10 fully explain the default screens as shipped.

Page 12 shows all the possible templates. Surely you don't expect them to show every single piece of datum in all possible combinations that can be displayed in these templates? That would take hundreds of pages.

Mark
Not my manual! They must have updated it.
__________________
Dockhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 07:44   #20
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Navico Network Problems -- What I Have Learned

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
Not my manual! They must have updated it.
Yes, whenever they add new functionalities via a new version of firmware, you must download the new version of the manual describing these functionalities.

I tend to do it at the same time I am downloading the firmware update.

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 07:46   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Boat: Nordic 44
Posts: 101
Re: Navico Network Problems -- What I Have Learned

Dockhead
Which charting software are you using? I like the dynamic tides and current data but the Navico ( I have Simrad's proprietary) doesn't.


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
pitlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 08:11   #22
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitlaw View Post
Dockhead
Which charting software are you using? I like the dynamic tides and current data but the Navico ( I have Simrad's proprietary) doesn't.

Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
I'm using the software native to the plotters. My Zeus Touch did dynamic tides and currents right out of the box. My older non-touch Zeus started doing them only with the last software update.

I have the Navionics Platinum charts,but I don't think the dynamic tides and currents depend on the charts.
__________________
"Parce que je suis heureux en mer, et peut-Ítre pour sauver mon ame. . . "
Dockhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 09:46   #23
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Boat: Nordic 44
Posts: 101
Re: Navico Network Problems -- What I Have Learned

Thanks. I just looked at the Navionics Platinum cartography and the tides and current data resides there. So I would have to upgrade my NSS8 to that product. It came with the proprietary "Insight" product which isn't too robust.

I agree with you that Navico products seem to have software defects in new product releases. They had to update the NSS8 Simrad software to overcome an mfd blackout on systems originally installed with Go Free ( my set up). And, they
Leave it to the purchaser to periodically check for update downloads. An email notice would help.
__________________
pitlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2015, 21:11   #24
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 254
Images: 1
Re: Navico Network Problems -- What I Have Learned

Though not necessarily network problems, I too have been struggling with Simrad/Navico bugs in a new suite of electronics on my boat. All the equipment has now been removed from the boat and returned, and I am in the process of refitting with Furuno. I've been writing about it bit by on MVTanglewood.com
__________________

__________________
tanglewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
navico

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garmin GMS 10 network port expander vs network hub gettinthere Marine Electronics 0 04-06-2013 17:42
Six Months In & Here Is What I Have Learned SmartMove Liveaboard's Forum 52 29-05-2013 01:18
NMEA 2K Network Problems (Garmin GMI 10/Airmar DST800/GPS 19X (NMEA0183)) atsakir Marine Electronics 2 05-02-2013 01:58
GPS Network Problems Dockhead Marine Electronics 6 19-06-2011 13:42
Network LIBGPS Data Source Problems josephine OpenCPN 19 07-05-2011 13:09



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:03.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.