Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-04-2016, 23:41   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: SF Bay Area
Boat: Hanse 505
Posts: 62
NAIS-400 configuratio

Looks like initial installer did not configure my AIS at commissioning. Only figured it out when I looked for my boat on one of the AIS tracking sites. On closer inspection behind nav station I saw a red and amber indicator, which I am told means it does not transmit. (it does receive and display targets.). Can anyone point me to instructions on configuring this box?

Thanks

Dave
__________________

__________________
SausalitoDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2016, 23:57   #2
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Neptune's Gear's Avatar

Community Sponsor

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Gulf Harbour, New Zealand
Boat: Farr Phase 4, 12.8m
Posts: 992
Re: NAIS-400 configuratio

In the USA it is illegal for you to do it yourself. You need to have a Navico dealer do it for you. The good news is you can take the unit in to them - it can be done with just the usb connection, and takes about 3-4 mins. I just did one for an install tomorrow...
__________________
Matt Paulin
Neptunes Gear Ltd
www.neptunes-gear.com
Neptune's Gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 10:19   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: SF Bay Area
Boat: Hanse 505
Posts: 62
Re: NAIS-400 configuratio

I saw that in the manual. Not sure why the FCC should care. My only prob is that the unit is all installed. Maybe I can get a local guy to come over to the boat. A follow up. I am not sure why the original installer failed to configure the unit. Was an MMSI required at that time? It appears that the MMSI can be entered through the chart plotter.
__________________
SausalitoDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 13:00   #4
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Location: San Francisco Bay, California
Boat: Pacific Seacraft 37
Posts: 105
Re: NAIS-400 configuratio

Quote:
Originally Posted by SausalitoDave View Post
I saw that in the manual. Not sure why the FCC should care. My only prob is that the unit is all installed. Maybe I can get a local guy to come over to the boat. A follow up. I am not sure why the original installer failed to configure the unit. Was an MMSI required at that time? It appears that the MMSI can be entered through the chart plotter.
Yup. Only a certified installer can do it here in the US. Went through the same angst myself. You need to have the MMSI number ready.
__________________
The Smokester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 19:09   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,700
Re: NAIS-400 configuratio

the mmsi is needed to be programmed. if you didn't have one at the time of install they he couldn't do it.


the chart plotter has nothing do it with it. entering it in there will probably just hide your own boat from the chart.


the software is probably online if you look around. you just need software and USB cable. in Canada the CD comes in the box...
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 22:35   #6
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Neptune's Gear's Avatar

Community Sponsor

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Gulf Harbour, New Zealand
Boat: Farr Phase 4, 12.8m
Posts: 992
Re: NAIS-400 configuratio

Does not matter if it is "all installed" it's just 4 screws and 4 cable plugs- undo it, and take it to your nearest Navico dealer. That will be way cheaper than having them come to you. It's a 3-4 min job at my desk....

The software needed is ProAIS2, and a mini USB cable....
__________________
Matt Paulin
Neptunes Gear Ltd
www.neptunes-gear.com
Neptune's Gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2016, 10:49   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: SF Bay Area
Boat: Hanse 505
Posts: 62
Re: NAIS-400 configuratio

Thanks to all.

Dave
__________________
SausalitoDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2016, 10:45   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: SF Bay Area
Boat: Hanse 505
Posts: 62
Re: NAIS-400 configuratio

It took 5 minutes once I downloaded ProAIS from B&B site. The "rules" as best as I could understand them is that it is illegal to enter an incorrect MMSI code or false data, not that it is illegal to program the code into the AIS. So, call the cops, I did the configuration myself and the unit appears to be transmitting correctly.

Thanks for the advice.

Dave
__________________
SausalitoDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2016, 11:20   #9
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Location: San Francisco Bay, California
Boat: Pacific Seacraft 37
Posts: 105
Re: NAIS-400 configuratio

Thanks Dave. Good to know.
__________________

__________________
The Smokester is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Navico/SIMRAD NAIS-400 AIS as GPS source on NMEA 2000 TropicalSeattle Marine Electronics 7 03-04-2015 00:07
For Sale: Brand New NAIS-400 AIS Transceiver - Class B & NSPL-400 mcerdos Classifieds Archive 2 15-12-2014 17:47
Maxsea TZ, NAIS-300, Maretron USB100 all on N2K akio.kanemoto Marine Electronics 89 21-07-2012 10:32



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:05.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.