Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-12-2016, 11:48   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ft. Pierce, FL
Boat: Irwin 41 cc Ketch
Posts: 92
Send a message via Yahoo to fishsail18
Mounting A Shoot Thru Transducer

I bought a Garmin combo a few months ago that came with a transom mount trx, When I haul out the boat I plan on installing a thru hull trx. but for now thinking about just mounting this trx as a shoot thru as my hull is solid glass and not all that thick. what would be best to bed it down with? maybe silicone so I can remove it later. or is that not a hard enough substance?
__________________

fishsail18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2016, 12:18   #2
Registered User
 
Stu Jackson's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cowichan Bay, BC (Maple Bay Marina)
Posts: 7,762
Re: Mounting A Shoot Thru Transducer

toilet bowl wax ring material
__________________

__________________
Stu Jackson
Catalina 34 #224 (1986) C34IA Secretary
Cowichan Bay, BC, (Maple Bay Marina) SR/FK, M25, Rocna 10 (22#) (NZ model)
Stu Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2016, 12:35   #3
Registered User
 
Nightsky's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 45
Re: Mounting A Shoot Thru Transducer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu Jackson View Post
toilet bowl wax ring material
This sounds like a good, non permanent option. Just wondering if the wax would lose its consistency if the transducer was placed in a warm engine room?
Nightsky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2016, 12:35   #4
Registered User
 
Mike OReilly's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Good question
Boat: Rafiki 37
Posts: 6,641
Re: Mounting A Shoot Thru Transducer

I had one held down by a weight in a well of water for years. No adhesive at all. Worked great. Silicon works, and Stu’s idea is perfect. The key is to ensure there are no voids in the medium, and the contact is clean between transducer and hull.
__________________
Why go fast, when you can go slow.
BLOG: www.helplink.com/CLAFC
Mike OReilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2016, 12:38   #5
Registered User
 
four winds's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wandering the US Gulf Coast
Boat: 78 Pearson323 Four Winds
Posts: 2,212
Re: Mounting A Shoot Thru Transducer

fishtail, I have the same transducer. Still mounted with a dob of silicone on each corner. In a slice of pvc tubing cut to match the hull angle. Works fine. Still haven't capped it off yet. Just refill with water from time to time.
__________________
Life begins at the waters edge.
four winds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2016, 13:27   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: On the hook in Florida
Boat: Tayana V42 - Passages
Posts: 504
Re: Mounting A Shoot Thru Transducer

I use epoxy on this boat and my last.
__________________
Trying to live on 20th century money in the 21st century.
jcapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2016, 15:02   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Southern Tier, NY
Boat: Newport 28
Posts: 301
Re: Mounting A Shoot Thru Transducer

I imagine the toilet wax would be fine, even in a warm engine room, but if you were concerned, you could always take a can or large PVC piece and cut it to fit over it afterwards, and just silicone that down to make a "cover" to add some insulation space to keep the heat out more.

Mine used a collar that was siliconed to the hull, filled with liquid (originally I used RV antifreeze after researching the eth glycol that was suggested as a replacement for mineral oil - but the silicone failed at one point due to a paint chip, so I just refilled with water and was fine), and then the transducer sat in there submerged. Worked fine the whole time.
__________________
-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
https://horizonsfound.blogspot.com/
CharlzO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2016, 02:42   #8
Registered User
 
daletournier's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Seychelles
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 3,536
Re: Mounting A Shoot Thru Transducer

I installed one on my last boat with slow setting epoxy. I believe the manufactures say not to use silicon or the likes? But obviously from the above posts silicon must work.

Sent from my vivo Y35 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
daletournier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2016, 03:34   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Brazil
Boat: Custom Swedish Vindö 50 (35 ft)
Posts: 576
Re: Mounting A Shoot Thru Transducer

I used silicone on my two depthsounder transducers and they have been working fine for years. Just a few quick tips before you install...
Choose a place on the hull and then test the depthsounder with the transducer sitting in a pool of water (I used plasticine putty to make a well which I filled with water). Test it with the boat sailing and also motoring to make sure it gives soundings at angles of heel and with prop turbulence as well). Once you've found the right spot on the hull, clean it well, sand it and carefully squeeze out the silicone so that there are no air bubbles. Then just carefully push the transducer into the goop and wait for it to set. I believe you lose a little sensitivity by mounting the transducer inside the hull, but that is more than compensated, in my opinion, by not having another hole in the hull!
Copacabana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2016, 05:09   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 259
Re: Mounting A Shoot Thru Transducer

I have one working fine in a wet bilge, so the bottom is underwater all the time. It's held down with Tec7 at the sides but nothing underneath except water.
AedanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2016, 05:34   #11
Registered User
 
Kalinka1's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto
Boat: Heritage 35
Posts: 347
Re: Mounting A Shoot Thru Transducer

I mounted mine on the centre line just in front of the keel covered it in vaseline and used it as a plug for an epoxie mold. I'ts worked fine for 5 years without liquids of any sort and still has a range close to the 600 ft advertised. I wouldn't drill another hole in the bottom as sure as taxes when it fails a new one won't fit the old hole!
Kalinka1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2016, 09:21   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 80
Re: Mounting A Shoot Thru Transducer

I used Plumbers Putty on mine. It wasn't even a "shoot through the hull" transducer, just a regular transom mounted Lawrence. yet, mounting it in the settee locker using plumbers putty worked perfectly.

In three years, it never moved, never had to be reset. yet, when I sold the boat, I was able to to pull and remove the transducer (in about 3 seconds) and keep it with the chart plotter . . . to move to my new boat.

~markb
bratzcpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2016, 10:05   #13
Registered User
 
FionaJC's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: East Coast UK
Boat: Colvic 40' Ketch
Posts: 213
Re: Mounting A Shoot Thru Transducer

Mine sits inside a vegatable oil filled tube exposided to the inside of the hull. The top is sealed witc a card disk and then candle wax. This is not to scale. But the wax sinks into oil, hence the card and it seals it all round the cable nicely.

|______|
! wax |
| |
| card |
|-------|
| Veg |
| Oil |
|||||||||
|||||||||
|||||||||
FionaJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2016, 10:37   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 71
Re: Mounting A Shoot Thru Transducer

I have a Raymarine I-40 sounder. I have it shooting thru the hull with mineral oil in the raymarine mount. I DO NOT recommend this unit. It curs out intermittently, going from an accurate reading down to zero. Just as suddenly it goes back to an accurate reading.. Does anyone have any ideas?
cottonsail is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2016, 10:46   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sacramento, CA
Boat: Catalina 22 - My first boat!!
Posts: 71
Re: Mounting A Shoot Thru Transducer

[QUOTE=Stu Jackson;2289322]toilet bowl wax ring

I've never had a chart plotter, but received one for Christmas. Did you put the transducer inside the ring on the hull and the massage the wax to cover the transducer? I'm trying to imagine how this works. I want to try this before other more permanent installations. Thanks!
__________________

kclancy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thru-hull transducer mounting in steep deadrise hull Robertkwfl Marine Electronics 1 01-11-2016 13:59
A Transducer is a Transducer, Correct? Herbseesmoore Marine Electronics 3 22-06-2013 05:23
Want To Buy: Raymarine Rotary Rudder Transducer and Fluxgate Transducer Kristian Classifieds Archive 0 22-02-2010 03:09
Would you shoot ... Gisle Health, Safety & Related Gear 36 11-11-2006 07:34
How trouble shoot Data MArine knotmeter? zippy Marine Electronics 6 24-07-2006 21:02



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:33.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.