Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-11-2018, 15:46   #1
Registered User
 
sailalibi's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Beaufort SC./Bahamas
Boat: Allied Seawind II 32ft ketch
Posts: 69
Mikrotik 951hi router to groove52hpn

Any configuring tips? My router got fried but the groove wasn't connected at the time.cu
__________________

sailalibi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 16:33   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Kemah, TX
Boat: 1979 Cape Dory 30 Cutter
Posts: 138
Re: MicroFilm 951hi router to groove52hpn

Maybe you should review the title of your post.
__________________

J.Kitchens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 17:06   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Coming to a Marina Near You
Boat: Hallberg-Rassy 49
Posts: 294
Re: MicroFilm 951hi router to groove52hpn

Hmmm....

Groovy MicroFilm?

What's on it? Pictures of top secret documents? Naked pictures of some government official?

Do tell.
__________________
Professional Reality Checker
KeelMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2018, 08:41   #4
Registered User
 
sailalibi's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Beaufort SC./Bahamas
Boat: Allied Seawind II 32ft ketch
Posts: 69
Unhappy Re: Mikrotik 951hi router to groove52hpn

Ok, so the router got fried in a storm. I can't config the new one to allow access to the groove even though the 951 is scanning the various AP's I've gone thru the you tube stuff to no avail...
Groove (cpe) user list shows my user but it's not active, router (cpe) user list doesn't show my user at all...stumped am I
sailalibi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2018, 15:09   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 6
Re: Mikrotik 951hi router to groove52hpn

you need to gi through it stage by stage.
Start with just the groove52hpn and a laptop.
make sure you can connect to internet with just the laptop, groove and poe power supply.
Once that is working, then move on to the microtik to redistribute that working connection.

garry
gcrothers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2018, 08:10   #6
Marine Service Provider
 
W32PAMELA's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wewahitchka, FL
Boat: Westsail 32 - Pamela
Posts: 282
Re: Mikrotik 951hi router to groove52hpn

It sounds like your new router does not have a default configuration. If it did it would be set as a "Wisp AP" rather than a "CPE".

If the current routerOS is probably outdated and needs to be upgraded. Follow the steps below to update to the latest routerOS v6.43.4 and you will have a functioning router set as a " Wisp AP" at the factory defaults.

1. Go to https://mikrotik.com/download and download MIPSBE v6.43.4 . While you are there download the latest version of the Mikrotik Utility called "Winbox.exe". This is a better program to use for working with a Mikrotik than your web browser.
2. Upload the routerOS file to your "Files" directory in your router.
3. Go to "System->Reboot" and reboot your router.
4. When it comes back up go to "System->Routerboard" , click "Upgrade" and agree to to the upgrade.
5. Go to "System->Reset Configuration" and check mark "Do Not Backup" then click on "Reset Configuration" and agree to reboot and reset.

When your router comes back up it will have a factory default configuration and will be ready to use. If your Groove is set as a CPE giving out IP's in a subnet other than 192.168.88.0/24 then all you need to do is plug it into Port 1 on your router and start using it.

You will need to put your own Network Name, Wifi Password, Login Password and country on your router after you've verified everything is working. After you've customized it with your own personal settings go to "Files" and make a backup file. Do not encrypt the backup. Restore your backup rather than do a Reset when you want to return to known good settings.
__________________
Bob Stewart
W32PAMELA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2018, 10:47   #7
Registered User
 
sailalibi's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Beaufort SC./Bahamas
Boat: Allied Seawind II 32ft ketch
Posts: 69
Re: Mikrotik 951hi router to groove52hpn

Hi Bob- I tried all that and still no go. Is my setup to be "cpe" for both router and groove? I had a login address 192.168.221.20 login cpe -user passwd etc. for webfig. I restored the groove config (older backup) from the files tab but still no work. The only way to see the app's at the marina are to use cpe. My marina has their network a mikrotik in the 192.168.88.xXxX area. Could this be problem? I'm not good with networking as you can see...
sailalibi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2018, 12:57   #8
Marine Service Provider
 
W32PAMELA's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wewahitchka, FL
Boat: Westsail 32 - Pamela
Posts: 282
Re: Mikrotik 951hi router to groove52hpn

Your router should not be a CPE. It should say "Wisp AP". If you have updated the routerOS and the Routerboard Firmware you should be able to simply reset to factory defaults and it will come up working as a "Wisp AP". Go into the router Quick Set and click the "Reset Configuration" and do another reset and let me know if it changes to a "Wisp AP".

Any CPE using the same subnet as the AP it is connecting to may have problems with the connection. If you reloaded the backup file on your Groove you shouldn't have a problem unless you also upgraded the routerOS on the Groove. Email me a "marinewifi at IslandTimePC.com" and we should be able to get you going.
__________________
Bob Stewart
W32PAMELA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2018, 13:05   #9
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Boat: Morgan Out Island 41
Posts: 915
Images: 2
Re: Mikrotik 951hi router to groove52hpn

If the Groove is still good, consider getting a microtik AirGateway. They are really simple to setup and manageUse almost no power. The only downside is it has the same "Geeky" interface as the Groove
pcmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2018, 04:59   #10
Marine Service Provider
 
W32PAMELA's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wewahitchka, FL
Boat: Westsail 32 - Pamela
Posts: 282
Re: Mikrotik 951hi router to groove52hpn

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcmm View Post
If the Groove is still good, consider getting a microtik AirGateway. They are really simple to setup and manageUse almost no power. The only downside is it has the same "Geeky" interface as the Groove
I think you mean the "Ubiquiti" AirGateway but it isn't a good alternative to the Mikrotik Groove or the Ubiquiti Bullet.
__________________
Bob Stewart
W32PAMELA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2018, 13:07   #11
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Boat: Morgan Out Island 41
Posts: 915
Images: 2
Re: Mikrotik 951hi router to groove52hpn

Quote:
Originally Posted by W32PAMELA View Post
I think you mean the "Ubiquiti" AirGateway but it isn't a good alternative to the Mikrotik Groove or the Ubiquiti Bullet.
You are correct, my bad! but he AirGateway isn't an alternative to the groove or bullet. You use it in addition to the bullet to proved the local AP and firewall/ router functions. let the groove (or bullet) function as a client to connect to the wifi network. That's how I have mine configured. Works great.
__________________

pcmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
route

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lost NASDS C card have microfilm pesarsten Fishing, Recreation & Fun 2 02-05-2014 19:29
Weather Router Artful Dodger General Sailing Forum 19 06-07-2011 05:01
Cell 3G Router Aboard Sailabel Marine Electronics 19 25-03-2011 13:02
Does a Wireless 3G AND Wifi Input Router Exist ? Fuss Marine Electronics 12 21-02-2011 20:37
WiFi Bullet and Linksys Router Config Meck Marine Electronics 1 17-10-2009 09:03



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:44.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.