Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-07-2009, 03:53   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 10
Maxsea v11 - COM Ports above COM 10

Does anyone know how I can make Maxsea recongnise COM ports above COM 10. It only seems to recongnise COM ports 1-9.

Very annoying with USB to RS232 devices that add virtual COM ports.

robifz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2009, 05:20   #2
Registered User
Albro359's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Elyse is in Fiji
Boat: Amel Super Maramu 2000
Posts: 509
I don't think you can .....

My USB /RS232 runs on Com 4 and 5 no problem....

Do you have a legit version ??

Albro359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2009, 05:24   #3
Senior Cruiser
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,043
Images: 12
You can reassign the virtual com port to a lower (unused) one.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2009, 05:35   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Port Fréjus (France)
Boat: Etap 28i Wrenna III
Posts: 23
The Help File (faq) of Virtual Serial Ports Emulator says :

I create virtual port COM10 but it is not visible to my application.

It is the operating system issue. COM ports with numbers from 1 to 9 can be opened without any problems. To open device with number greater than 9 you need to use "\\.\" prefix.

COM1 : valid name
COM10 : invalid name
\\.\COM10 : valid name
\\.\COM1 : valid name
Wrenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2009, 07:34   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Boat: Beneteau First 345 - Adria
Posts: 1
Hi all, Just this minute became member of C.F. so if I make any cock-ups pls forgive me 'til I "find my feet".
My Q is similar to Robifz but my Maxsea is 7.3. Just transferring it to newish laptop, XP OS, got GPS connected via USB/R232 and Laptop can only offer me COM Port 11 and above. Maxsea 7.3 looks at COM 1 - 6 only. (worked fine on old computer on Com 1) Just d/loaded ActivePort to see whats using ports 1-10 on laptop, can't make sense of it except that they are all in use. Googled till my brain hurts to see if I can just re-number COM ports which are in use but got no definitive answers. Wondered if anyone can advise ? Is it possible/sensible to attempt re-numbering of Com Ports which are in use. T.I.A Carl
May all your wind be the right sort of wind.
carlstevenson34 is offline   Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Working in Ports: ChanRoy General Sailing Forum 2 26-03-2009 10:21
Yanmar Coolant ports. Captain Bill Engines and Propulsion Systems 2 22-11-2008 14:41
Lewmar Atlantic 30 ports NEW! 2 available Ryan Classifieds Archive 1 12-11-2008 11:01
Installing New Ports jpcraw Construction, Maintenance & Refit 1 23-08-2008 01:57
Fuel Inspection Ports Charlie Engines and Propulsion Systems 3 27-05-2007 19:24

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.