Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-01-2009, 04:21   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Boat: Colvic Countess, 11.5 meter, SIDIQI
Posts: 4
Send a message via Skype™ to Dutchharbour
Maxsea issues anyone had this happen

Hello to all, as a newby on here I was looking for some answers to a maxsea issue I have. Lucky for me the boat I bought had maxsea 10.0 installed on a nice laptop. I had to buy a serial to USA adaptor and purchased the one recommended by maxsea. The program operates fine but for some reason, pershaps 5 or 20 minutes into the trip the "Maxsea encountered and error and has shut down. Do you want to send report to Microsoft" message. I say NO, restart maxsea and off we go again just like nothing happened. Its weird really. But in an 8 hour trip having to go and reset the program is annoying.
Anyone had this problem? Anyone with ideas as to what it might be?
thanks
DutchHarbour
in Malayasia
__________________

__________________
Dutchharbour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2009, 00:02   #2
Hal
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 101
Maybe you do not have enough memory in your computer to run the program. Do youget more information about the error?
__________________

__________________
Hal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2009, 23:33   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Boat: Colvic Countess, 11.5 meter, SIDIQI
Posts: 4
Send a message via Skype™ to Dutchharbour
Memory and details

The memory with the programs I normally use, total tide and Maxsea, leaves more than 1Gb available. Total memory in my laptop available for Windows is 2Gb so I believe that there is enough memory.
The message is a standard windows message that always appears when a program has problems. Basically it just says that "THE PROGRAM" in this case, Maxsea, has shut down due to a problem. Would you like to send a report of this to Microsoft.
I can never tell when its going to do this as some days I can be sailing for 30 minutes and all is fine. Some times I am sitting at the marina getting ready to sail with the Maxsea up and running and the failure occurs without the yacht moving. I am at a loss as to what to check next.
__________________
Dutchharbour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2009, 21:03   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 120
Are you running it on XP or Vista? Maxsea is not compatible with Vista before rel. 12.
__________________
claire
claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 03:08   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Boat: Colvic Countess, 11.5 meter, SIDIQI
Posts: 4
Send a message via Skype™ to Dutchharbour
Windows XP

I am running Windows XP home edition and have had no other problems with this OS.
__________________
Dutchharbour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 03:19   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
Talbot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Privilege 37
Posts: 3,579
Images: 32
I run version 10.3 on a laptop with only 1gb memory, and it is running simultaneously with Franson GPSGate and AIS plotter software (as a seperate display - and this is VERY hungry on processor and display))

I am using XP Pro and have had it running for 11 hours without any trouble.
__________________
"Be wary of strong drink. It can make you shoot at tax collectors - and miss."
Robert A Heinlein
Talbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 04:00   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 120
When you start Maxsea, your GPS should be disconnected from the laptop. Only connect it after Maxsea is up and running.
__________________
claire
claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 06:46   #8
Registered User
 
richardhula's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Boat: S M Hudson 60' narrowboat
Posts: 347
Send a message via Skype™ to richardhula
Quote:
Originally Posted by claire View Post
When you start Maxsea, your GPS should be disconnected from the laptop. Only connect it after Maxsea is up and running.
As a follow on from that, there is a well documented issue with Windows XP (& maybe Vista) OS were if you boot with a USB derived serial port already streaming data from a GPS for example, Windows mistakes it for a serial mouse & tries to load the wrong driver (often MS Ballpoint).

Check with Device Manager for any partially installed devices under "Mice & other pointing devices" - they will have a yellow exclamation mark next to them. If so choose uninstall & re-boot without data streaming.

There are many ways to avoid this but the simplest is to not turn on GPS until after the machine has booted.

Regards
__________________
Richard

If in doubt RTFM
richardhula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 18:41   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Boat: Colvic Countess, 11.5 meter, SIDIQI
Posts: 4
Send a message via Skype™ to Dutchharbour
Try the suggestions you have made

Well thanks to you all for offering this advice. I will try to follow all of those ideas, especially the one about the gps being offline and the mouse issue.
If I dont connect the USA to Serial adaptor when booting up the laptop this eliminates both those issues. I will try it out this weekend on my next sailing days. Incidentally the version I am using is 11.0
__________________
Dutchharbour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 09:05   #10
Registered User
 
bitman's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: EU
Boat: EliBit, Evolution 25
Posts: 140
i use version 10.1.3.2 on windows 7 laptop, 2gb ram & usb gps mouse with no issues.

the windows 7 is build 7000 and is beta software. the usb gps mouse is the one from microsoft as i got it from my brother doing nothing with it.

the usb gps is on com port 4
__________________
bitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 14:48   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 120
To be more accurate, here is my recommended start-up sequence:
1. connect the serial to USB adapter to the laptop only
2. start maxsea
3. connect the GPS

Cheers,
__________________

__________________
claire
claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
maxsea

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WOW, the dream may happen!!! airacer General Sailing Forum 13 14-03-2008 05:27
When health issues happen aboard & support given. sundari Families, Kids and Pets Afloat 12 29-04-2006 08:48
Who Says This Wouldn't Ever Happen? CaptainK The Sailor's Confessional 1 12-03-2006 18:13
How Can This Happen? sjs Engines and Propulsion Systems 8 31-05-2005 11:56
It can happen ... GordMay Health, Safety & Related Gear 2 12-08-2004 14:27



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:29.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.